We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location - first class service”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2017

After a longer than expected journey from Picton, Andrew couldn't have been more welcoming. Chalet 10, a genuine purpose built individual chalet, with spa pool was exceptional, beautiful views, very well equipped... a perfect location to enjoy the Hanmer Springs pools...just a 10 minute walk away. Thank you so much for making us so welcome....the early morning papers and bottle of milk were a special touch.

Room Tip: No 10 has a beautiful spa bath, but each of the chalets looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulofNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Wonderful and accommodating hosts, lovely separately built chalets in spacious grounds, beautifully tidy rooms and clean. Easy walk to village. Excellent for a group stay or space to breathe when travelling :) :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank HAPDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay! We stayed in chalet #6 and it was wonderful, very clean, tidy and had everything we needed! Lots of space inside and outside for our family. Kids enjoyed spending time outside after long travels and staying in different motels. It was also very private and walking distance to the town centre and the pools! Very welcoming hosts too. Glad we found such a nice place to stay for our next visit! Definitely will be back!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yulia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The Chalets are tucked away on a hillside and each one is very private.
Our hosts were welcoming and happy to help with any queries.
Our chalet was self contained, a full sized stove, seperate bedroom, and lots of room in the lounge. It was in immaculate condition.
We had our own little lawn and our own clothesline. The laundry is in another building.
It's a short walk into town, no problem for younger people but we did need to take the car.
I highly recommend this motel. We were sorry to only have one night here. Could have stayed longer.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank merinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed in Cabin 5 for two nights. Every amenity was provided yet the tranquility of a back country hut was also provided. 3 minute drive into the main town centre or a leisurely 10 minute walk. The cabin was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and pillows. Wi Fi was good. Loved sitting on the balcony and taking in the breathtaking mountain views. As we were a bit nervous after the recent earthquake as to whether or not to cancel our accommodation, our host Andrew kept us assured and up-to-date by email. There was no damage to this property nor did we experience any aftershocks with our stay there. We recommend a visit to the Thermal Springs and the woodland walk to the Conical Hill Lookout for sweeping panorama views.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
0.5 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
772 reviews
1.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
315 reviews
0.8 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
1.7 km away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $143 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing