We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jacoway Inn(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$138
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Calibishie Sandbar(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mainroad Suite(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
21
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is a very nice apartment. Trevor is very warm and welcoming and the apartment was very clean. My only complaint was with the weather. It rained the whole day we were there and we didn't have a chance to see the beaches or other sights of Calabishie.

The apartment is a nice size with a huge shower. The water pressure was a bit weak but I didn't mind too much. The TV is small and we didn't get any channels but there were some DVD's that they had left for us to watch, so that was nice.

We were on the top floor with a big balcony and excellent view but when it rains it gets very loud. As I said, it rained all day so this was disappointing but otherwise you aren't really traveling to Dominica to sit in your hotel room.

Calabishie is a bit far from the action but it is definitely worth checking out. Driving in Dominica is not very nice and you will probably need a car if you are staying here. It is definitely worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We booked the first floor room which is quite nice and has a very good view --- but we lucked out and the people who had booked the upstairs room couldn't make it, so we got to stay there instead. The view from the balcony is amazing . . . absolutely gorgeous.
Either room is clean and well-decorated, a lovely place to stay, but book the upstairs room if you can.
And there is a beautiful beach just a ten minute walk from the lodge.
Trevor is also very helpful if you are looking for a place to eat or sunbathe or hike, and he was kind enough to give us a ride to the airport so we wouldn't have to hire a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We absolutly loved time at Bay View Lodges. We stayed here for 2-3 nights in Calibishie. Trevor and his two children are amazing hosts...so friendly and full of knowledge of the area. They made us feel right at home. The unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom apartment with an amazing balcony looking over the Bay. If it isn't booked, make sure to ask for the upper unit. However they are currently expanding so there will be more units available in the future.

We would buy groceries and eat our breakfast every morning enjoying the view out on the balcony or a drink at night. We had great dinners out at local restaurants in the evening and bathed in the sun at local beaches.

We had spend the first few days of our trip in the southern part of the island where we were very active, which you should definetly not miss. However this was a great place to spend our last couple of days to just relax.

This was our best Caribean trip ever! First of all...choose Dominica for your next trip. The scenery is beautiful, and you will never run out of things to see and do, and most importantly the people are very friendly. However if you are looking to just lazy around on a beach the whole time drinking pina colodas, this probably isn't the trip for you. There is so much to see that you want to be active while you are there.

I recommend renting a car, which is what we did. We rented a car from Road Runner Car rental. The price was good and they meet you at the airport when you get there and when you are leaving. It was really nice to have a car because we could explore the island at our own pace and see and do exacly what we were interested in. However driving there can be scary at times, the drivers can be agressive and the roads are whinding and narrow.
While you are in Dominica, be sure to check out Boiling Lake, Scott's Head (village and snorkelling), Victoria Falls, Wavine Cyrique (if you are fit and not afraid of heights), Red rocks and beaches in Calibishie
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinElizabethToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Our stay at Bay View and on Dominica was awesome. I'd wanted to travel to Dominica for many years, I've been to Trinidad, Tobago, Grenada, Puerto Rico and had long desired a stay on Dominica. I was not disappointed. It was difficult to decide where to stay and after a fair amount of research we chose Bay View and were so happy we did. There are other more pricey options in the Calibishie area and some not so pricey but after having been there, this is definitely the best! The unit was lovely, the view of the bay from the balcony was incredible - we did see the full moon! Trevor, the owner was incredibly helpful and friendly and made us so feel at home. The area is a good 'home' base for touring the island.

And tour it we did, by taxi, by local bus, on foot. There is much within walking distance of the lodge but if you walk to dinner in town or Red Rock, be sure to bring a flashlight and keep in mind there are no shoulders on the room. The walk in the dark could be intimidating with the cars. Found the local mini-buses really easy to use and very inexpensive.

I highly recommend Dominica and Bay View Lodges. I hope life gives me the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

An extraordinarily clean, well built, and amenity-filled lodge. Private and quiet. Great owner who lives right next door. Huge, tiled showers with plenty of hot water. View to die for. We've traveled all over the world and this is one of the best values we've come across. Ask for Jose to take you to Boiling Lake. It's a hump, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrett1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews