We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend this wonderful B&B”
Review of La Goelette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Goelette
Ranked #2 of 12 Wimereux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We travelled with our two teenagers for a two night stay at this wonderful B&B. We received a warm welcome from the owner Mary who went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Our room on the first floor was called Paresse, it had a spectacular sea view, we loved the decor and the chairs placed to enjoy the beach below, one of which was a chaise longue which felt very indulgent to lie on! Breakfast was delicious: fresh orange juice, a variety of breads, cheeses, fruit, ham, salmon, cereals and more than we could have wished for! A perfect break, we will be back!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights (Only got back yesterday) and couldn't wait to write my review. Where do I start? La Goelette is brilliant on so many levels. The owner, Franck is so attentive and proud of the service he gives. The place is spotless and the breakfast - Oh the breakfast! Not for us the cup of coffee and a croissant! Cereals, assorted breads, many cheeses, cured meats, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, freshly, just pressed orage juice, yoghurts all laid out on a groaning breakfast buffet table waiting for you to choose whatever takes your fancy. Coffee or tea (and Franck knows what his English patrons want in the way of tea) He even has a kettle and tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms. ( I did say he knows his English guest requirements so well) There was also a boiled egg, poached egg on offer but we just couldn't eat anymore. the room we had was up some very steep stairs at the top which would be daunting for anyone with mobility issues but it does warn about this in the information. Also there are other rooms available that don't have this climb. Having said that the bedroom was compact, however very comfortable and the bathroom was a dream. Wimereaux is lovely and if you want mussels go to the JFK restaurant because they serve the best mussels with cream we have ever had. If you are visitng Wimereaux try to go to Franck's. He even insits on fresh towels every day! What a complete treasure.

Room Tip: If you don't mind small and steep stairs choose the upstairs room but there are other rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samtom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stayed at La Goelette many years ago, in the off-tourist season when the wind off la manche was quite chilly and sand blowing along the beach. Nevertheless the person in charge was very friendly and helpful, and our room was warm and comfortable with a great view of lighted ships passing down the channel in the night, and a thoughtfully-prepared breakfast in the morning. Dinner was fresh seafood at a cafe down the boulevard. We think la goelette may have been redecorated and upgraded since our visit, and this review only shows how memorably pleasant our stay was then.

Room Tip: Each room has its own particular charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jameshunt198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We found this little gem on Trip Advisor and were extremely happy with our choice. Mary and Franck were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in La chambre Paresse which overlooked the sea and was a beautiful room. Breakfast was very good and nothing was too much trouble. We loved chatting to Mary and Franck and will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms overlooking the sea. Chambre Paresse was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobertStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

A little gem of a boutique B&B right on the promenade overlooking the sea which made for a very pleasant change from all the busy impersonal hotels that I live out of with work! The owners Mary and Franck are delightful and their English is far far better than our French! 5 rooms, the first night we had one of the doubles overlooking the courtyard which was very comfortable and quiet, the second night, Mary and Franck very kindly let us move to one of their rooms overlooking the sea and yes, our favourite and the one we will book next time. A substantial continental breakfast is provided, no room for lunch and niceties of complimentary wine and water in the room. Parking is not a problem as there is off street parking just around the corner at no charge and plenty of restaurants in Wimereux to enjoy the lovely seafood. A most enjoyable short break 14-16 April Many thanks Mary and Franck. Jo and Alan Rowlands

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Seaview Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimereux hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
759 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
294 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa du Bonheur
Villa du Bonheur
#1 of 12 in Wimereux
86 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Tremail
Villa Tremail
#4 of 12 in Wimereux
82 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Providence
Villa Providence
#5 of 12 in Wimereux
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Goelette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Goelette

Address: 13 Digue de Mer, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wimereux
Price Range: $166 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Goelette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Goelette Wimereux
La Goelette Hotel Wimereux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing