We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive Photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We booked a junior suite online based on the beautiful photos on the website. We were very disappointed with room 104 as it does not resemble anything like the photos and description we had seen.
There is a distinct difference between the junior suites. Room 104 has limited sitting area and no table and chairs, four split levels and a 'bat cave' for a bedroom.
We would normally accept what is presented, however we had booked for four nights and travelled across the world to enjoy our holiday. We became aware that the other junior suites were larger and as per the website.
We approached the GM and informed him of our concerns and after some terse words he transferred us into room 105, which is what we expected and were very pleased.
To other travellers booking a junior suite, to avoid the same problem ask the question which room number have you been allocated.
The staff are fantastic and the location and views breathtaking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear guest,
Just because you liked one room better than the other, it doesn’t mean that we are trying to deceive people. Due to the traditional architect of Caldera in Santorini (carved in stone, white buildings etc), rooms that have the same size in square meters, are differently shaped. The carved bedroom you are describing is one of our best and most popular rooms and people find it very romantic. If you were careful during your reservation you would notice that rooms from all hotels in Caldera are carved in stone and that is a unique and at the same time beautiful characteristic. If you browsed through the room pictures before you reserve a room, you would see pictures from all rooms and not just the one you liked. We loved having you here and we are glad you liked your second room.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

My wife and I spent 6 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Upon arriving, Panos and Pilot assisted a group of about 10 of us who arrived at the same time into the check - in office allllll the way from the top of the entrance to the hotel. At that moment we knew customer service was going to be great. Checking in was no problem and Panos was very helpful in giving us a map and information about the hotel and the island. Not easy to do with a lot of people arriving simultaneously.

Our room was 106 (i believe). It was a studio room which was comfortable for just my wife and I. The maid did an excellent job in maintaining the room clean and was never pushy about getting us out to clean. The ONLY reason we gave this hotel a 4.8/5 was because the room didn't have the best ventilation, therefore can develop a musty smell. We tried leaving the AC on at full blast when we were in the room to keep it cool, but when my wife began to develop a cough, we stopped doing that. We managed and it definitely wasn't a deal breaker. The location of the room was perfect! It felt like a small neighborhood with all the other rooms right next door. The pool was right in front, the BAR was right in front (if you know what I mean), and best of all, the VIEWS where you can have your wonderful breakfast was right in front! It was AMAZING! Just a side note..if your room is located downstairs by the pool, just be prepared to go up a lot of steps prior to getting anywhere. If you don't like to sweat when you're all dressed up and looking fancy, then take breaks while on your mission to reach the top lol. You've been warned!

I don't know how to spell his name but Aneus, "the breakfast man", was consistent with the deliciousness of the breakfast every morning and was also prompt. Even if you had to wait a few minutes...WHO CARES!...there was so much views to enjoy that you can lose track of time just sitting there. Pilot was EXCELLENT!! Anything you need he would get it or find a way of getting it without hesitation. Humble and down to earth guy. Thanks Pilot!! Panos was also excellent! He got me an iron and ironing board promptly as I always check for that when I travel lol. "Herrrrrrrrrera!" The manager, Leonidas, was also a sarcastic and very funny guy, but always kept it professional and was very helpful.

Lastly, we recommend walking the pedestrian walkway to go into the shops, restaurants, and bars which is about a 15-20 min walk since the main road is dangerous. Just FYI... a lot of inclines..a lot! The good thing is that whatever you eat you will burn off walking anywhere in Santorini. Recommend doing the Sunset Cruise as it was just breathtaking. We visited Oia which was beautiful and well worth the trip. We also went to Perissa beach which was also amazing. There were a lot of places to eat and relax. The water was calm although it was breezy, but didn't affect the time there. Definitely recommend those places to visit. The bars in town were awesome. We went bar hopping and enjoyed every single one we landed in, especially Murphy's Bar and Koo Club...not so much Kira Thira Jazz Bar since the bartender didn't seem interested in assisting my wife and I who were the only ones in the bar...oh well. The best restaurant was definitely Mama Thira...hands down. All in all my wife and I enjoyed everything about the location of the hotel and especially the customer service. There's so much more I can add...EXCELLENT JOB to everyone at the Mill Houses! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

We all loved having you here. We are very pleased that you had a good time at The Millhouses and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. The location of this hotel is great, we liked staying in Firostefani because we could walk to Fira or Imerovigli and then come back to a nice and quiet place. The setting of the hotel is phenomenal, great views all over. The pool is very small and the area around it to hang out is not the greatest. We had a junior suite which was large and comfortable. The service was OK, we mainly dealt with a man at the front desk during the day (the man working the night shift was much more helpful). He seemed to complain a lot about everything and was not good at promoting activities in the island. We ended up booking most of our activities on our own and had an amazing time. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation in Santorini. We are glad you had an amazing time here. A recommendation is not a complaint.
Nevertheless, we will consider your comments and we hope to see you here again soon to prove you wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Santorini had been on my spouse's wishlist since we met nearly a decade ago, and we finally made the trip on a recent June honeymoon. The island overall lived up to the hype—wonderful weather, picturesque vistas everywhere you turned, cuisine worth the price of admission itself—but we honestly enjoyed our morning and evenings relaxing at the Mill House most of all.

It starts with the staff. Panos, Pilot, and company are genuinely some of the warmest, most welcoming people we interacted with throughout all our travels. If you simply want an easy, accommodating housing experience, the team can provide that tenfold—breakfast in the morning is robust and prompt, the rooms are clean (and it's a snap to get extra espresso capsules or water bottles), you never have to lift a finger unless you so choose, and desk staff can quickly and easily get you started with any experience you're interested in on the island (can vouch for and recommend the sunset cruises).

But what separates Mill Houses (aside, again, for its exquisite location and generally good value given the accommodations/proximity to various points of interest) is the staff. If you're in a social mood, you can often hear plenty of stories and get information about life on the island or about Greece overall, and people are quick with great suggestions about neighborhoods to aimlessly walk through or restaurants and drinks to try away from the main tourist areas. It makes Mill Houses feel more like a community and less like a hotel. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat, but we'd just as willingly swing by to say hello to everyone even if we ended up down the road.

Room Tip: The Mill Suite includes a hot tub and a private balcony overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nzmattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear guest,

We are glad you absolutely understood the type of experience we are trying to offer to our guests. We are very pleased you enjoyed it and we will be happy to see you again.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We are a family of five and we stayed here and it blew our minds. Our toddler loved it as did our two pre-teen children as well.

The service is impeccable — Pilot and Leonidas were simply wonderful, helping us whenever we needed it and sometimes when we didn't even realise we needed help.

The views are amazing.

The breakfast is plentiful and of high quality.

The room we stayed in (101) was impeccable. Large, open, functional and clean. I personally had some of my best nights sleep in that bed!

There isn't much more I can say about our stay here. This is the type of place that postcards are made of.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillHousesSantorini, Manager at Mill Houses Elegant Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

We wish to you and your family all the best and we would love to have you all here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 km away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,055 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
2 km away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 81 in Fira
461 reviews
1.2 km away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 51 in Imerovigli
426 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Houses Elegant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Address: Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $151 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Houses Elegant Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The endless Aegean sea... Deep blue flirting with pigments of rugged stone... The breathtaking Caldera, as in a picture from a famous postcard... At the bay of Firostefani, on the stately rock that bridges the sky with the sea, the whitewashed figure of Mill Houses Boutique Hotel & Suites in Santorini, looks like hovering over the mesmerizing cliff. With a unique view to the volcano of Santorini - the symbol of power of a sea that historically united cultures - our hospitable suites seem entangled in an indiscernible dialogue with the mythical elements of the island. Live an unforgettable experiece at our dreamlike Boutique Santorini Hotel & Suites in Firostefani. Honeymoon in Santorini ? Make it an experience of a lifetime. We can skillfully organize your Santorini wedding according to your needs and wishes. Our Santorini boutique hotel offer honeymoon suites with verandas overlooking the Volcano island. Honeymoon in Santorini with hundreds romantic getaways, a perfect beginning to your new life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Houses Elegant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Houses Studios And Suites
Mill Houses Studios Hotel Firostefani
Mill Hotel Studios
Mill Houses Elegant Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing