We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional. As always. ”
Review of Bistro Thierry

Bistro Thierry
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Toorak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the ambience of a night in a buzzing French bistro in Melbourne without the jet lag. We aim to make your experience completely enjoyable.
Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

It has been such a long time since we were last at Bistro Thierry. We were not disappointed. Everything was exceptional. Service. Ambience. Food. All faultless. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank abbiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return. Au revoir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2021

It is approx 12 months since we have been able to dine at this restaurant. As always it was worth the wait - the food was brilliant, the service great with a smile and the overall atmosphere was wonderful as we expected. It is not cheap but is designed for fine dining and is exactly that. My wife and I went for my 75th birthday and cannot - except eating in Paris - imagine celebrating anywhere else

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Thank you for the positive feedback, it is a delight to have customers like yourself in the restaurant. We are looking forward to having you back soon. Merci beaucoup!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We recently had dinner at Bistro Thierry, and were lucky enough to be seated in the front window. The resturant serves classic French bistro dishes, well cooked and delicious, at quite high prices. Service was faultless and our waitress didn't try to oversell - when asked if we needed a side when we ordered our mains she said we wouldn't, and she was right.
The entree charcuterie plate, which we shared, was really, really good, but again you would expect it to be at $37.50
One criticism is that the short menu is quite steak heavy - aside from the specials there are three steak dishes, beef bourgignon, one duck dish, one chicken dish, one fish dish and a vegtarian dish. But you can see the menu online and not choose to go if there doesn't seem enough variety.
One thing was that the restaurant was quite full and we wondered how it complied with COVID space arrangements currently in force.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rdk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

On behalf of the BT team thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

Normally go for their lunch deal over the years so not really familaiar with their pre covid prices. Absoloutely faultless food and service so cant make anything other than positive comments about that.
We did find it rather expensive for lunch $365 for 4 people, only 1 bottle of cheapest wine and only 2 desserts.
If you are happy to pay you wont be disappointed

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

On behalf of the BT team thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

Consistently sensational. An institution, and for good reason. Food is faultless. Service is attentive but not insistent. Two thumbs up, please and thank you.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank NicoMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BistroThierry, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

On behalf of the BT team thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Thierry also viewed

South Yarra, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Bistro Thierry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.