We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time for some grand accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Firstly, a very welcoming greeting, which I think sets the tone of the stay. My wife wanted to upgrade and this was very easily managed. The rooms are small but very cosy and easily warmed. Our bathroom was very quaint but very practical. Downstairs in the foyer is a lovely log fire with all the opulence of the bygone era when this was first built. Breakfast was provided and very comprehensive.
Their position, (between Bridge St and Swan St), lends itself to plenty of opportunities for restaurants, entertainments and shopping.
Thoroughly recommended!!

Room Tip: We chose No 61 for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specializedautoe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

The building is older and the rooms are not super big. However they are comfortable and the heating works well. We booked a room with it's own bathroom which is a little more expensive but this close to the city it is a very affordable night away from home.

Room Tip: If saving money is important book a room without a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank New_South_Woodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Beautiful old historic building approx 150 years old with lovely antique features
like original polished floor boards, fireplaces and mantles. So much history; if
only the walls could talk !
Our stay was comfortable with good quality linen, good ensuite, small room but
all we needed for a one night stay after medical appointments at Epworth which
is close by.
The included breakfast in the dining room is a real bonus with good choices.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and had less traffic noise but the front ones have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We booked here last min the woman was very friendly and accomodating both on the phone and in person. We had a twin room with a shared bathroom which was nice because until this night we had been in hostels! The place was clean and the showers are good. The free breakfast was self serve and really nice! Fruit, porridge, toast, cereal ect and filter coffee :) The dining area/lounge are really cosy and nice to read in with free tea and coffee all day. Washing costs $5 and drying $3. Free parking behind the hotel too. Lovely welcoming staff :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Allyrosa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom – the room was tiny but clean. The hotel is quite dated overall. The bathrooms were freezing as there is absolutely no heating at all – in winter it makes showering quite uncomfortable. It would have also been useful had there been some shelves in the washrooms as there was nowhere to put your things. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection considering it is a budget hotel – definitely the best part of my stay. The location was good – very easy to get to the CBD (by taking a tram or even a simple 30 minute walk). The Myki card rental for travellers was, in my opinion, excellent service from the hotel. No free wifi!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travealddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#145 of 161 in Melbourne
227 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $84 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing