We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raratonga
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
170
42
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
42
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrink teacosta ricagrocery storeswimming poolwonderful stayminute walkstar resortcleaned dailysmall fridgebest of both worldsdown to earthmy favorite placebeach accessdry seasonnicoya peninsulalaid backevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This small, trendy hotel is located within very close proximity to the Santa Teresa beach (literally a 2 minutes walk); I would highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys walks/jogs along the beach, surfing, swimming or any other aquatic activities. The beach is clean and it was not too crowded when we visited it in late February 2018. The hotel owner also provides surfing lessons at a relatively affordable price ($45 for 90 minutes), so we took advantage of that as well. The room is quiet, private and clean, with a fairly modern bathroom and comfortable beds. The owners were also friendly and helpful with recommending other activities and restaurants close by. The hotel only has 5 to 6 rooms from what I could tell, so this was also a great advantage in terms of using the hotel's pool and not having to worry about monopolizing it or making others wait for their turn. The hotel can accommodate groups of up to 4 people in one shared room, which is a great option for 2 couples, a group of 4 friends or a small family. There are rooms located at lower levels, so if you have bulky luggage choose a room that isn't on the highest level. to avoid having to lug your luggage up the stairs. If I had to be nitpicky and choose any drawbacks, I would say that it would be an even better deal if breakfast was included in the price. Also, being strongly environmentally-friendly, I would recommend that they encourage recycling by placing recycling bins in all rooms. Otherwise, I would most probably return to stay there once again if I were ever in the area. Overall, I do recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views so it doesn't matter which you choose. Lower levels are good for older folks or if you have bulky luggage.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avataraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Owner at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Raja, we would really like to thank you very much for your positive feed back! It was really nice for us hosting you in our hotel and we are very happy that you liked the property and the pool and our surf lessons. We will pick up on your suggestion on encouraging recycling more putting some info in the rooms. We do actually recycle a lot too. We have recycling bins at the reception areas and we are actually separating all our guests trash manually each day and wash it, since we only get a recycling collection once per month , so we have to maintain it very clean. We haven't put recycle bins inside the rooms because of the space, but we will definetly put some more visual INFO to get more help from our guests. Again thank you very much and we wish all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We loved the place. Location is great, few minutes from a lovely part of the beach in Santa Teresa. Staff and owners are so helpful . The room was nice a beds great. Nice little pool to cool down after the beach.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blarsen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to review us. We couldn't be happier to know that you loved our Hotel and that you liked our location and felt comfortable and well taken care of by our staff, we aim for all our guests to feel like home when they visit us.
See you next time!
Pura vida
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our two little boys while we were in Santa Teresa visiting family. The hotel was close to our family, the store and a beach access. The space was clean, the beds comfortable and everyone was really accommodating. There is a rooster nearby, as mentioned by another reviewer, but we had a white noise app on our phones and that did the trick if you have any light sleepers. I would highly suggest staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klfieunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear guest, we want to thank you for sharing you experience with us, we were very pleased to know that you liked our location and that you thought our place was clean and comfortable. We really appreciate that you would recommend us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best,
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We loved the property and proximity to the beach. The pool was a nice escape when the sun was too hot to lay at the beach, the trees provided shade and brought lots of different birds. We had a great time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon_Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front Desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Shannon,we'd like to thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Raratonga.
We loved to know that you liked the proximity of our hotel to the beach and that you enjoyed of the pool and shade of the trees in the pool area, and the fact that you said that you had a great time means a lot to us. We certainly hope that you visit us again the next time you come to Santa Teresa.
Best,
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed for 5 Nights There. This place is just amazing ! Really quiet, at the exit of Santa Teresa but with everything next to us grocery, restaurants.
Only 5 minutes from the beach ...and the waves !
The staff was really accomadating with us, i had some troubles with my luggages at San José and they helped me changing my shuttle service, welcome us late at night. They also helped me with nanny services so I Can have a Nice session without a worry about my kid for almost nothing.
The bedroom was nice and clean.Equiped with a small fridge, the AC, a safety box and a nice balcony with a beautiful view on the swimming pool.

All of the staff is really Kind , from the maid to the receptionnist and the owners.
I want to thank you once again for this wonderful stay.
Just can't Wait until my next stay !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank frederic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raratonga, Front desk at Hotel Raratonga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Frederic, thank you very much for writing such a nice review. We are so glad that you liked our place, location and service, it's very gratifying for us to know that we where able to help you have an amazing time during your vacation. It was lovely to meet you and your son and we look forward to your next visit.
Best,
Lucy T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews