We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Santorini Mansion at Imerovigli(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$434
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$332/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ampelonas Studios & Maisonettes(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Absolute Bliss Imerovigli Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Blue Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$426
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aeolos Studios & Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
US$445
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$754
US$639
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$818
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
US$1,242
US$1,037
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
175
55
35
15
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
55
35
15
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssemi private poolcaldera viewhighest pointsmall hotelwould highly recommend this hotelthe hotel managerthe cliffsenior suitesantorini islanda wonderful staywonderful viewskaros rockour honeymoongreek yogurtweddingterracesunset
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

God view to Oia, but on the other side it is an workingground. The the rooms have poor standard, and pictures we saw don’t show the actual standard.
LOTS of mould in our family room.
The hotel have only one small swimming pool for all guests.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMalteseEstate L, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Maltese Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Mr. Roy,

Thank you for your feedback in our hotel.
It has been highly appreciated.

We would like to take the chance to inform you that our property is currently being refurbished with upgraded rooms and indoor areas.

Besides our main hotel pool, there will also be outdoor hot tubs added in each room with Caldera view.

Kindly note, that the pools in the Island of Santorini cannot be larger due to the cliffs of the island. Therefore, we also have a few accommodation options with shared pools in our property.

Hoping to accommodate you once again in the future to deliver you a unique experience in our premises.

Best regards,
"La Maltese" Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. We had originally booked the La Maltese Estates in Oia but when we checked in here they said that two nights were going to be here, and then rest in Oia. They did upgrade us for Oia though so I can't complain. The restaurant/bar is SUPER expensive but the view is one of the best. It's right near all the shopping and restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMalteseEstate L, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at La Maltese Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Emily,

Thank you for your feedback.
It has been highly appreciated.

We would like to take the chance to inform you that our property is currently being refurbished with upgraded rooms and indoor areas.

Besides our main hotel pool, there will also be outdoor hot tubs added in each room with Caldera view.

Hoping to have you in our premises again in the future to deliver you our services.

“La Maltese” Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Me and my wife together with another couple decided earlier this year to book a trip to Santorini! We spent several days scanning various hotels in Santorini but finally landed on La Maltese which despite a couple of bad reviews nevertheless seemed like one of the better hotels.

I can summarize our stay with a few well-chosen words and that is that I wan warn every person from this hotel, and can’t describe in words how bad this hotel is.


They managed to overbook the hotel, which resulted that we had to change hotel 3 times during our stay in Santorini. Just want to point out that I was in contact with the hotel a week before, aswell booked a taxi through the hotel one day before our arrival and nobody informed us about the problem!

They offered us the money back if we did not accept their proposal for replacement hotels but you all can imagine the chance of finding a hotel in July in Santorini with reasonable pricing.

Perhaps the hotel chooses to respond to this review and therefore also wants to clarify that they offered lunch and dinner for free because of the circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMalteseEstate L, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Maltese Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Mr. Tom,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your experience did not turn out as expected.

At this point, we would like to inform you that our hotel had faced an unexpected situation that day and the guests were not able to check-out from the room on their designated departure date due to a health problem.
Our staff was willing to assist you in the best possible way and therefore, had arranged your stay in a property nearby “La Maltese Estate”.

Hoping to accommodate you in the future and offer you a unique experience.

Kind regards,
"La Maltese" Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel ever and definitely not worth the price!!!
The only thing the hotel has to offer is a great view. It is not a luxury hotel and for sure not a 5 star. 3 stars would probably be too much to ask for.
The rooms are a joke. First we had a room with a semi private pool. We were so excited for a relaxing honeymoon but we didn't even have sun beds or a parasol. The room itself was ok. Big and clean.
We were offered to move to another room for our last night, a junior suite with caldera view. We thought we were gonna get this amazing room but it was everything else than that. It smelled like mold and the stucco in the room fell off everywhere. Very small room with no light.
First we thought it was a nice gesture of the hotel because they knew we weren't satisfied with our stay. We found out that they needed the room with the pool, that was the only reason we were asked to move.
Breakfast was included but was terrible.
It's a a la carte menu but you have to wait for 1 1/2 hours to get you bred. You are never asked if you wanted more coffee, juice or bread. So be aware to plan at least 2 hours for breakfast and you'll probably still be hungry afterwards.
The food itself is ok but the service terrible. For a price like that I would definitely expect more.
I should have read the reviews before. Believe in the bad ones, the good ones are all fake!!!
There is no Spa area with a jacuzzi nor a gym. The hotel advertises all that but nothing is available. There is only one pool, though it's only open from 10 to 6 because there is a new bar at the hotel. They play loud music from the morning until midnight. So definitely not a relaxing holiday more to party. There are for sure better hotels in this area!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chloe_haber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMalteseEstate L, Διευθυντής Πωλήσεων at La Maltese Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Haber,

Thank you for your feedback in our hotel.

It has been highly appreciated.

We are sorry to hear about your unsatisfied room experience which you had selected.
The room upgrade was indeed a kind gesture from our side. Due to the occasion of your
Honeymoon, we offered you a Honeymoon suite which is approximately about the same size with the Superior Double room. We were delighted to offer you the Suite with the view of the Caldera and the famous Santorinian sunset, instead of your initial reserved room, which had inland view.

Kindly note, that in the island of Santorini, pools cannot be larger than the designated size, due to its cliffs.
We would like to inform you that our property is currently being refurbished by upgrading the room interiors and the exteriors by adding hot tubs and creating more private terraces for our guests.

Regarding the breakfast, we would like to apologize for the delay. This is very unusual. Although, we have now extended our staff services and would be happy to have you back with us in the future to offer you a high standard experience.

Hopefully we will have the chance to accommodate you again our premises to get the chance to offer you a high standard service.
For your convenience, we have uploaded some pictures on TripAdvisor of our refurbished hotel areas.


“La Maltese” Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We checked in and were a bit disappointed in the room (floors looked dirty and no phone in the room so extremely inconvenient to walk to the front desk with questions or requests) but as echoed in the other reviews, the views are great and the location is very convenient. I echo the sentiment of some of the other guests that it is very obvious the hotel buts all of its efforts into the Buddha bar. It is definitely the nicest part of the property but it is open to the public and in the evenings, they do not want hotel guests hanging out on the terrace unless you're getting food or drinks.

The health and sanitation issues are extremely alarming. When you turn off the dehumidifier in the bathroom, the bathroom smells like sewage. We had an infestation of fruit flies in the room (I'm talking at least 100 fruit flies swarming around the room over the course of two days before we left the hotel to stay elsewhere). Additionally, when I turned on the bathroom light there was a large cockroach which ran under a decorative tray in the bathroom.

It turns out that decorative tray was covering up some sort of broken seal in the bathroom that leads to sewage. It appears that the hotel is having sewage issues (appears to run on its own septic system) and tried to cover it up and not fix it by putting the decorative tray over the source and then putting in a dehumidifier to cover up the sewage smell. We also discovered that the fruit flies were coming in from all of the drains in the bathroom. We took glass bowls and covered all the drains and sealed them with tape. You could see all the fruit flies coming into the bowls from the drains and also, the glass bowls were covered in condensation so there is a ton of moisture coming into the room from the bathroom drains.

When we informed the hotel, some of the women who work at the hotel started laughing and seemed to think it was funny that we had fruit flies and cockroaches in the room. A gentleman came to the room with a bunch of chemicals and put them into the drains and told us not to go into the bathroom for an hour. But this did not do anything to help the issues and just made our bathroom smell like chemicals. There were no vacant rooms to move us to and the hotel refused to give us a refund (all four nights were already paid for). They did end up moving us to a different hotel which ended up working out fine, but they refused to give us a refund for either of the two nights that we were in the room with the sewage smell and the bugs. I also thought is was extremely poor customer service that they refused to give us a refund for the nights we were not going to stay there if we left the hotel. The only option they gave us was to stay in a hotel of their choosing in a different town. No refund, no option to get our money back and stay at whatever hotel we wanted to. At nearly $500 a night this is pretty unacceptable -- horrible customer service and would never happen in the US. The manager also insisted that if the exterminator came in, the whole thing would be fixed in 15 minutes and we could stay in the room. He didn't seem to understand that this is not an issue that can be fixed in 15 minutes -- this is an issue with their sanitation and septic system which needs to be re-worked.

Anita is great though -- such a lovely woman and she really should be in charge of the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMalteseEstate L, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at La Maltese Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Darah,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

Kindly note, that all our hotel rooms include a phone device where you can call the reception or make external calls.

Our restaurant is open for both hotel guests and public, as the concept of the Buddha bar restaurants worldwide is.

Therefore because of the morphology and the architecture of the Caldera, the Buddha bar beach santorini has bigger space on its decks which consists of dining tables and loungers and bit more limited space by the bar.

The tables and the loungers usually are booked for dinner’s reservations but still the bar area is always available to accommodate the hotel’s residents or island’s visitors who wants to enjoy an amazing cocktail along with the magnificent views of the famous Santorinian sunset.

Due to the fact that the restaurant area is full of tables for dining and the bar has a limited number of seats, guests that are enjoying their meal or cocktails may be seated.

Therefore, we are not able to have guests standing between the tables.

Kindly note, that the due to the humid climate of the island, the buildings become humid all year round. Therefore, we keep the dehumidifiers to all rooms and areas for this specific reason.

Our hotel goes through pest control several times during its operating times and especially during the summertime. If the door of your room had remained open at some point, this could have had probably entered from the outside.

Since our hotel was fully booked, we arranged your stay in a different property with no extra cost. The reason why we could not offer you a refund, was in order to offer you a room in another property with higher rate (due to the high season) and the difference was covered by the hotel.

At this point, we would like to inform you that our hotel is currently being totally renovated and refurbished. In addition, there will be hot outdoor tubs added on each room with Caldera view.

Hoping to have you as our customers again in the future, to deliver you a high standard service and make your stay memorable.


“La Maltese” Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews