We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant few hours”

Peak District Lead Mining Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Find out about the lead mining heritage of Derbyshire from Roman Times to the present. Interactive exhibits, mock tunnels and shafts to climb, moving models. The new Matlock Bath Through Time exhibition tells the story of a village that was one of the top Georgian Spas in the country. Then visit Temple Mine and find out what it was really like working underground followed by a try at gold panning. Suitable for all ages. Family ticket £20 (2A and 3C)
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 11 did the museum and then the tour. The Museum is interesting and you could spend ages in there. They have pretend mines you can climb in and that was fun (probably was mostly there for kids, but who cares!). Then the tour around the mind was also interesting but the guide could have been more enthusiastic about it. It would be good if they could have an audio guide around the museum. All in all it is one of the best things in Matlock but Matlock isn't the most interesting of places. The whole museum could do with a bit more TLC on outside appearance because inside a lot of effort has been spent on it.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank louise010196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Lead Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the museum, we have considered audio guides however they are simply too expensive for a small museum to fund. We share your despair about the outside of the building housing the museum and have spoken to our landlords about it. Unfortunately there is nothing else we can do about it - but our part, as you say, is well cared for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"panning for gold"
in 18 reviews
"hard hats"
in 6 reviews
"peak district"
in 13 reviews
"pan for gold"
in 5 reviews
"roman times"
in 4 reviews
"wide range of exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"lots of interesting stuff"
in 2 reviews
"kids loved exploring"
in 2 reviews
"short walk across the road"
in 2 reviews
"stair lift"
in 3 reviews
"guided tour"
in 8 reviews
"low ceilings"
in 4 reviews
"great fun"
in 8 reviews
"value for money"
in 9 reviews
"sensible footwear"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic visit"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Having long had a fascination with Welsh Coal Mining, I thought that the Lead Mining Museum might be a bit tame, which shows you how wrong you can be. There is so much to see, ranging from models to actual artefacts, from as early as the 1700s. The use of graphics and sound-effects was quite inspiring, and added much to the experience. The scale of exhibits was tremendous, form small tools to huge winding wheels, gin-engines, pumps and cages. Every single display was not just in logical order and done in such a way that it explained the whole process, but in a style that even the layman could comprehend. We only had an hour and a half, (my fault), but I thoroughly recommend that you make a longer time available. The prices were unbelievably reasonable, the cafe served unpretentious brews at a sensible cost and the gift shop was well-stocked and thought out. Furthermore, the staff were really chatty, clued-up and very, very nice indeed. I have a feeling that I'd like to go back, which is the greatest accolade that I can think of. Many, many thanks.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Dafydd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Lead Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

I am delighted that you found so much to enjoy in the museum! We are very proud of it and it is down to the hard work of volunteers over the 40 years that we have been open. I do hope you can visit again soon as we have a new interactive display to explain the water pressure engine which should be in place before Christmas.
I will make sure that your praise is passed on to all the people involved in the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The Museum is conveniently located in the popular inland resort of Matlock Bath. The museum provides a wealth of information and large range of exhibits connected with the mining of Lead in the Peak District.

The museum is on 2 levels, the ground level is wheelchair accessible and the upper level can be reached by a stair lift on request to a member of staff.

The exhibits range from; large scale industrial machinery, for example; Beam Engines and, mine pumps through to smaller display cabinet housed exhibits. The museum will be of interest to young and old alike, for the children there is a maze simulating being in a mine, where they can walk, crawl and climb ladders etc behind hidden panels. There are also several interactive push button operated exhibits and a cab of a mechanical excavator which the young or older ones can sit in.

At the end of the exhibits there is a corridor towards the exit ( and Gift Shop ), which contains an impressive display of Rocks and Minerals in their native / mined natural state, displayed along the left hand wall.

Staff are friendly and helpful, located in the entrance foyer area of the museum.

For an additional cost, but good value for money, Underground trips can be taken in the nearby Temple Mine, a short walk across the road from the Museum, they are guided tours and run a maximum of 2 per opening day, usually at 12:00 and 14:00 hrs.

The Museum also has a small cafe and a gift shop in the entrance foyer, the gift shop has many; informative books on the Peak District, Mining related books, Rocks and Minerals and other related gifts available to buy.

All in all, a really worthwhile, interesting and great value for money museum to visit, at least my family think so, as my most recent visit on the August Bank Holiday week was our 5th visit.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ivanbrown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Lead Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy visiting year after year. Hopefully each time you visit you find something new to look at. If you are able to visit next year we will have the new family geology zone completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My children, partner and I went for a day out in Matlock bath and came across this little gem and we absolutely loved it!

Its a lovely and quirky place and the staff are great, really friendly and helpful! Our tour guide Sam was wonderful and really knowledgeable, the kids are still asking when we can go back to see her! She makes a fab cup of tea for the adults too ;)

We had no prior knowledge of mining or geology and thought this was going to be more for the kids but Sam seems to have sparked off a new interest for my partner and me!

Couldn't recommend this place enough it was a great visit and good value for money, thanks again Sam :)

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 124patjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Lead Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you very much for leaving this review. I am pleased to hear the whole family enjoyed the visit - I will pass your comments on to Sam. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Visited today with my family and was very impressed. There's lots of good exhibits about lead mining and it's all laid out in an easy to follow way. My children, 12 and 10, enjoyed both the exhibits and the climbing shafts (as did I and my wife!).
We also went on the mine tour and Charlie did a great job of showing us around this fascinating mine.
All in all we had a great time and thought it very well worth the admission charge.
If you're near Matlock Bath this should definitely be on your list of 'must do' attractions.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Front Office Manager at Peak District Lead Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review.
We're glad that you had such an enjoyable time with us, we will pass on your kind feedback to your tour guide Charlie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peak District Lead Mining Museum also viewed

 

Been to Peak District Lead Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing