We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant great views”

The Square At Porthleven
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Had heard that porthlevan was a culinary centre so came to try the food at "the square" and was not disappointed. Food was tasty and the staff were friendly. Cost was also reasonable. There was even food that our kids (12 and 15 yo) liked which is a minor miracle!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Following a poor impression at Amelie's restaurant, what a wonderful change led by friendly service that found us a table outside on a very busy evening. The setting is fantastic but the food was even better, the menu would seem to change on a nightly basis and we enjoyed the hake and monkfish dishes immensely. The children were also well catered for and our 2 year old enjoyed her pasta which was fresh and full of veg.

A very enjoyable evening and will recommend to all our friends.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank mc2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We sat outside to eat what a lovely setting,tried to eat elsewhere and couldn't get a table we ate at the square as second choice and was so glad we did this place is not to be considered as second to any place in porthole end very good food,excellent steaks and brilliant belly pork.we will be back again next time with more people to show what an excellent place this is a total little gem

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

The food here was ok, but disappointing compared to other places we've been to locally. The fact they kept the dog bowl with the blankets for keeping warm was a bit alarming I thought!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Kung fu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Called in a couple of times. Sat outside once which was comfortable but inside we found the acoustics to be loud. Teas and coffees OK. Staff at 14.00 when lunch was closing were very busy and diffcult to attract.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square At Porthleven also viewed

Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Square At Porthleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing