We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cables B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
421
37
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
421
37
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroger and maureenhot tubfour posteron arrivalrose petalshomemade breadcup of teasky tvbirthday decorationsheights of abrahammini fridgegranolafeel very welcomean evening meallittle touchesshort walknothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable B&B close to Matlock Bath. Friendly host Roger greeted us with coffee and homemade lemon cake on a cold and snowy Sunday in March. He previously advised us of the local road conditions.

Our room was a good sized double room with 4 poster bed at the front of the property. Traffic noise is noticeable but did not disturb us until 7.30am the next day.

Good facilities in room, Sky TV, kettle, pod coffee machine. Small ensuite shower room with basket of "essentials" if anything forgotten. The bed is on the firm side so be warned.

Breakfast was superb. Great selection of cooked items with homemade bread. Good strong coffee. A very good start to the day.

Free WiFi available in room.

Be careful which site you book the accommodation with. I booked thru the visit Peak District site and was charged more than if I'd gone through other sites. Still good value for money.

Excellent Italian restaurant, Viva, is 15 minutes walk from The Cables.

No disabled access to upstairs rooms

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecables, Owner at Cables B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the cables Friday and Saturday night as we were going to Chatsworth house Christmas market and Christmas house had a lovely time at the cables and found it very relaxing and comfortable breakfast was great will defiantly be staying again thank you for your hospitality Rodger and Maureen

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coopergj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous time, roger and Maureen are very welcoming and went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. They were brilliant with my 11 and 9 year old made them feel really at home and lovely touches like laying out my daughters teddys when making up the room. Breakfast is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. We also used the hot tub candles, fire all light and drinks service provided the whole experience was perfect from start to finish! Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bells4877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at the cables B and B , we took are little dog Ginny with us as they allow dogs and I couldn't recommend the place enough, they have their own dog so are very in tune with dog lovers. The cables is small and friendly but has everything you may need for a short stay absolutely nothing has been forgotten ,the rooms are lovely and warm and the bed very comfy. One thing we were seriously impressed with was the breakfast, absolutely delicious, I think it was the best I have had ! Well done roger , would definitely recommend this B and B.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Owner at Cables B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

many thanks for a great review
kind regards roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend at The Cables. Excellent spacious room. Delicious breakfast. The hot tub was fab. Max the dog and Roger made us feel very welcome. Would recommend highly. Location is ideal for matlock, matlock bath and Heights Abraham all within a 5-15 minutes walk. Nice local restaurants for evening meals. Perfect chilled weekend get away

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews