We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
91
141
87
48
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
141
87
48
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white hart lovely village listed building oak beams original features full english bridal suite the pub one night stay an evening meal large room night's sleep breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast lovely room car park yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Only an overnight stay but didn't get a great feeling about the place.

Room was OK but window looked out on a wall (one yard away) and the electric blind on the roof light did not work. It is an interesting place though, so should we accept this rather than have a standard Travelodge or Premier Inn experience?

So back to the "enthusiastic amateurs" title? Need to sharpen up their act (or is there no alternative?) OK but expect better for the money really.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook smoking areas. Avoid when weather is warm and windows open!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T4576EZjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo B, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback

We hope to welcome you again in the future and your guest journey is more positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Just got back from our second 2 night stay at this hotel. This time we chose to stay in a larger room (room 19) and it was well worth the extra. Lovely big sash windows which were very welcome on these unusually hot summer nights. We had a meal on both nights and the service was excellent. My only disappointment was that the Fish Mixed Grill which I enjoyed so much last time was no longer on the menu - but the meals we did have were very good - my wife particularly enjoyed the 3 cheese Mac'n'Cheese!. As always the breakfast was very good and plentiful. We have already talked to the staff about staying again in about 6 weeks.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo B, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for your fantastic positive feedback.

We look forward to your next trip.

regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

This is one of the best Old English hotels we have stayed in. The hotel is a listed building and is therefore quirky, which adds to the charm. The room was very comfortable which had all the usual things - hairdryer, large TV, iron, kettle, etc. The breakfast was excellent as was the meal we had in the evening. Credit must go to the manager and ALL the staff who made us feel very welcome. It's a great location and Coggeshall is a lovely village.

The only problem we had was that the toilet didn't work efficiently; if you didn't flush it at the first attempt it then took about 1/2 hour to re-fill. Also, the control for the shower was not user friendly - it was very difficult to turn it on and off.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank billt217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo B, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi

thank you very much for your excellent feedback, it was a pleasure to meet you both.

the water issues have now been resolved, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Stayed here as a single traveller and was made to feel welcome and valued by all the staff who were friendly & helpful. Breakfasts were generous and menu varied.
The room was generously sized and bright , cleaned and serviced well each day,
Toiletries, hairdryer, iron/board, kettle, tea, coffee and hot chocolate all provided.
Comfortable bed & linens. Bathroom large with shower over bath.
A very pleasant stay in Coggeshall and handy for local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo B, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your excellent review.

I will pass your comments on to the team.

we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We stayed just one night but felt very welcome and we were well looked after by Helen we came home feeling as if we had been away on holiday . Would definitely go again. Rod were comfortable and clean. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfiske2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo B, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your fantastic feed back.

we look forward to welcoming you again.

regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews