We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,839)
Filter reviews
3,839 results
Traveller rating
1,466
1,255
587
317
214
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
1,255
587
317
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubthe oriental restaurantsnack barfirst clubsunset walkcosta ricaguest servicesthe grillhigh tidemain buildingour honeymoonevery other daya la carte restaurantsair canadaocean viewzip liningbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 3,839 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

One of the nicest resorts we have been to. The staff at the reception were fast and efficient. Everyone working there are friendly and very helpful. Food is better than most, rooms are very nice, beds are AWESOME.
There is a lot of walking which is good. ( lose some weight while enjoying the AI ). Shuttle service is excellent, for the times you don't want to walk. We stayed in building 15. The farthest one from basically everything. The views are beautiful from pretty much everywhere. To ALL the employees a big thumbs up. Thank you!!!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank phil195504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to read about your experiences and I'm glad that you felt pampered during your stay. We are dedicated and committed to ensure each of our valued guests are fully satisfied, going above and beyond all expectations.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday at Occidental Papagayo and I hope that you will return again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Generally a well-maintained hotel, even if our room in #8 needed some updating. Restaurants', Reception and Activities staffs were generally excellent - friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was good to excellent, with the highlight being the Oriental Restaurant. There was musical entertainment on most evening in the lobby during our stay. We coped with the many steps to and from our room, with occasional help from the hotel's transport system! The site is generally favourable to the fit and able, although it is in a good setting. The beach area is a small one, especially at high tide when the beds can become surrounded with water. Visits organized through the hotel were very enjoyable with care taken in supporting people during the visits by the drivers/couriers used. A wonderful country and people - Pura Vida indeed!!

Room Tip: The higher up you go and the further away from the main lobby you can expect steps and some time walking
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank haxton247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Guest;
Your feedback is important to us. We are striving to not only meet but exceed our guest expectations when they visit us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you here with us at Occidental Hotel Papagayo soon.

Kind regards;

Mr. Jean Marie P
General Manaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

My husband and I just returned from this wonderful hotel. I was so nervous because of the bad reviews and thank goodness it wasn't as bad as that. We were originally given a beautiful room in building 15 which is at the very far end of the property and after seeing the hills we had to climb, we went to the front desk and asked to change. The receptionist was great and changed us to Building 20 which was close enough to the beach and Snack Bar (where we grabbed breakfast and lunch every day). The food was absolutely delicious and we ate in the buffet upstairs every night (except one night where we ate at the Italian restaurant). The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (everyone was saying that). The people were very nice and helpful and especially the shuttle guys (Mauricio & David). Steven at the beach bar worked so hard and you got to give him credit - he was getting everyone drinks on the beach as well as serving at the bar, which was, in my opinion, a very hard thing for one person to do - they should really have 2 guys at that beach bar - one taking orders and another making the drinks. I think our only complaint was our maid as she didn't do her job very well. She didn't fix the bed properly or change the sheets and never re-stocked our fridge, which is why I didn't give this a 5-star rating. We did complain and they resolved the problem, which I think was very nice of them. They need to do something about the Pool Snack Bar - they should enclose the food station area with air conditioning to keep out the flies. It just doesn't look good to see the flies landing on the food. We didn't mind eating outdoors, it was nice, and a good thing there were fans. It's extremely hot and dry here and was 36 degrees every day. We snorkeled at the far end of the beach and my husband saw a sea turtle as did a few others. Lots of colourful fish here. We also booked a snorkel tour where they took us across the bay and saw lots of other colourful fish - the clarity of the water varies on the wind conditions. Yes, you can lose the beach in the afternoon, but it didn't bother us as we stayed in the water a lot. It came back at 4:00 and we stayed at the beach all day (we are not pool people). There are plenty of beach chairs, even though people complained there weren't. We never had any problems. And the wildlife is incredible, monkeys everywhere, parrots, beautiful birds, everything. We loved Costa Rica, but probably won't go back because it's way too hot for me at that temperature every day. But I recommend this resort to anyone who wants to visit and you should, at least once in your life. We also loved the Adults Only feature; everyone is so friendly and we made quite a few friends there. The wifi worked great for us in the lobby and in our room, which was really nice. Go here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JoanneV095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear Guest;

We thank you for your precious time you give us writing your comments, that mean a lot to us and help us to become better and rich our goal, the satisfaction our guest.
We will congratulate all the employees that made your stay and bring home such as good memory´s and friendship.
We have taken your comments on board regarding maid Service and our Pool Restaurant. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it provides us with an excellent tool in order to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We thank you once again for all of your valuable comments and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here soon. Kind regards and best wishes from us all.

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Nice hotel with many steps so not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Our room in the Occidental was nice and the food and drinks were mostly good. The best restaurant was the Oriental. Despite the long trousers rule for the men in the restaurants this wasn’t adhered to.
There was only evening entertainment on two occasions during the two weeks that we stayed here and they were both excellent musicians. There is a disco but that was mostly quiet – the DJ asked what music we would like to hear while we were there playing pool one evening! There are two pool tables in the hotel and both and badly positioned – the one in the disco has a window missing close to it and I suspect it’s missing because somebody’s cue action smashed it. The pool table near the restaurant suffers from being close to the swimming pool toilets so quite a busy thoroughfare. Aqua aerobics and volley ball seemed to be done daily and apart from that I didn’t notice much else going on.
There’s a nice bit of wildife in the hotel with iguanas, coti, monkeys, beautiful birds and we also saw a racoon once. We preferred to stay near the pool during the day but it was very difficult to find some shade. The beach was ok but nothing special.
Staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and I have to agree with a previous reviewer that Steven who works the beach bar works extremely hard and was always smiling.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moonshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are pleased that you liked the resort and enjoyed the flora and fauna of our beautiful natural surroundings. We are particularly pleased to read that our staff contributed much to your stay. We regret that you felt the resort was lacking in fun activities. As you Know this is an Adults Only resort and at times the level of guest attendance, interaction and participation in our nightly entertainment or activities varies. We endeavour to cater for all tastes and include Live Music, Karaoke, Dancing Lessons, Audience Participation Games and Fun Auctions followed by our Disco as part of our evening entertainments program. We will however seek to offer more fun activities in the evening. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and we do hope we may have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy.

Kind regards;

Mr. Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We spent from Feb 17 to March 2 at the beautiful Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so glad we chose to spend two weeks and wish it could have been longer!
ROOMS: We were in building #14, the very furthest from the lobby. This required lots of walking inclines and lots of steps which we felt was wonderful. Exercise is a good thing. However, for those less energetic, a shuttle was always available. Our view from our room was incredible! In fact, I do not believe there is one bad view from any room. They all look out over the Gulf of Papagayo. Some people mentioned problems with wifi but even being so far away from the main building we had no issues at all. Our room was immaculate and our bar fridge was stocked daily thanks to our wonderful housekeeper, Elsie. The bed was super comfortable, shower nice, and there were always plenty of towels though we chose to reuse and help with environmental issues.
GROUNDS: The grounds are very well kept. No chance of finding debris laying around. People are constantly cleaning, cutting, trimming to keep everything perfect. Howler monkeys are all over the resort and a thrill to see. Iguanas are everywhere and fun to take pictures of. The abundance of odd, exotic birds made me wish I had a better camera.
LOBBY: The lobby is small and intimate with delicious morning coffee available. Most nights had quiet entertainment such as a saxophone or Piano player. Nice quiet entertainment. This isn't a party place, thank goodness.
POOL: The pool isn't overly large but adequate. The staff worked really hard to keep it clean which was a big challenge with the relentless winds blowing leaves into it. We are beach people so my pool experience is limited to the great daily Aqua Aerobics.
BEACH: Again, a long walk (with shuttle available) but who doesn't enjoy a walk in such a beautiful setting? Like mentioned in other reviews the beach DOES disappear at high tide. We had no issue with this as we took our chairs further down the beach to a wider area where the tide was never an issue. It was also more private. Most days the water was smooth as glass. The swimming was excellent and the water surprisingly cool which was pleasant. Kayaking, snorkeling and paddle boards are available to take out. The snorkeling is amazing! No need to pay for it elsewhere when it is right at your beach. Bring your own equipment so you can have unlimited snorkeling. The weather was PERFECT every day! +35C with a gentle...or not so gentle wind to cool you off a bit. Be sure to wear sandals. The beach sand and around the pool get so hot your feet burn in seconds!
RESTAURANTS: The buffets are adequate. very small. There was often a huge line up if you didn't get there right at opening time. The breakfast was the same every day but the selection was fine. The dinner buffet had a different theme each day which added variety. The three specialty restaurants were very good. The Grill was our favourite. the steaks are cooked to perfection and the service is very fast. If I have to complain... and this is complain-worthy...it is about the reservation process for the specialty restaurants. This involves wasting at least n hour of your time and standing in line first thing in the morning. I mean 6:30 am sometimes until at least 7:30. Not once but multiple times. You can only book Mon to Fri. Sat and Sun have to be booked on that day then you start fresh the next week. Arriving mid week meant we stood in line 6 times in our two weeks. We would have far preferred a nice walk along nearby Panama beach.
Activities and Entertainment Staff: This is what puts this resort over the top! All the entertainment staff are such hard working, friendly young people. You MUST take in the Sunset walk. The view is spectacular! The morning Adventure walk is a MUST do as well. As mentioned, snorkeling is as good as it gets. We also partook in the Bicycle tour. It was a wonderful trip but we were disappointed at the cost $12/pp (which is written is small letters on the activity sheet and we didn't see it) I am not sure why all other activities are included free but the bike tour is $12? We also walked off resort every day for our morning walk usually taking a short cut through an abandoned resort to Playa Panama whe you could walk for miles. We also visited Playa Bonita ( just before the Sunset walk enters the gated area) A great wee walk with lots of steps. The shuttle trip to Coco Beach was a nice afternoon experience to pick up some gifts to take home. We participated in so many of the activities and were so impressed with the entertainment staff. All were wonderful but a few REALLY stood out. Bridgette was our favourite. She has such confidence at her young age and excels at everything. Her aqua aerobics, bike tour, adventure tour always included Spanish lessons which we really appreciated. her friendliness, confidence, and gusto for life makes people gravitate to her. Orlando definitely gave the best aqua aerobics work out and I really appreciated his quieter approach and his wonderful sense of humor. Michael was a lot of fun on the sunset walk and aqua aerobics. We could talk all things Canadian such as the upcoming Maple Syrup season.
Some bartenders put up with our Canadian quirks (always with a smile) when we asked them to fill our Bubba before we went back to the room to relax on the balcony in the late afternoon. Particularly, Franseco in the snack bar and Edwin in the lobby bar.
And then there is Steven! I believe Steven is super-human! He ran the beach bar alone! The beach bar isn't even close to the beach but he not only manned it and made all the drinks but he also took orders and delivered drinks along the entire beach. He came multiple times through the day ad would be back with your order in record time.
This is getting long but one more slight negative. We were so impressed that this was a non smoking resort. So nice to not smell dirty cigarettes. I would get very angry when I saw someone violating the rule. Then, a few nights before we left ash trays were placed in rooms and cigarette smoking was allowed on the balconies. Disgusting. I guess the new management is allowing this. Bad move.
So, to wrap up, this was by far our best vacation ever. We wil highly recommend to everyone that they visit Costa Rica and in particular Occidental Grand Papagayo. Thank you all for the great time!

Room Tip: All rooms have incredible views. No worries.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parksfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to detail every aspect of your wonderful experience at Occidental Papagayo. Guests will have quite an accurate picture the resort facilities and the service.
It is awesome to know how much did you enjoy your stay, our main goal is to offer our guests the best quality service to create unforgettable experiences, and it seem we have surpassed for you, we are really happy. We will share all your comments with our team Activities team, Edwin, Francisco and our Super human Steven.
We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with more experiences like this one.

Best Regards;

Jean Marie P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews