We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant ”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

For us it was number 2 in town. If you like meat its a good choice. The Pasta is not recommandable. Overcooked noodles and suspicious Sauce. The mushroom soup as starter was delicious and the steak as Starter also. Worth to try!

Thank kiko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review - I apologise if you felt that the pasta dish did not meet with your approval but am happy to note that you enjoyed the rest of your meal and that you rated the restaurant 4 out of 5 - thank you - your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

We were on a business trip and had to stay over for the night. Ye Olde Tavern is definately the best place to eat in town. I an recommend their Bobotie, Pepper Steak and starters. It is very generous portions with value for money. This is my 1st choice next time when I go to Montagu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

So nice to read a review ticking all the right boxes! Thank you for posting it and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This is not just a restaurant.It is in a delightful old Victorian House and tastefully furnished with photos of yesteryear.You are welcomed as a guest . One of our party is a vegan and in discussing his options ( not necessarily on the menu) with Sonja, all I heard was" sure, we can do that for you" and she did and all the food was delicious. A lovely touch was; to thank you for coming you were given a chocolate send off. A special place with good old South African hospitality.

Thank 427Shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review - it was an absolute pleasure having you dine with me - all your comments are very much appreciated - pleased your enjoyed your truffle!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for an early supper for the family. Perfect selection of delicious fare with warm, friendly and hospitable waitresses and owner. Food was delightful, tasty, homely comfort food. Would highly recommend.

Thank Candice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Your review is very much appreciated - thank you for taking the time to post it! Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Ye Olde Tavern!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Whilst staying at The Vic 1906, it was recommended that we have dinner at Ye old tavern. The restaurant is beautiful and warm inside. The food was delicious and the they have a great local wine list which is very reasonably priced! Definitely a must!

Thank Schlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

This is a very nice review in every aspect - it is very much appreciated especially the 5 * - thank you so much for taking the time to post it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing