We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Altamadores
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bahia Blanca(Puerto Rico)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Miami Gran Canaria(Puerto Rico)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
US$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sunshine Villas(Puerto Rico)
US$365
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
487
285
123
47
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
285
123
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicepoolside quizkiller poolgreat holidayamadores beachpool areachris mooneybasket ballastro turfcash bingobbq nightwater poloeuropa centrechinese nightsteep hilljunior suitewizard of oz
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2015

As with all holidays and hotels, whether or not you're happy really depends on what you're looking for. In a nutshell, if what you are looking for is a relaxed, family or couples-friendly holiday within a clean hotel which serves decent food and provides good entertainment, then the Altamadores is for you. Some more detail:

Location: The hotel is situated half-way up a hill from the Amadores beach. It takes approx 15-20 minutes to walk to/ from but is also 2-3 euros in a taxi. Taxis are easy to get - just ask reception to call one and for returning there are conveniently placed and easily identifiable taxi ranks. There are also a few bus stops located around which provide cheap, air-conditioned ways of travelling.
The location of the hotel means you get the sun from first thing in the morning till late at night (earlier and later than most people would want to sunbathe so never a problem)

Pool Area: PROS - Very clean and tidy. No glass is allowed when lying on the sun loungers or around the pool area. This rule is also politely enforced which is great and keeps everyone (especially the children) safe. The fake grass effect which was added a couple of years ago is not only non-slip but also more aesthetically pleasing than bare slabs. It makes lying by the pool all the more relaxing. There is also a gym on site - it's pretty basic but will keep you ticking over till you get home (if you can't go a week without it)
CONS - The lifeguard seemed to pick and choose when he wanted certain rules followed. There was a sign up indicating what is/ is not allowed at the pool e.g. Adults should accompany small children but inflatables were not allowed. Most of the time the pool was full of inflatables and unaccompanied children. I personally don't have a problem with this but it lead to some confusion for some guests e.g. some people were being told not to play with balls in the pool while others were allowed. Some children were being cautioned for jumping in the pool while others were not. Just a bit inconsistent. Other than this he was, at best, disinterested.

Room: My other half is pregnant so we requested a specific room. It was a room we had stayed in before and knew would be easy for her to access. I requested this by email prior to going and, although there was no reply, we were given the room we wanted. The room was cleaned and tidied 5 out of the 7 days with no issues. In fact, the domestic staff seemed to carry out their role completely in the background meaning the results were enjoyed with no inconvenience.

Food/ Drink: The food is not the same quality you get in restaurants back home. But it's definitely above average and definitely varied enough that you can find something every night. The drink is self-service and also very varied - spirits, beers, cocktails, wines, soft-drinks, water, slushes. The bar is open from 11 - 11 and, although would be very easy to abuse in terms of measures, no one did this. A great system! The staff in this area are great too. There is always plenty of food and your plates are cleared when you are finished. The staff are always friendly and smiling despite working in a sector where long shifts are required and you're constantly surrounded by people on their holidays - not an easy environment to remain as positive as they appear to!

Entertainment: Most reviews highlight Jamie G's role in the provision of entertainment. He deserves to be named for this. He is without doubt, the best at carrying out his role I've seen. He has a schedule of entertainment which is visible throughout the hotel to help you plan your stay. He also places no pressure on anyone to stay for the shows or to get involved in any pool-side games. In the past i've been places where you almost feel guilty for leaving and the entertainment manager basically begs you like his life was on the line. Jamie adopts the perfect approach of informing you about what is happening and then basically leaves it up to you. To be honest the majority of the evening entertainment is simply unmissable. Particular highlights: Chris Mooney and his rock night, Perezoff which is circus style entertainment and is amazing and completely insane! Most nights there is also cash bingo (5 euros for a strip of 6 and the 2nd game is buy one get one free) The shows are usually followed by karaoke (again, no pressure. Just get involved if you want to otherwise sit back and watch) - Jamie usually starts it off. He is brilliant and totally humble about it. He belted out a version of Run Rig's 'Loch Lomond' that gave me goosebumps then just moved on to something else as if was an everyday occurrence! During the day there are pool side games designed for people of all ages and fitness e.g. pool, darts, basketball (shooting rather than playing), football, water polo and quizzes. The quizzes are really fun and frustrating in equal measure. Jamie also appears to have a photographic memory - he can "easily" recall the dates that songs were released, what number they reached in the charts and, even more impressive, EVERY no.1 Xmas song!! A friendly guy who makes what must be a really difficult job look completely natural and effortless.

Overall, another great stay, and, like most people, we will definitely return. Thanks to all the hard-working staff who made it so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judgemental_Jedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianSMP, Trainee at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Hello Judgemental_Jedi, thank you for your comment.

Your opinion is great because it have come details that help us to improve,so we want to thank you for your stay here and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We went with friends for a week, they stayed on for a second week. The room was a junior suite as we'd upgraded, very nice very comfortable, quiet and convenient to the amenities.

Food was good and plentiful, but quite quickly got a bit boring. Theme nights helped but weren't always brilliant. Unlimited unbranded drinks. I got used to the red wine and stuck with that the boss stuck to the white.

Not much between meals - but that was probably a good thing.

Very steep walk down to the harbour, maybe 10 minutes. Taxi back is a good idea and was about 3 euro. You can walk from the local harbour round the headland to Puerto Rico Harbour, about another 15-20 minutes, fairly similar but you can get the glass bottom ferry from Puerto Rico to a few more places including Mogan - which is very nice. We visited Mogan by bus on Friday for market day. Very nice but very crowded.

Advertises suites as cleaned 7 times a week. I guess ours were cleaned maybe 4 times, not a problem and we didn't bother to query it.

Entertainment was a bit hit and miss. Jaimie wasn't there a few of the days and some things didn't happen. For example the daily quiz only happened three times the week we were there. There was a soul singer who was pretty good. Wizard of Oz was a bit weird but OK, other people's kids seemed to like it. Reptile show didn't do it for me.

Nice "Club" area above our suites, sunbeds and a fridge. Pool area was a little crowded and pool itself sometimes overrun with inflatables and kids.

Enjoyed a week. Glad I didn't do a fortnight, don't think I'd go here, or somewhere similar, as a couple - but did have a good laugh with friends.

Not much else near the hotel, my favourite walk was up the hill toward "Serenity" as far as you can on the road and then walk off road round the private villas and at the end you get a great view over the harbour. Take care though, no railings or fences and some sheer drops.

You can also walk to the Europa Centre - but wasn't really what we were looking for. Bars and restaurants but a bit tacky.

Room Tip: Junior Suites further from the dining rooms had better balconies with sun loungers
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianSMP, Trainee at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hello Doug B, thank you for your opinion.

We are very grateful for your stay here and your extensive opinion, we hope that you have enjoyed of our hotel, see you soon!
Kind regards!
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

just got bk from another 2wk at he altamadores 1/09/2015 to 15/09/15 this was our 3rd year on the trot an already booked for 3wk nxt year . Me and Sue would like to thank Manolo and all his staff ,cooks, and amazing jamie g for a fantastic holiday every body is so friendly and will go out of their way to help every body in anyway they can so thank you... right jamie g what can i say you are the life and sole at altamadores with what you do to keep us all entertained with all the activites you do killer pool, basketball, water polo, adults verses kids aswell, pool quizes , and for all agers aswell , then you start all again at night time with games night , quiz night ,karaoke ect and thats why we keep coming back so keep up the good work anjoy rest of ya summer and we will see 21june 2016 thank you steve & suse

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank celtic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianSMP, Trainee at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hello celtic0, thank you for you opinion.

We will transmit your congratulations to Altamadores staff, it's a pleasure for us and we wait your visit again.
Best regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I booked this hotel on an all inclusive basis and couldn't wait to get their to start my holiday! Once arriving to the hotel I was told that they had over booked and had no rooms available! we were moved to another hotel which was horrendous, it was a star less that this hotel, food was horrible! we ate out most evenings! drinks were of poor quality. The overall experience was not good, My advise would be don't book!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianSMP, Trainee at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hello Louise T, thank you for your comment.

We want to apologize for your bad experience, we hope that you come back and that we will be able to offer you the best service.
Kind regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in early September and had an amazing time! We had Junior Suite 105 and was well worth paying extra for the air con and wifi. The room was spotless and cleaned very well everyday. We had a lovely terrace with sun loungers and an amazing view over the sea.
The all inclusive food and drinks were good - huge selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the quality was okay. BBQ night was the best theme night! We enjoyed the help yourself bar, always stocked up with plenty of wine, sangria, beers, spirits and even cocktails.
Jamie G was excellent and always friendly, we played bingo twice and won both times! €120 jackpot!
Pool area was lovely with plenty of sun loungers, not once were they all full.
I cannot fault the staff at all - the receptionists were always happy to help and very friendly, as well as the restaurant staff and cleaners. Out of all the restaurants we ate at outside of the hotel, I have to say the staff in the hotel restaurant were the best! By the time you'd gone up to get desert and come back, they'd cleared your last plates!
The hotel is an easy 15-20 minute walk down to the beach (which is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen!) and there are always taxis available to take you back up the hill for only €3.
The only negatives about the whole week were that the bathroom door didn't stay shut and the shower door leaked water out the bottom, but no major issues at all.
Overall we had an amazing first holiday away together at Altamadores and highly recommend it to anyone. Make sure you walk up the hill to the end of the road where there's an amazing viewpoint right on top of the mountain where we watched the sunset.

Thank you to all the staff at Altamadores who made our week unforgettable, I'm sure we will be back :)

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emma0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristianSMP, Trainee at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hello Emma0897, thank you for your comment.

We want to thank you for your good words, we work for that and we hope to continue to improve, see you soon!
Kind regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews