We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luz De Vida
Nearby Hotels
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cacao Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meli Melo(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
20
16
13
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
16
13
11
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2014

If you are looking for accomodations by the beach, but still want to be within arms length of the main part of town, restaurants, etc, then this is the place to stay. Book in advance, as this place seems to always be full for the most part. Basically the property is divided into tiny lots, with each lot having a two floor cabin. You'll have your own little yard and everything with a hammock, porch, etc.
The rooms are clean, convenient and cabin-like, they even have coffee makers! Walking towards the beach, you will first walk through the pool area, and then on to the beach bar and ocean. It really has all you could ask for in one location. The girl who works the front desk, Sam, is a sweetheart as well. Very kind and helpful, and speaks perfect english.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor room, they are a little smaller in size, but have a cool wood-finished interior, and a second floor balcony ;)
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Like I said in the titel: I'd recommend this place anytime in spite of their lack of maintenance and hygien. But…the location is superb and Banana Beach bar and restaurant at the beach is probably as good as it gets. So if you're looking for an affordable place in the middle of paradise? Go for it! As long as you don't expect too much glamour and luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wistikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I consider this hotel "a diamond in the rough" but one only a 1/2 carat diamond. It is located on a nice complex that felt secure and quiet especially at night. There was a bar and restaurant on site. The Great Chef Nacho!!!! Cocktails two for one!!!! Breakfast specials daily!!!! Swimming pool available and clean. Maid service daily. The room came with three beds, a toilet and shower area separated, refrigerator, and kitchen area with kettle and hot plate. The WiFi worked really well in the room. My stay was 5 days and I could have stayed longer because I became really attached to the environment. The beach here so beautiful and community very friendly. I didn't like the fact there was no address so it was difficult to arrive at the hotel. Because the name is not Santa Teresa Bungalows (as advertised on Booking.com) most locals(i.e.taxi drivers) don't know where it is. It is best to call ahead to get good directions and keep in mind reception closes at 1730(5:30pm).

Room Tip: Keep the hotel number handy and don't arrive at night. All rooms were same from what I saw.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Luz de Vida is a sort of co-op hippie-like resort owned by seven Israeli partners, each managing a couple of villas/cabanas. Accommodation and service may vary. We rented a cabana called “Casita Jardin” from Pia. When we arrived, the Casita Jardin was not ready and instead Pia offered us to stay in their own cabana right on the beach – a gorgeous wooden house built organically by Pia’s husband. Paradise! The next day we move to the Casita Jardin, further from the beach. The Casita Jardin is a small but very comfortable wooden cabana with a small kitchenette and a large bunk-bed configuration. Not as nice or as large as the beach house, of course, but very comfortable. Some reviewers appear to have experienced poor service, perhaps because Luz de Vida is not really a hotel or a resort, as most would envision it. It is a kind of rustic, secluded, minimalistic place (the opposite of a Club Med experience). If you like to feel like Robinson on your very own island, it is the kind of feeling we had while staying there. A quiet, remote, laid back, atmosphere. We of course can only speak of our experience with Pia and her husband – who were gracious and friendly – and can’t speak of owners of other cabanas. Note to parents with kids: the beach is great, but also quite rough – a surfer’s dream … but not the best for peaceful bathing. Overall, we loved our stay at Luz de Vida and certainly hope to go back one day …

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

now i know why they have so bad review, it's mean like nobody care for the place and for the guest,dirty place and rude people,why they have a place if they don't want and don't know how to menage don't go there if you want to spend a great time

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews