We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2011

First, I would like to thank the other members who have reviewed this hotel as I found it very helpful in planning our trip. I hope I can provide some unique insights in my review that may help future travelers.
We are frequent Four Seasons guests having stayed in Maui, Lanai, Punta Mita, and many mainland branches. I am also a Four Seasons Dallas sports club member which offers complimentary upgrades.
We chose Costa Rica as a quick getaway from Dallas. I reserved a Cielo room via Am Ex Centurion which entitles you an automatic upgrade and then a second upgrade through our club. The plan was for pay for 4 nights and get the 5th night free with breakfast included.
We landed in Liberia, I chose to have the hotel pick us up instead of Mainor Laura partly because of security reasons but I agree with many reviews that this is an alternate option that is just as reliable and cheaper. Transport thru the hotel is $150/each way, very nice and private 45 minute drive. Arrival at the hotel lacks the "awe" like a Maui/Lanai/Punta Mita as those properties have a breathtaking view of the ocean from the lobby. It is a different"jungle" feel. As we checked in, I was indeed offered an upgrade to a canopy suite with a plunge pool (a double upgrade). The room however that I was given was simply lacking. Even though I specifically requested water views, I was given a room surrounded by foliage with no water view. I went back and after much discussion was moved to another room the following day. Most canopy suites are 5 minutes by golf cart away from the main hotel, offer ONLY views of the bay. If you want ocean views, there is only one building which faces the ocean and the villas which are higher up on the mountain also face the ocean but are very expensive. The row of 1022 and 1722 of canopy suites with plunge pools have great views of the bay. For those who want to be close to the hotel premise, skip on the canopy suites and stay in in the lower category rooms. The beds are very comfortable, the furniture is somewhat outdated and not well maintained.
Dining: Papagayo restaurant which also serves breakfast is very acceptable. We always have brunch around 1030, skip lunch and then eat an early dinner. Papagayo serves several kinds of food but I found the costa rican breakfast to be unique. They also serve fresh fruit drinks daily. I was not impressed with the fruit selection, was expecting more tropical options and it to be more fresh.
Caracoal. Wonderful, worth every penny. Our 5 year old daughter was on the verge of sleeping the night we went and the servers actually made a bed for her next to our table even with a blanket. THIS is the four seasons service that brings us back!
Di Mare: Okay, standard Italian food
We ordered in room dining 2 nights. The first night, we thought of sitting outside and eating and enjoying our view. Very shortly after the table was set-up, a family of racoons joined us on our balcony which transitioned our dinner very quickly inside.
Activities: We played the greens of the golf course with our 5 year old. Am Ex gives a $100 credit but they didn't even charge us. It is cheaper to play after 2 pm. The course is beautiful with great views. We also booked A day tour with Mainor Laura. An associate came to the hotel, picked us up and we went zip lining followed by Costa Rican lunch and finally a boat cruise. Mainor quoted $175 for the three of us but ended up charging us $335. Never really questioned it as it was a fun trip to see the local scenery. It was very safe and I would highly recommend it. Email communication with him is the best way of getting in touch. They are also very reliable.
Hotel: Very clean, very friendly staff. Everybody knows your name. The mornings were spent at the Pacific ocean beach. They set up chairs and provide drinks. The water is very calm, walking on this beach is very enjoyable. It almost has a feel of being in Thailand/Vietnam with the surrounding jungle feel.
Spa: Very nice and deserves the ratings and awards. Expensive but again a must do
The gym is very nice but offers no real view like other hotels mentioned
Kids Club: Very nice and clean, our daughter went for a few hours and enjoyed it.

Summary:
A very nice hotel but it is a slight let-down after going to the other nearby Four Seasons properties. The staff and service is unmatched!! This hotel models it everywhere you go and exactly why we will only stay at Four Seasons properties.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cardiophys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,518 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel is the champ, the best hotel my family has ever experienced, and ever expect to. Suite was huge and gorgeous, activites genuinely fun, totally kid friendly, but a pleasure for adults. Food wonderful - they made my daughter coffee ice cream from scratch on request, and carried my son up to his room when he fell asleep at dinner. Made friends with other guests, got cooking lesson from chef, and had teen lounge. Spa staff excellent. Want to win the lottery and live there.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLAfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed early july at the hotel, it has been raining most of the time so we could not fully enjoy the place. The rooms are nice, a little dark but perfectly appointed and maintained.
The pools are beautiful, perfect service, same for the two beaches. The spa is beautiful, the staff is very welcoming & professional.
The restaurants are good (excellent sushi).. The atmosphere not special and varied enough considering you cannot go anywhere because the resort is remote. Caracol was delicious & Nice. We did not like the food at Di Mare.. But I understand most people liked it.
The activities are well organized and we can totally relax thanks to the professional staff.
It is missing a restaurant on the beach so you do not feel to be stuck in same building & we felt a bit odd to stay at a place that is so much like the U.S that it is not totally worth going to Costa Rica. But overall it is a nice place to go to relax, enjoy a wonderful massage... In particular if you avoid the rainy season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just returned from a week stay celebrating our 40th anniversary with family. Was expecting great things based on trip advisor reviews but the stay exceeded our expectations. This truly is one of the most beautiful and scenic places we have stayed. The service and friendliness of staff members is over the top. We will come back.
We did the Witch Rock Canopy tour, Trail of the Giants golf course tour (free), Palos Verdes riverboat tour, Goombay catamaran tour and all were excellent!
Fitness center and Spa were excellent! Try the 90 minute hot stone massage.
Great golf course minutes away with incredible ocean views.
Restaurants are all good but do not miss Marea at Prieta Beach Club down the road.
You can save some money by dining in and trying room service occasionally.
We had three canopy suites and the views were awesome. Do not hesitate to ask for a better view if not satisfied.
Book reservations through Virtuoso travel agency and get comp room upgrades, free breakfasts, golf and spa credits. Great breakfast buffet.
Finished up our stay with dinner on the beach for 10 that was the highlight of the trip.
Resort is kid friendly and our 6 and 8 yr old grandkids had a blast.
The 8 yr old learned to surf at Prieta Beach Club down the road and quickly picked it up.
Lots of free activities at four seasons beach including kayaks, snorkeling, small sailboats, paddle boarding etc.
We used Mainor Lara with Tours Your Way for airport transfers and Palos Verdes riverboat tour. I recommend him highly! He joined us on the tour and was just great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjgchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Four Seasons CR is one of the most beautiful resorts we’ve stayed. Set within in a reserve, the resort is surrounded by nature at its’ finest with a beautiful beach, gorgeous foliage and all sorts of little critters (coatis, crabs, iguanas & monkeys). The views of the ocean from the golf course are breathtaking as are the spectacular sunsets we witnessed.

The service is what you expect from The Four Seasons. Attentive and then some. What really stood out was their consideration and sensitivity to my niece’s nut allergy. The staff was diligent in double checking with the kitchen to ensure nothing she ordered had traces of nuts. In fact, one night I made reservations for the steakhouse, and without me mentioning anything, the concierge asked if anyone had food allergies. The Four Seasons really demonstrated customer service at its finest. Definitely not accustomed to the pro-activeness which went a long way with us given the attitude we received from the flight attendants to and from Costa Rica (regarding the nuts.)

The only thing ‘wrong’ with The Four Seasons is that it is a bit isolated. With the exception of surfing we did all of our excursions in Arenal, so we didn’t mind being resort bound. And even the 1 ½ hour drive to Playa Grande for surfing, wasn’t that big of a deal. We just made a little day out of it and ate dinner in Playa Grande, which was fun.
As others mentioned, The Four Seasons does come with price, but it’s so completely worth it. Not sure when we will return, but we definitely will!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,673 reviews
4.8 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
5 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $1,012 - $4,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing