We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restaurant in Puerto Lopez”
Review of Sabor Espanol

Sabor Espanol
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Puerto Lopez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Description: Relaxed place, quiet, to enjoy a good sunbath and beach; while enjoying the flavors of Spanish cuisine in a place with good atmosphere, good music and extensive facilities with climatisada room. The best seafood , from the sea to the table .
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed place, quiet, to enjoy a good sunbath and beach; while enjoying the flavors of Spanish cuisine in a place with good atmosphere, good music and extensive facilities with climatisada room. The best seafood , from the sea to the table .
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Our hotel told me and my wife about Sabor Espanol, because we wanted something for a night alone and that was different than the usual fare for one night (Ecuadorian food is amazing, so this is in no way a critique of it), and we were so glad we went! It is a short distance away from the busier part of the Malecon, which is quite nice. The owner is very sweet and accommodating, and she went above and beyond to make sure we had a lovely evening. The paella is just as good as everyone says, and the other food is great too! We ordered a jar of sangria and somehow saved room for dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteOreayMaria, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Tyler por tan favorable opiniòn y por dedicarnos vuestro tiempo para ello . Nos alegra enormemente que disfrutarais con nuestra comida y nuestro local ya que es esa nuestra prioridad que os podais sentir como en casa y disfrutar el momento . Serìa un placer para nosotros, volver a recibir vuestra visita en un pròximo viaje a Puerto Lòpez. Cuìdense ... Hasta siempre amigos ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We ate paella with chicken and it was delicious and by far enough. The owner and his wife are great and very friendly and open for a chat. Good music in the background. The restaurant and toilets are very clean. A place to visit absolutely when you are in puerto lopez.

Thank indermitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteOreayMaria, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias indermitt por vuestra tan favorable opiniòn y por el tiempo que nos habeis dedicado para ello . Nos alegramos mucho de que todo os gustara y encontrarais nuestro local còmodo. Esa es nuestra intenciòn que sea como una segunda casa para vosotros que estais lejos .Nos motiva a superarnos màs el saber que nuestras visitas se van felices . Un gusto haberos atendido y esperamos volver a veros en pròximas visitas a Puerto Lòpez . Os deseamos un feliz viaje de retorno y que se le mejore el piè . Hasta siempre amigos .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner of paella and sagria- twice at Sabor Espanol. The chef and wait staff are attentive and dinner was delightful.

Thank ks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteOreayMaria, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias amigos Ks9 por tan alta valoraciòn y dedicarnos vuestro tiempo para ello . Nos alegra que todo fuera tan satisfactorio y de vuestro agrado . Fuè un gusto atender a gente tan amistosa y simpàtica como ustedes, para Sabor Español serà un placer volver a recibir su visita en pròximas visitas a Puerto Lòpez Manabì (Ecuador) . Hasta siempre pareja ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We went to this place while visiting Puerto Lopez last week and ate there on our last night. Wish we had gone before because we would have eaten there several times! The owner greeted us with open arms and kisses and she was just delightful! Service was excellent and the FOOD! Amazing! We had ensalada con atún y huevos followed by Paella con Mariscos. Then we had postres which was crêpes with chocolate for my husband and I had the crema. All of it was fantastic. Look for us on their Facebook page, older couple, we were there Friday, February 23. You can see we are having a great time! We are going back to Puerto Lopez in May this year and can't wait to visit again...several times. You have to try this place.
Maravilloso, los dueños y la comida. No podemos esperar a volver. Una experiencia maravillosa!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coletteandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteOreayMaria, Propietario at Sabor Espanol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchìsimas gracias estimada Colette and Philip por tan favorable opiniòn y por el preciado tiempo que nos habeis dedicado para ello . Nos hace muy felices que regreseis a vuestro Paìs con tan agradable recuerdos y sensaciones . Estaremos muy gustosos volver a recibiros para mayo . Gente con tan buena onda y tan positiva es lo que hace de nuestro trabajo una delicicia . Hasta pronto amigos, y feliz viaje .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We had read previous reviews from trip advisor and decided to try this restaurant. I must totally agree that these are the best burgers in Ecuador. The service was exceptional and the restaurant was absolutely spotless with great decor. We were on Puerto Lopez for 7 days and we ate here for 3 of them. We probably would have eaten there more except we were with a group and could only sneak away on few occasions. A must go to place in Puerto Lopez .

2  Thank debmarkpradine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor Espanol also viewed

Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Been to Sabor Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing