We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CBA Hotel(Tanga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
7
25
21
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
25
21
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvervet monkeysyacht clubper nightbig green gardennon residentsnice breezebayseaground
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Back at Mkonge hotel after some years was a great disappointment. Last time we enjoyed our stay immensely. This time there was a lot to be wanted.
The room had a strong unpleasant smell like old socks. The ac barely cooled the room to a comfortable temperature. Towels and bedsheets were worn and in one bed in our twin room they were not even clean.
The pool had yellowish murky water.
I say all this with sadness as the old colonial style main building set in a big green garden has such great potential. The dining area with a terrace has a nice breeze from the sea and a spectacular view over the harbour inlet where big ships lay anchored.
The restaurant offers European, Indian and Chinese dishes. They are delicious, but be prepared to wait a long time.
My hope is that we just had bad luck to get the worst maintained room, because I want this to be a nice place at a midrange price. I give it the rating I do because the building, garden, view and their food is worth a visit.
Please, someone, bring this great place back to its former glory!

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Jan-Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We went here for an evening meal. And to be honest, it was the worst indian meal we have ever had and would never want to eat here again. There was no taste in any of the dishes we had ordered and not value for money at all. The mosquitoes were terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

good location and very nice view, people are nice and serve you well, i enjoyed the the place and the view, juice is very nice, price is fair, booking 50 $ per night, from there you can move around the city

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank MOHAMED O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The setting of the Mkonge is beautiful. However from the moment of arrival the service was unfriendly (apart from the room maid who was most friendly and accommodating). The rooms are adequate but the bathrooms dated.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The location is lovely and so is the view over Tanga bay. However, that’s where the good news stops. Other than the lady who cleaned our room the staff were very unfriendly, particularly the two ladies at reception were downright rude. The rooms are outdated and the bathrooms are in dire need to renovation. The fruit at breakfast was very good but the rest on offer was poor. The manager never greeted any of the guests or made eye contact. Security was also an issue. One day we returned to the hotel to find all the keys to the rooms inserted outside the rooms so that anybody could have entered at any time. In addition, on two consecutive evenings we saw the two security guards outside the entrance of the hotel fast asleep when we returned shortly after 9pm. This hotel has a great deal of potential and would greatly benefit from some renovations and a change of management.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zortean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews