We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
Review of Hotel Luz De Vida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Luz De Vida
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I consider this hotel "a diamond in the rough" but one only a 1/2 carat diamond. It is located on a nice complex that felt secure and quiet especially at night. There was a bar and restaurant on site. The Great Chef Nacho!!!! Cocktails two for one!!!! Breakfast specials daily!!!! Swimming pool available and clean. Maid service daily. The room came with three beds, a toilet and shower area separated, refrigerator, and kitchen area with kettle and hot plate. The WiFi worked really well in the room. My stay was 5 days and I could have stayed longer because I became really attached to the environment. The beach here so beautiful and community very friendly. I didn't like the fact there was no address so it was difficult to arrive at the hotel. Because the name is not Santa Teresa Bungalows (as advertised on Booking.com) most locals(i.e.taxi drivers) don't know where it is. It is best to call ahead to get good directions and keep in mind reception closes at 1730(5:30pm).

Room Tip: Keep the hotel number handy and don't arrive at night. All rooms were same from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Luz de Vida is a sort of co-op hippie-like resort owned by seven Israeli partners, each managing a couple of villas/cabanas. Accommodation and service may vary. We rented a cabana called “Casita Jardin” from Pia. When we arrived, the Casita Jardin was not ready and instead Pia offered us to stay in their own cabana right on the beach – a gorgeous wooden house built organically by Pia’s husband. Paradise! The next day we move to the Casita Jardin, further from the beach. The Casita Jardin is a small but very comfortable wooden cabana with a small kitchenette and a large bunk-bed configuration. Not as nice or as large as the beach house, of course, but very comfortable. Some reviewers appear to have experienced poor service, perhaps because Luz de Vida is not really a hotel or a resort, as most would envision it. It is a kind of rustic, secluded, minimalistic place (the opposite of a Club Med experience). If you like to feel like Robinson on your very own island, it is the kind of feeling we had while staying there. A quiet, remote, laid back, atmosphere. We of course can only speak of our experience with Pia and her husband – who were gracious and friendly – and can’t speak of owners of other cabanas. Note to parents with kids: the beach is great, but also quite rough – a surfer’s dream … but not the best for peaceful bathing. Overall, we loved our stay at Luz de Vida and certainly hope to go back one day …

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

now i know why they have so bad review, it's mean like nobody care for the place and for the guest,dirty place and rude people,why they have a place if they don't want and don't know how to menage don't go there if you want to spend a great time

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I cannot say enough how horrible the people are who run this place. A bigger bunch of self-centered, self-important, uncaring people have never gone into a service business. If you don't like people, why run a restaurant and bar? We have been coming to costa rica for years an have actually stayed in the hotel before, and it was ok, and have often sat at the bar for drinks and snacks. But the last couple of times we were there we were treated like unwanted criminals. In January we came with our whole family to enjoy the sunset and possibly stay. As we were headed to the office to inquire about rooms we were approached by a cruel-faced "manager" and told very rudely we had to leave because we had a cooler with us. if he had taken a moment to look he would have seen we had a baby, and the cooler was for her milk and snacks. We explained that we were ordering food and drinks and the cooler was for the baby, but he clearly didn't care, told us we should "go to another beach," and walked off in a huff, never so much as apologizing. We are pretty forgiving, so when were in Santa Teresa last night, we decided to go back for drinks. They do have a lovely location, after all. After we had been there for half an hour, and were on our second round, a young woman who identified herself as an owner walked to our table and flat out accused us of not paying a previous bill. When we told her that was simply untrue she got huffy and said the manager (the same beady-eyed guy from before) had sent her over saying we hadn't paid. They had no evidence, because there was none, and seemed eager to be rid of us. We are a pleasant California laid back family who happily spend our money, tip well and ALWAYS pay our bills. To be treated like dirt is simply beyond belief. Really, who would not pay a bill, and then go back to the same place weeks later, with a baby, and start ordering drinks? When we reacted incredulously, as anyone would on being falsely accused, the staff got irate and even more accusatory. It was absolutely surreal, like some bad dream that you wake up from in a cold sweat. Can I give negative stars? I would give TEN negative stars if I could. make your choices, but if you do patronize this place, know you are supporting cold-hearted, uncaring and horrible horrible people. Like I said, STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This review is for Villa S which is on the Luz de Vida property but owned by somebody else. However we booked it through Luz De Vida and had access to all the hotel amenities while we were there. There are 5 houses for rent on the property and from what I could tell all of them are great. I traveled with my husband and brother and we rented the simplest one, Villa S. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. It's a 2 bedroom with a kitchen, nothing fancy but has AC, hot water, is cleaned daily and is nice and quiet at night. The location is amazing, there is one other house in front of it so it's not technically "oceanfront" but there is an empty property next to it so from the master bedroom you see green and then the ocean. Waking up in the morning and seeing the ocean is amazing. The living room is small but who sits in a living room in Costa Rica? The patio with 2 hammocks is fantastic and when we weren't at the beach or exploring that's where we spent our time. The only issue we had was there seemed to be an ant colony living in one of the bedrooms, there were A LOT of ants in the house. But we got used it it in the week we were there.

The beach out front is amazing and you can walk for a couple miles in either direction. If you go to the south bring shoes though as it gets rockier down towards Malpais. We did not encounter any of "the bums and floozys" hanging out ion the beach like was mentioned in a previous review. However even if we did I would not take issue with it, we are guests in their country and the local kids have a right hang out wherever they want.

We did not spend any time on the hotel property and did not see any of the rooms so I cannot comment on those. We did jump in the pool once and it was kind of dirty and older but again, we didn't have much interest in the pool anyway. Overall we could not be happier with our experience in this Villa.

The constant in all the previous reviews seems to be the helpfulness of the front desk which we found to be very accurate. They are incredibly friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be renting a Villa on this property again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber92056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.4 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
158 reviews
0.6 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
2.4 km away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
584 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
0.5 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz De Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz De Vida

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 02254, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $129 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 garden view rooms and 5 pool view bungalows, all of them equipped with a/c, phone, safe and hot water. We also have an international cuisine restaurant, a spa and pool. We have a nice kids area, and a volleyball field. We are a beautiful beachfront resort in a nice piece of paradise. Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Luz De Vida
Luz De Vida Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing