We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of The Sithean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sithean
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This is a first rate B&B with quietly attentive and considerate hosts. A beautiful bungalow in a superb, quiet location overlooking Loch Carron. Spacious, immaculately clean bedroom and en suite. Delightful guest sitting room with magnificent views over the Loch and the mountains beyond. Very conveniently situated for the Isle of Sky and Torridon. Excellent breakfast. Of the ten places we stayed in on our recent tour of Scotland this was undoubtedly the best of the best. Thank you Lorna and Ken for a wonderful stay. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Both rooms have good views - garden or loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I agree with almost everything that people say about this place, with the one exception and that was the welcome and the hosting in general, which could have been better. I'm not sure if this was down to the fact that we turned up at around 1.30pm or the fact that possibly the owner didn't approve of our not being married.

You cannot fault the property, in fact this was the only place where there were proper ceramic tiles in the bathroom. The bed was big and comfortable and there was oodles of storage space.

Breakfast was cooked to order and the rate was very reasonable, but we just felt that we were imposing on them.

Shame as i would have liked to have given five stars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendo65, Owner at The Sithean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Sithean, we are disappointed that you felt the welcome to be less than expected, certainly you did arrive earlier than we would normally expect without a prior arrangement given that we need time to service the rooms after previous guests have checked out, however I believe you were welcomed to our home courteously and shown immediately to your room which fortunately was ready. As to your further comment, we have no means by which we could possibly ascertain your relationship to your companion and have absolutely no interest in your marital status, we welcome all who choose to stay in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

A modern house overlooking Loch Carron with 3 bedrooms to rent. Immaculately clean with good sized rooms and attractive bathrooms and comfortable beds. There is also a small lounge for the use of guests with great views over the loch. Breakfast was from a good menu which included the B & B owner's nemesis eggs Benedict if you wanted and was excellent, including a buffet of cereals and fruit salad and juices. It was the small things that made this B & B excellent like wine glasses provided in the bedroom if you wanted to bring back a bottle of wine; being greeted with a pot of tea and scone with jam and cream; a fridge in the bedrooms and coffee and tea provided in the rooms. Very friendly hosts. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Doing the NC500 we have stayed in many B&B's along the route so feel able to state that this is 5*. The location is fantastic overlooking Lochcarron. The accommodation is of an excellent standard as is the food. Not only do you have a bedroom, but a guests lounge with ever changing views from a picture window overlooking a wonderful garden. There is adequate parking off the road and the owner was extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MuncherJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We travelled to Lochcarron at the start of our NC500 trip. The Sithean was perfect for our stay in every way. We were able to park at the back of the house and were met by Lorna who showed us to our room. Our room was extremely comfortable, well furnished, spotlessly clean and had a fantastic view over the Loch. The ensuite shower room was very modern, also spotlessly clean and had a great mixer shower. Toiletries were supplied.
Lorna served us tea and scones in the guest lounge, much appreciated.
Breakfast was served in the dining room, again with super views and included fresh fruit, cereal, selection of freshly cooked items, toast and ample tea or coffee.
Free wifi in all areas.
I would recommend you stay here if visiting the area.

Room Tip: The front facing room had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sithean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sithean

Address: West Lochcarron, Lochcarron IV54 8YH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range: $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with fully equipped en-suite guest bedrooms, rooms and guest lounge/TV lounge overlooking panoramic mountain and sea views in the heart of the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing