We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Fox

The Red Fox
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Charming village pub serving home cooked meals, real ales, great wines. We offer a choice for most diners including Gluten Free and Vegan.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

First visit on recommendation by friends. Warm, friendly feel on entering pub, shown straight to our table. Excellent food, we had the christmas menu, 2 courses and ample food. Very good service, attentive staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Choc-queen374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    56
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Went for Sunday lunch & the food and service were excellent. The waiter was quite young and he couldn't have been more helpful. All the staff were very friendly and very welcoming. The food was beautiful, I had roast lamb and the portions were plentiful. The accompanying veg was also lovely. The whole experience was really wonderful, we'll certainly come back & we've already recommended it to others!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgebazWales, Owner at The Red Fox, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. The red cabbage is a favourite of mine!! I am 'over the moon' you found our staff helpful and attentive. We look forward to welocming you back Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penarth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding welcome and food even while the owner is on holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Arrived at lunchtime to a very warm welcome and a beautiful log fire .Very helpful staff --Best Welsh rarebit ever tasted. The duck leg starter was enough for a main course. Superb beef curry. Lovely home made desserts for a grand finale. We will be back very soon for a gastronomic treat..

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanPenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgebazWales, Owner at The Red Fox, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We are so proud our staff looked after you during your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Pub in the Vale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

As Penllyn village residents, we regularly visit the Red Fox Inn, either for a drink or a lovely meal with friends or family.
Georgina & Richard are the perfect hosts and have very friendly staff in this family orientated village pub. You get the warmest of welcomes anywhere in the Vale.
The excellent home cooked is competitively priced, and the beer including, regular guest beers, is very well kept.
Although there are many good restaurants in the Vale, the Red Fox cannot be beaten either on price, quality or friendliness.

Tips:

If you don’t find exactly what you want on the menu, just ask as they will always try to fulfil your request.

In the summer there is a lovely beer garden, which is great for kids.

We have had a couple of family parties in the restaurant at the Red Fox for about 50 people and they organised a disco for us. Great nights!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GDB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgebazWales, Owner at The Red Fox, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
We love being in the village, Penllyn is a beautiful place. We are very lucky to have such lovely neighbours. Thank you for sharing your views with the world. We are delighted you enjoy your village pub xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I absolutely LOVE The Red Fox, I have been there on many occasions with our family for a meal and it has never once let us down. The food is always beautifully cooked, hot, plenty of it and the service is outstanding. I love the character of the place and the food is more than comparable with all the overly priced restaurants in Cardiff that don't go anywhere near the levels of effort that the staff in this place do. We always need to book large tables as it's always for a birthday or some other occasion and our needs are always catered for. I would recommend The Red Fox to everyone, it has a great range of drinks, amazing food, brilliant staff and very fairly priced. Our whole family have very healthy appetites and we always leave there full :)

We have already booked a table for a 60th birthday celebration in December and I cannot wait - no matter how special the occasion I would always choose The Red Fox over any 'posh' restaurant as you are guaranteed a good night - brilliant!

One tip - it is a family pub so don't have the massive storage facilities that bigger restaurants do, this means that they sometimes run out of items which can be dissappointing. However, this shouldn't put you off as if we call in advance to let them know if we are going to be ordering a lot of the same thing (breaded camembert, we always order about 10 between us as it's the best i've ever tasted anywhere!) then there is never a problem. I know this isn't a realistic solution for people who don't visit there often but even if they have run out of something, you can guarantee that what you do end up having will taste divine!

Roll on 19th December - looking forward to it already!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgebazWales, Owner at The Red Fox, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted you have shared your thoughts with everyone. We are really proud of our pub and love it, it means a lot to us that you like it too. I promise to have plenty of Deep Fried Brie for you all in December! Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Fox also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing