We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immersed in Greek Hospitality and History at S. Nikolis Hotel in Rhodes Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #28 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The Nikolis Hotel was our first stop on our first vacation to Greece, and it set the tone perfectly for the rest of our trip. We arrived late and had the hotel arrange our airport pickup (I recommend this as not all taxis will drive into the tight, turning alleyways of Old Town Rhodes). We were absolutely delighted to see the historic beauty of our location and the hotel.

No elevator, but the night deskman carried our bags upstairs. There was a little embarrassment as he discovered a, uh, present left behind by one of the neighborhood stray cats on the threshold of the room next to ours. No matter to us, we quickly settled into our stellar corner room and watched the moon rise over the port of Rhodes from our balcony. The bed (two twins pushed together) was comfortable, and the French doors had blackout curtains (though we preferred being awakened by the sunrise).

The breakfast on the roof is generous and delicious, with fruit, pastries, breads, cheeses and meats, and eggs or yogurt available if you like. There's a sweet courtyard patio with tables and chairs that's filled with artifacts from the hotel's location, I believe.

The location was great, as we chose to wander around the Old Town on foot for the two days we stayed there. We had arranged for a private tour on our first day, and it was an easy 5 minute walk to the Gate St. Athanasius to meet the driver. The hotel was also close enough to the port that we were going to walk there with our bags to depart on our cruise, but our innkeeper Marianne wouldn't have it -- she insisted upon taking us right to our boat.

Altogether, it was just a lovely stay,

Room Tip: Room 19 is a top floor corner room with a lovely view of the port -- and the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WithoutAnUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Oozing character in a good location away from the noise of the city although does get the jets overhead. The management could not be more helpful and were a perfect blend of easy and chatty, professional and caring. There is no restaurant but there is breakfast on the roof which is lovely. Our room, though small, was clean and looked after with a decent balcony for morning sun and evening shade. The shower and bathroom however leave a lot to be desired as others have commented. Indeed anyone over 80kg will struggle in the shower of the room we had and the bathroom really needs a complete rethink. With hindsight booking direct would have been better. It's an awkward walk from the taxi drop off because of the pebbled roadway. The hotel has a golf cart to collect you but you'd only know from the hotel itself. The price is a little high but the hotel character sells it. We will go again but need a room with much better bathroom facilities or we will go elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ballyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome location, apartments well equipped and modernised but be aware that space is a premium compared to regular hotel rooms. The biggest issue was the location of the toilet. The space was very tight and lid doesn't stay up. It makes it somewhat inconvenient when going to do your business. Any larger people wouldn't be able to use the space. Every thing else was fine and apartments are cleaned daily and people are nice. You will need to plan to pick up the keys beforehand.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fomidable69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas_Nikolis, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Sorry but the following photos are not from our hotel. Hopefully you will delete this review as it seems you made a mistake and confused us with someone else.
Best regards.
S. Nikolis Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last summer and had to come again. Greeted by Marianne on our return as if we were part of her family, and staying here you will feel like you are. As has been said many times before you get well looked after here, from the really comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast and in such an ideal location, in the walls of the old town but just far enough away for that peace and quiet.
Enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again


Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paulkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel deserves the praise it has received. Marianne and her staff deserve every word of appreciation.
They look after every aspect of your stay in the old town and are exceptionally generous.
The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The breakfast ( which we almost missed as we slept so well ) was both unexpected and grandly delivered up on the roof, where all eating should take place in the old town.
Every aspect of our stay was catered for down to transport transfers.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 km away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.4 km away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
212 reviews
0.5 km away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
0.3 km away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#34 of 126 in Rhodes Town
109 reviews
0.4 km away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 126 in Rhodes Town
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $208 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing