We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raratonga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wave Trotter(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumbo Surf Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milarepa(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funky Monkey Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
170
42
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
42
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaswimming poolhelpful ownerswonderful stayquiet locationcleaned dailysmall fridgebeach accesssurfing lessonsalessiaroosterssupermarketsantamaidbirdsnaturedust
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We ended up staying 2 more nights than what we originally intended! we loved the place and the room. First of all the service was amazing and all the staff was very helpful with anything we needed whether it was transportation, excursions or just tips on where to go. The rooms are cleaned everyday which makes it that much more enjoyable to come back to the room after a day at the beach. The mattresses are out of this world, we slept like babies every night. There are roosters outside the hostel in the morning but nothing to really be worried about, you get used to them and eventually learn to like it, as a result of you experiencing more of what it is like to live the costa rican lifestyle. Great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and surf! lastly the price is really good for what you get!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

First things first.
I read a review that stated a few negative things about this place. I'd like to say that anyone posting a negative review of this hotel should simply not travel to Santa Teresa. Santa Teresa, is a place with natural wild life, pristine beaches and limited development. The roads are not paved and Yes, there are monkeys, roosters and dogs running around. Anyone, who does not enjoy natural habitat is best to stay at a sandals resort somewhere else.

This place is great! The owners are sooooo nice and the rooms are really comfy. It is located at the quieter end of town and situated across from one of the best surf locations. It is priced well, safe and very hospitable.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone (especially couples) travelling to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: second floor was great..
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleseed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Raratonga Apartments for three days (June 29 - July 1) and it was amazing! We're hoping to visit again soon.

When Alessia welcomed us, she gave us tips and recommended a couple of places for us to visit. Once we got to step into the apartment, we were surprised at how nice it was! The kitchen is fully equipped and the dishes and utensils seemed new and neat. The bathroom was really big, clean, and it had hot water.The rooms were simple, but spacious with enough room for your stuff. Some felt that the beds were a bit hard to sleep on, but it was not a big deal. The whole apartment was equipped with A/C, fans and plenty of windows. Its location is pretty close to the beach, about a 5 minute walk, and it has several restaurants and supermarkets nearby (all at walking distance). And the pool was really nice too.

We drove there in a rented sedan, but would definitely advise you to get a 4x4 wheeler, just to make sure your car can make it to everywhere.

Overall, it was of great value and definitely recommend this place if you plan on visiting Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here as a couple back in 2010, its pete and amy. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks. Perfect location as short walk from the beach, very helpful staff. Alessia was amazing and always helped us with everything whenever we needed help. Thankyou for such a special time!

Room Tip: All good rooms, high ones get more sun
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteamy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our stay at Raratonga was perfect! Gianni and Alessia provided us with five star service!!! The room was very clean and the location was fantastic! They both were very helpful from start to finish and made our trip complete. Alessia was very helpful with trip planning and Gianni was there for anything we needed, even out on the waves!! He shared his passion of surfing and life in santa teresa and by the end of the week we felt like we were visiting with friends, not just staying at another hotel. We will definitely be back to Santa Teresa and Raratonga! Thanks for making our trip complete! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Power75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews