We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,483)
Filter reviews
3,483 results
Traveller rating
733
1,042
781
439
488
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
1,042
781
439
488
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating pool pasta st moritz downstairs bar all inclusive deal coach holiday great holiday buffet style bernina express free boat cooked breakfast three star large hotel noddy train villa carlotta roof terrace overlooking the lake
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 3,483 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there through the Daily Mail
The food was good but if you werent in early got all bashed about.
We went on the trips that they offered,the one on the Bernee Express to St Moritz was a disaster.The guide couldnt do her job and we got turfed off the train before qe got to St Moritz to continue by bus.It wasnt the trup we thought we had paid for,and when we got back to the hotel Janet the person who sold us the tickets would not accept any responsibity saying she had told us all that before we left and would not give us the name of the tour operator so that we could contact them

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cocopops70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

A three star rating is really far too high for this hotel as I hope you’ll understand after my review.

Reception and booking in was chaos especially as a coach tour arrived at the same time we did. Most of the reception staff would work at one pace, their own, meaning we were stuck waiting to check in for quite a long time. One poor chap had his room allocated to someone else as he was told he had arrived late, yet he had waited around 15 minutes in the queue. Luggage was everywhere and it resembles a bit like The Krypton Factor activity course.

The food in the restaurant was poor and didn’t reflect what we thought we would expected. There was no “taste of Italy” in the nightly buffet restaurants unless you wanted pizza and pasta. The pasta offering on the first night was “pasta delicios” which turned out to be freeze dried pasta with tomato sauce plus you had a choice of a pizza slice, cheese and tomato or pepperoni.

Generally it was such a rush for everyone to get to the buffet that it was each man for himself. The choice on each evening was so poor that we ate out 3 of the 6 nights we stayed. You may find some of the evenings main options served up the following day in the cold lunchtime menu including cold lasagne. I lost track at the number of times pork was one of the items on the menu. A word of warning: Don’t try the chicken dishes. The one I had was such a thin chicken fillet that not only did it have a funny texture, it was dried up and tasted odd. The restaurant staff were the only saving grace as they were pleasant and polite.

The silver all inclusive which we had selected was quite odd. Lager and soft drink appeared to be served in thin “test tube” sized glassware. I hesitate a guess of around 200ml so you constantly had to go back to the bar. Wine in the restaurant was served in small jugs of red or white. You were not provided with a bottle of the house red or white. One jug equates to around 1 full large sized glass.

Every miserly action you could take to offer “all inclusive” was done so. There was no fresh fruit salad at breakfast time, it was all a tinned selection. The orange juice did not taste like pure orange. Croissants were dry and baked well in advance of being brought to the buffet. Even the size of the toast slices were half the normal loaf size. The whole food day at the hotel ran just one miserly step after another. They had screw down each possible cost to offer all inclusive with as little expense as they could.

The bar was poorly decorated and looked as though it had been an after thought. It had no atmosphere, the bubbles decoration was hideously cheap in appearance and for me, was not somewhere I would want to spend a couple of hours in.

Rooms are just appalling. How they can fit the description of comfort or deluxe is beyond understanding. The wardrobe was damaged, the chair was damaged and so was the tiling in the bathroom. The air conditioner worked only when it wanted to. Most of the time we had to leave the doors open to get any breeze. Even the sink plugs in the bathroom didn’t fit so you were on a constant race of filling the water up in the basin to have a wash or a shave, although the water was nice and hot if you could get it to stay in your basin.

Lake Como is simply beautiful both at sunrise and sunset and was the saving grace to this otherwise disappointing stay. I would not stay at the hotel again nor would I recommend the hotel to my family and friends. I don’t know how they can justify saying they have spent €3 million Euro (reception Italian lady told us when booking in) refurbishing the hotel so far as it’s not evident. Our room was grubby, worse for wear, tired and spoilt the whole pamper experience we expected.

A tip for you if you are going to stay at the hotel, sleep on top of the bedding because the beds springs can be felt when laying down, even through the sheets. Ciao!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank generalmatters1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The location of this hotel was ideal for accessing the ferry network and for walking to neighbouring towns. Lovely views across the lake to Bellagio and Verenna.

The hotel itself proved disappointing. Our room was "cosy" but clean. Unable to fully open the room door due to room size and beds impeding access. Towels changed regularly but bed linen policy is for change very 7 days. After 8 days we had to ask. Not ideal in the heat.

Hotel looks tired, corridor carpets stained and not always vacuumed.

We booked on all inclusive basis. Meals not of a great quality with many items tinned, canned or preserved. Poor choice and menus repetitive. Option to pre-order packed lunch, which was our plan so we could spend days exploring the area. This was unsuccessful as the packed lunch was stale and inedible. We tried more than once and then gave up, preferring to eat out and enjoy the fantastic local food. Much nicer than the hotel. Obviously this incurs unanticipated expenditure, so has to be considered.

The drinks were ok, but again cheaper brands and some made up in advance (Aperol Sprtiz for example), so often flat and not very palatable.

Hotel staff generally helpful, but younger staff are "in training". Restaurant staff cheerful and welcoming.

We booked one organised day out, Bernina railway and St Moritz. Lovely day out with spectacular views and well planned day by the tour operator.

On reflection would recommend the location, but pick a different hotel.

Room Tip: Request lake view. Better than rear view of road and parked cars!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

How the Britannia Excelsior is rated as 3 star I shall never know.
Meal times were reduced to a mad scramble to the food trough, with other guests elbowing each other for position, with the 'waiters' merely there to whip your plate away, even though other people on the same table were still eating.
The one bar area in the Hotel is not welcoming at all, all bright lights, plastic seats, sticky floors and a pub singer belting out his tunes every night.
If you want a relaxing meal and drink in the evening, try to go to the establishments sister hotel, or try to book the Hotels restaurant and rooftop pizza restaurant up the road. Forget the Pizza restaurant if someone has mentioned that there might be a chance of some rain though, as they close it.
There is a really nice little bar up in the village behind the Hotel. Steep walk, but worth the effort.

Rooms are only just adequate. The smallest of wardrobes, in our room anyway, a kind of dressing table with a noisy fridge under it, air-con with a ceiling fan, small shower and a wash basin and that's it really. The Juliet balcony is really just a metal grill covering the opening double door. Lake view was very nice though, but with the door open, it was at times unbearable, because of the traffic noise.

Reception was at times more like a suitcase store room, you really had to dodge through an obstacle course at times.

Nice lakeside walks from the Hotel though.
Tried the Floating ''infinity'' pool, but found it very cold. Nice feature though, and perhaps the Hotels only redeeming feature, as it has no garden to sit in.

I would not even consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevorStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

It's location is beathtaking, situated on the shore of Lake Como. Over the past few years, many millions of Euros have been spent on upgrading the Britannia, and it's elegance is reflected in the quality of its restaurant and the hotels relaxing areas. It also has a wonderful floating pool, surrounded by sunbathing area. It also has a relaxed sitting area with an excellent bar which is well staffed.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and try to have a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Como, breathtaking, The hotel covers 5 floors, with ample lifts.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews