We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Rooms were clean and the beds are all king size, bathroom was a little dark and could do with upgrading. The pool was clean and had great views however the pool side music was a let down and the entertainment staff did not agree on changing the music which was frustrating. Overall a good hotel which was adults only, the cocktails were tasty and the food was good, I would also recommend the Italian and Asia restaurants within the hotel. Free WIFI available which was speedy. I would note there is nothing much to do outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your honest opinion and the great tips you have mentioned in your review. We appreciate your input in helping our future guests enjoy their experience with us here in the Occidental Papagayo. It will be our pleasure to attend you on future visits with us.
Kind regards .

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 655 of 3,463 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

One of the nicest resorts we have been to. The staff at the reception were fast and efficient. Everyone working there are friendly and very helpful. Food is better than most, rooms are very nice, beds are AWESOME.
There is a lot of walking which is good. ( lose some weight while enjoying the AI ). Shuttle service is excellent, for the times you don't want to walk. We stayed in building 15. The farthest one from basically everything. The views are beautiful from pretty much everywhere. To ALL the employees a big thumbs up. Thank you!!!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank phil195504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to read about your experiences and I'm glad that you felt pampered during your stay. We are dedicated and committed to ensure each of our valued guests are fully satisfied, going above and beyond all expectations.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday at Occidental Papagayo and I hope that you will return again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Generally a well-maintained hotel, even if our room in #8 needed some updating. Restaurants', Reception and Activities staffs were generally excellent - friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was good to excellent, with the highlight being the Oriental Restaurant. There was musical entertainment on most evening in the lobby during our stay. We coped with the many steps to and from our room, with occasional help from the hotel's transport system! The site is generally favourable to the fit and able, although it is in a good setting. The beach area is a small one, especially at high tide when the beds can become surrounded with water. Visits organized through the hotel were very enjoyable with care taken in supporting people during the visits by the drivers/couriers used. A wonderful country and people - Pura Vida indeed!!

Room Tip: The higher up you go and the further away from the main lobby you can expect steps and some time wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank haxton247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Guest;
Your feedback is important to us. We are striving to not only meet but exceed our guest expectations when they visit us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you here with us at Occidental Hotel Papagayo soon.

Kind regards;

Mr. Jean Marie P
General Manaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My husband and I just returned from this wonderful hotel. I was so nervous because of the bad reviews and thank goodness it wasn't as bad as that. We were originally given a beautiful room in building 15 which is at the very far end of the property and after seeing the hills we had to climb, we went to the front desk and asked to change. The receptionist was great and changed us to Building 20 which was close enough to the beach and Snack Bar (where we grabbed breakfast and lunch every day). The food was absolutely delicious and we ate in the buffet upstairs every night (except one night where we ate at the Italian restaurant). The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (everyone was saying that). The people were very nice and helpful and especially the shuttle guys (Mauricio & David). Steven at the beach bar worked so hard and you got to give him credit - he was getting everyone drinks on the beach as well as serving at the bar, which was, in my opinion, a very hard thing for one person to do - they should really have 2 guys at that beach bar - one taking orders and another making the drinks. I think our only complaint was our maid as she didn't do her job very well. She didn't fix the bed properly or change the sheets and never re-stocked our fridge, which is why I didn't give this a 5-star rating. We did complain and they resolved the problem, which I think was very nice of them. They need to do something about the Pool Snack Bar - they should enclose the food station area with air conditioning to keep out the flies. It just doesn't look good to see the flies landing on the food. We didn't mind eating outdoors, it was nice, and a good thing there were fans. It's extremely hot and dry here and was 36 degrees every day. We snorkeled at the far end of the beach and my husband saw a sea turtle as did a few others. Lots of colourful fish here. We also booked a snorkel tour where they took us across the bay and saw lots of other colourful fish - the clarity of the water varies on the wind conditions. Yes, you can lose the beach in the afternoon, but it didn't bother us as we stayed in the water a lot. It came back at 4:00 and we stayed at the beach all day (we are not pool people). There are plenty of beach chairs, even though people complained there weren't. We never had any problems. And the wildlife is incredible, monkeys everywhere, parrots, beautiful birds, everything. We loved Costa Rica, but probably won't go back because it's way too hot for me at that temperature every day. But I recommend this resort to anyone who wants to visit and you should, at least once in your life. We also loved the Adults Only feature; everyone is so friendly and we made quite a few friends there. The wifi worked great for us in the lobby and in our room, which was really nice. Go here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JoanneV095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear Guest;

We thank you for your precious time you give us writing your comments, that mean a lot to us and help us to become better and rich our goal, the satisfaction our guest.
We will congratulate all the employees that made your stay and bring home such as good memory´s and friendship.
We have taken your comments on board regarding maid Service and our Pool Restaurant. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it provides us with an excellent tool in order to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We thank you once again for all of your valuable comments and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here soon. Kind regards and best wishes from us all.

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Nice hotel with many steps so not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Our room in the Occidental was nice and the food and drinks were mostly good. The best restaurant was the Oriental. Despite the long trousers rule for the men in the restaurants this wasn’t adhered to.
There was only evening entertainment on two occasions during the two weeks that we stayed here and they were both excellent musicians. There is a disco but that was mostly quiet – the DJ asked what music we would like to hear while we were there playing pool one evening! There are two pool tables in the hotel and both and badly positioned – the one in the disco has a window missing close to it and I suspect it’s missing because somebody’s cue action smashed it. The pool table near the restaurant suffers from being close to the swimming pool toilets so quite a busy thoroughfare. Aqua aerobics and volley ball seemed to be done daily and apart from that I didn’t notice much else going on.
There’s a nice bit of wildife in the hotel with iguanas, coti, monkeys, beautiful birds and we also saw a racoon once. We preferred to stay near the pool during the day but it was very difficult to find some shade. The beach was ok but nothing special.
Staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and I have to agree with a previous reviewer that Steven who works the beach bar works extremely hard and was always smiling.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moonshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are pleased that you liked the resort and enjoyed the flora and fauna of our beautiful natural surroundings. We are particularly pleased to read that our staff contributed much to your stay. We regret that you felt the resort was lacking in fun activities. As you Know this is an Adults Only resort and at times the level of guest attendance, interaction and participation in our nightly entertainment or activities varies. We endeavour to cater for all tastes and include Live Music, Karaoke, Dancing Lessons, Audience Participation Games and Fun Auctions followed by our Disco as part of our evening entertainments program. We will however seek to offer more fun activities in the evening. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and we do hope we may have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy.

Kind regards;

Mr. Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
5.9 km away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,716 reviews
2.3 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
763 reviews
2.1 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,173 reviews
25.7 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
10.8 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Hermosa, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $246 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing