We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View - Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Just returned from a one week vacation at this resort. The view is absolutely beautiful, the staff are amazingly friendly and accomodating. The food was very good. We enjoyed the Italian and Oriental a la cartes.
Excellent place to just relax and enjoy the sun! Not much for night life but you are up so early in the morning that you are in bed by 9 or 10 anyway! lol
A Special Thank You to Jose, our poolside bartender, he was wonderful!

Thoroughly enjoyed the Canopy Congo Trail Ziplines and the Sunset Cruise from Cocoa Beach was awsome!
Note to smokers...FYI Costa Rica is basically a non smoking Country. The resort did offer a smoking area but there is no smoking allowed elsewhere on the resort. Smoking in Public is prohibited.

Room Tip: We stayed in building number 2, on the second floor. Very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JoDee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear JoDee32,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you had a great vacation and that our staff contributed so much to your vacation experience. We are grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your review and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 969 of 3,401 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015

For all inclusive, disappointment. The buffet food was too soggy, stale and pretty tasteless. It was hard to find different and or new things to eat. Same old, same old... Staff gets my thumbs up for pleasant service. Internet worked poorly everywhere including the lobby area, aircon was either too cold (freezing) or had to be shut down. Pool and beach areas are nothing to mention about. Closest place to go, to Coco Beach, one needs to take a overpriced taxi, 3rd thumbs down! Would I go back having the choice? Probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Nordic_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Nordic Nomad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of your recent vacation experience. We are pleased to see you felt our staff and the service they provide was good but we regret that we did not meet or exceed your expectations in other areas of your stay. We regret that you felt the variety of food did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes. However, as always, we welcome suggestions from our guests as to what other dishes you would like to see on offer in our buffet so that we may continue to provide them with an enjoyable dining experience. Unfortunately we rely on an outside provider when it comes to the WIFI and internet. Communication systems are being updated and modernized in the local area and we are confident this will improve the internet service available soon.
We appreciate all your comments and value your feedback. We will take action where necessary so that we may improve the facilities and service we offer to all our guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we hope we may be given another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

"All inclusive" what does that mean? I have stayed in many All inclusive properties during my life and with few exceptions it means "we will do everything as cheaply as possible". This hotel is no exception. The rooms are ok, food is terrible, the bar manage admitted the drinks were watered down "for the saftey of the guests who might get drunk" ( no kidding) the property reminds me of what a British nursing home must look like. (Well ok...with a view). It was covered with old folks. The only resort worse was the El Presidente in Cabo and they were playing "The road to Tipperary" as we checked in. (Yes the guests were singing along...old folks) Besides the pool there was nothing to do AT the hotel. The beach is rocky and dirty, the tennis courts disused and poorly maintained. Although the gym was adequate.

Rating on a 5 point scale where 5 is best:

Rooms: 3
Shower: 2 (low water pressure)
Bed:4 (actually pretty good)
Food: 1 (unless you like elementary cafeteria food and lots of carbs)
Bar: 2 (Tiny bar, watered down drinks ..apparently)
Grounds: 3
Activities : 0
staff : 5 ( with all my complaining about the resort, I have to say the staff was wonderful)

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
7  Thank Corpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Corpilot,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in Occidental Grand Papagayo. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve the amenities and services we offer to all our guests and we were concerned to read some of your comments. We regret that you felt the quality or variety of our culinary options did not meet your expectations. Apart from our specialty restaurants, we strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes and to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience. We are always open to suggestions from our guests in resort as to what kind of dishes they would like to see available so our Chef may prepare them for you. Please allow me to emphasize that we are committed to an official Health and Hygiene programme and adhere to strict food and beverage manipulation controls which is strictly monitored on a weekly basis by an external company. We can assure you our drinks are NOT watered down. This is an all inclusive resort offering an “Adults Only” concept in an intimate and friendly atmosphere. We accept reservations from adults aged 18 and over. Apart from our gym and Spa, we have a varied program of day time activities including snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding, scuba lesson, tennis, volleyball, guided nature treks, cycling tours, aerobics, yoga, archery, bocce ball, giant chess and jenga and an evening entertainment program that includes Live Music, Karaoke, Disco, Dancing Lessons, Audience Participation Games and Fun Auctions and Billiards etc. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations this time. We thank you for your feedback and we do hope we have an opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next business trip. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

30 minute ride from airport to hotel. Warmly greeted by Priscilla. She gave us the quick and dirty details of the property with a refreshing welcome drink. The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds with great pillows. There is a mini fridge in each room with bottled water, soda and a couple of cold Imperial Beers. Food was buffet style with a lot of fish and chicken dishes. Everything was really good. You do have the option of making dinner reservations at the restaraunt on the property but you have to wear long pants and a collared shirt; we were happy with the buffet. There is also a snack bar that serves lunch during the day, the food was good. It's not 5 star but it hits the spot. The pool is huge and the water is warm. They have a lot of activities you can participate in if your inclined. There is a neat little palapa bar on the way down to the beach. The hotel has a really nice indoor bar area with a balcony over looking the property, I sat out there quite a bit. There is a small well stocked gift shop if you need anything. They have folks to book any excursion that you might be interested in. Nice beach with a lot of chairs. The staff is very very friendly. I travel for a living and have been to Liberia 3 times, I usually pick the small boutique type hotels but I decided to give this one a try. Great choice!

Room Tip: Bring sunscreen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Winx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Winx51,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you had a great vacation and that our staff contributed so much to your vacation experience. I`ll be sure to pass along your comments to Priscilla as I`m sure she`ll appreciate the mention. We are grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your review and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This was my first trip to Costa Rica, and it by far exceeded my expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Priscilla at the front desk in particular, always seemed to be willing to go out of her way to answer any questions we came up with. Most of the wait staff knew us by name within the first day or two.
There was never a dull moment, with plenty of outdoor activities offered, as well as night time entertainment. My personal favorite were the sunset walks, and tropical dance lessons.
The stairs from the lobby to the pool area, though a bit daunting at first, were a welcome form of exercise after all of the delicious food.
I can't think of a time that I have had such a fun and relaxing vacation before coming to Costa Rica, and I am already planning another trip.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda Anne W, Reputation Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear Abby S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo that you spent with your friends. We are so pleased to read that you all had a great time and we appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for highlighting some important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We appreciate your recognition of all our staff`s friendliness and efforts. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to my colleagues, especially at the Fun Club and Priscilla at Reception as I know they will really appreciate the mention. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back here again. On behalf of all the team at Occidental Grand Papagayo we send you kind regards and best wishes. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
5.9 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,662 reviews
2.3 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
745 reviews
2.1 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,082 reviews
10.8 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,606 reviews
25.7 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Hermosa, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $239 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing