We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Nearby Hotels
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$237
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$401
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Vista Bahia Beach Resort(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
US$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (3,710)
Filter reviews
3,710 results
Traveller rating
1,411
1,218
566
305
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
1,218
566
305
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubsnack barthe oriental restaurantfirst clubsunset walkcosta ricathe grillguest serviceshigh tidemain buildingour honeymoonevery other daya la carte restaurantsfun clubair canadaocean viewzip lining
Filter
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 3,710 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2015

For all inclusive, disappointment. The buffet food was too soggy, stale and pretty tasteless. It was hard to find different and or new things to eat. Same old, same old... Staff gets my thumbs up for pleasant service. Internet worked poorly everywhere including the lobby area, aircon was either too cold (freezing) or had to be shut down. Pool and beach areas are nothing to mention about. Closest place to go, to Coco Beach, one needs to take a overpriced taxi, 3rd thumbs down! Would I go back having the choice? Probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Nordic_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Nordic Nomad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of your recent vacation experience. We are pleased to see you felt our staff and the service they provide was good but we regret that we did not meet or exceed your expectations in other areas of your stay. We regret that you felt the variety of food did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes. However, as always, we welcome suggestions from our guests as to what other dishes you would like to see on offer in our buffet so that we may continue to provide them with an enjoyable dining experience. Unfortunately we rely on an outside provider when it comes to the WIFI and internet. Communication systems are being updated and modernized in the local area and we are confident this will improve the internet service available soon.
We appreciate all your comments and value your feedback. We will take action where necessary so that we may improve the facilities and service we offer to all our guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we hope we may be given another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

"All inclusive" what does that mean? I have stayed in many All inclusive properties during my life and with few exceptions it means "we will do everything as cheaply as possible". This hotel is no exception. The rooms are ok, food is terrible, the bar manage admitted the drinks were watered down "for the saftey of the guests who might get drunk" ( no kidding) the property reminds me of what a British nursing home must look like. (Well ok...with a view). It was covered with old folks. The only resort worse was the El Presidente in Cabo and they were playing "The road to Tipperary" as we checked in. (Yes the guests were singing along...old folks) Besides the pool there was nothing to do AT the hotel. The beach is rocky and dirty, the tennis courts disused and poorly maintained. Although the gym was adequate.

Rating on a 5 point scale where 5 is best:

Rooms: 3
Shower: 2 (low water pressure)
Bed:4 (actually pretty good)
Food: 1 (unless you like elementary cafeteria food and lots of carbs)
Bar: 2 (Tiny bar, watered down drinks ..apparently)
Grounds: 3
Activities : 0
staff : 5 ( with all my complaining about the resort, I have to say the staff was wonderful)

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
7  Thank Corpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Corpilot,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in Occidental Grand Papagayo. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve the amenities and services we offer to all our guests and we were concerned to read some of your comments. We regret that you felt the quality or variety of our culinary options did not meet your expectations. Apart from our specialty restaurants, we strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes and to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience. We are always open to suggestions from our guests in resort as to what kind of dishes they would like to see available so our Chef may prepare them for you. Please allow me to emphasize that we are committed to an official Health and Hygiene programme and adhere to strict food and beverage manipulation controls which is strictly monitored on a weekly basis by an external company. We can assure you our drinks are NOT watered down. This is an all inclusive resort offering an “Adults Only” concept in an intimate and friendly atmosphere. We accept reservations from adults aged 18 and over. Apart from our gym and Spa, we have a varied program of day time activities including snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding, scuba lesson, tennis, volleyball, guided nature treks, cycling tours, aerobics, yoga, archery, bocce ball, giant chess and jenga and an evening entertainment program that includes Live Music, Karaoke, Disco, Dancing Lessons, Audience Participation Games and Fun Auctions and Billiards etc. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations this time. We thank you for your feedback and we do hope we have an opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next business trip. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

30 minute ride from airport to hotel. Warmly greeted by Priscilla. She gave us the quick and dirty details of the property with a refreshing welcome drink. The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds with great pillows. There is a mini fridge in each room with bottled water, soda and a couple of cold Imperial Beers. Food was buffet style with a lot of fish and chicken dishes. Everything was really good. You do have the option of making dinner reservations at the restaraunt on the property but you have to wear long pants and a collared shirt; we were happy with the buffet. There is also a snack bar that serves lunch during the day, the food was good. It's not 5 star but it hits the spot. The pool is huge and the water is warm. They have a lot of activities you can participate in if your inclined. There is a neat little palapa bar on the way down to the beach. The hotel has a really nice indoor bar area with a balcony over looking the property, I sat out there quite a bit. There is a small well stocked gift shop if you need anything. They have folks to book any excursion that you might be interested in. Nice beach with a lot of chairs. The staff is very very friendly. I travel for a living and have been to Liberia 3 times, I usually pick the small boutique type hotels but I decided to give this one a try. Great choice!

Room Tip: Bring sunscreen!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Winx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Winx51,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you had a great vacation and that our staff contributed so much to your vacation experience. I`ll be sure to pass along your comments to Priscilla as I`m sure she`ll appreciate the mention. We are grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your review and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This was my first trip to Costa Rica, and it by far exceeded my expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Priscilla at the front desk in particular, always seemed to be willing to go out of her way to answer any questions we came up with. Most of the wait staff knew us by name within the first day or two.
There was never a dull moment, with plenty of outdoor activities offered, as well as night time entertainment. My personal favorite were the sunset walks, and tropical dance lessons.
The stairs from the lobby to the pool area, though a bit daunting at first, were a welcome form of exercise after all of the delicious food.
I can't think of a time that I have had such a fun and relaxing vacation before coming to Costa Rica, and I am already planning another trip.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear Abby S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo that you spent with your friends. We are so pleased to read that you all had a great time and we appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for highlighting some important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We appreciate your recognition of all our staff`s friendliness and efforts. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to my colleagues, especially at the Fun Club and Priscilla at Reception as I know they will really appreciate the mention. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back here again. On behalf of all the team at Occidental Grand Papagayo we send you kind regards and best wishes. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We stayed at Grand Papagayo on a Luxury Escapes special – very good value.
I think the problem with some of the negative reviews is that five star arrangements are expected. Its not five star.

We asked to be moved to a sea view/ remote room and our request was accommodated. We loved the far end of the resort, away from the noise of the pool area and found the hills useful to maintain daily exercise and work off the food. I’m not aware that there would be any problem though if you wanted to use shuttles most of the time.

On the coastal edge of the resort, there is also interesting wildlife, monkeys, coatis, iguana, squirrels, lots of birds – and falling asleep to the sound of the waves, very relaxing.

The food is generally well cooked and presented – a bit repetitive, but again, being selective helps – don’t use the snack bar, go to main restaurant, and perhaps concentrate on the excellent fresh salads. We prefer our food spicy and this would be one mild criticism, we asked for fresh chilli several times and it only appeared for breakfast omelettes. I agree the “Mexican” a la carte restaurant was quite indifferent compared to the Oriental and Italian – we were told you could use those restaurants more than twice in a week, bookings permitting and we chose a la carte 3 times.

We loved the slightly “wild” beach compared to the resort pool which was generally full of drinkers; ( although we swam each morning at 6am) We liked sitting on the loungers at high tide and the day long shade and the beach bar attendant bringing cocktails – just ask! The sea is good for a swim, no waves and clean water.

Don’t expect to see much snorkelling off the beach, its murky– we also went diving to the Catalinas – that’s terrible visibility too although might be ok at other times – and the underwater scenery is probably nice. BA divers are chaotic but adequate – ask for dive instructor Safine – she is great.

The Palo Verde half day tour is worthwhile – not too far, comfortable, no effort, great wildlife- birds monkeys crocodiles..

Monteverde is probably not worth it until motorway is finished – the road works in addition to the rough unmade road to the mountain makes a gruelling drive .

My tips for Grand Papagayo – ask the managerial staff if you want something – mostly helpful( although our complementary wine and fruit never appeared either! ) We did get toiletries, on time pick ups, drinks on the beach, helpful tour booking assistance, friendly service and lots of alcohol! Great martinis .. if you choose fruit cocktails though you will get mainly juice!

Be aware that many of the guests just want to sit in the sun and drink and cool off in pool , so if you want peace and quiet you will need to be elsewhere ( tip to Grand Papagayo – you probably need a second pool anyway, perhaps one with shade and no games eg bingo and volleyball) and perhaps it would be helpful if the resort responded to negative as well as the positive trip advisor comments

Room Tip: Rooms close to restaurants are noisy
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear OZTraveller324,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not to distant future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews