We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unclean”

Windermere Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanhope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windermere Cottages
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We checked into the Windermere in a nice and timely manner and then directed to our cottage. The rooms are small but they do offer the comforts of home. The downfall was the toast crumbs on top of the fridge along with a bread clip and the floor doesn't look like its benn swept in weeks including a 12" spider web in the corner full of dead bugs. When we contacted the manager, she snottily replied that she had cleaned the cottage yesterday and didn't know what we were talking about. Also something to keep in mind- there is no hot water in the kitchen or bathroom sinks, only in the shower. We swept the floor, cleaned the dishes, and hope to enjoy the rest of the week but t certainly is not worth the cost. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceanfloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very nice view, swings for kids. Rooms are very basic, small, very little furniture and very dated. We opened the windows during the night to get a breeze as there was only a fan in the front room. Signs everywhere in the cottage warning you to clean up after yourself etc. Especially emphatic that you absolutely must be out of the cottage by 10 a.m. However, there is a BBQ and a picnic table. The beach is very nice, but about a 10 minute walk away.
We paid $150 for one night, which seemed very expensive for such a basic place. There are other cottages on the same street which I would check if we stay in this area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MV58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The place was nice, close to the beach. Cottage was clean and big and nice. However the lady who runs this place was extremely rude and was crazy and annoying...... would never book here again. Also I am warning anyone who goes here to take pictures before they leave because she charges everyone 210$ for cleaning... We threatened to take her to court and she gave us our money back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The one bedroom cottage we stayed in was clean, comfortable and contained all we needed. It was rustic and in need of some updating but that didn't detract from our having a great time there. Upon arrival we were greeted with a plate of freshly baked cinnamon rolls that were the best I've ever had! There were about 12 cottages, most with oceanview. From ours, you could see and always hear the gentle sounds of the ocean. A lovely beach was just across the road.

There was a play area for kids and another where we played volleyball and badminton games. The manager, Pauline, was always available and was very helpful. There were lots of restaurants in the area and we were a short drive to many of the attractions in PEI. Travelling with teenagers can be challenging however we all had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage with direct oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Windermere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Cottages

Address: 162 Ross Lane, Stanhope, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Stanhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Stanhope
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing