We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best Scuba diving experience in Konkan Area, not only in Tarkali

We had visiting in first week of this January, with my family of three members. Though as per their... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2020
explore_n_enjoy
,
Navi Mumbai, India
One and only one place to go SCUBA diving with in Tarkarli !

Indian Institute of Scuba Diving & Aquatic Sports or IISDA is the only decent place with whom one... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2020
Aryan2007
,
Mumbai, India
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
23
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool amazing experience scuba diving speed boat per person tarkarli beach skills training video cum safety trainers mtdc thrilling andaman sea approx
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We had visiting in first week of this January, with my family of three members. Though as per their routine they provide training through video and Swimming pool on the first day in second half and arrange scuba diving next day in first half, in our case they arranged both the activities on same day,as we had very limited time and peoples were extremely cooperative.
Video was about 20 minutes, which demonstrated basic skills required for scuba diving. At the beginning, we had to fill the prescribed form, which had many clauses and declaration regarding sound health with details.
Main training was in Pool, after which all these skills were tested in the 25ft deep part of the same pool.
If a person is not comfortable in 25ft pool, they do not go for scuba diving in sea. Charges were 3500 +tax per person. On the top of it, they provided 10% discount, being more than 02 person in the group.
For reaching scuba diving point in the sea, 18 km travel by Speed boat is required, which is equally amazing experience and Full PAISA VASOOL.
After one hour thrilling journey, we reached at the point, where approx 1 hour activity was made, which was an unique experience. Water was clean and sea life was visible very clearly.
Guide cum trainer cum mentors were very helpful and caring.
This institute belongs to MTDC and there is stay arrangement also, which we availed. Room was good and rates were reasonable @ 3000 plus taxes.
With stay at this place, apart from doing scuba diving, we enjoyed Tarkarli Beach also, as it is situated at the beach only, away from crown.
Wonderful experience on each part.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank explore_n_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Indian Institute of Scuba Diving & Aquatic Sports or IISDA is the only decent place with whom one should go SCUBA diving with. They are thorough professionals in approach. Costing is nearly 4-5 times the other ones available locally, however, the quality and safety of IISDA is unparalleled. We hade recently done SCUBA diving at Havelock islands in Andaman and this experience was almost on par with them. The divers are qualifies PADI SSI and the ratio is also 1:1 to each person. Theplace they took us for the actual dive is exclusively reserved only for IISDA and hence was pristine and not crowded. Saw a lot of fish, even though water is not that clear. The practice swimming pool is almost 2 floors deep on the terrace and was a good place to practice before the actual dive !!

Strongly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank Aryan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

We went on last weekend for specially scuba diving, had amazing experience of inside water world. For scuba diving, you need take breathing inside of your body / outside of your body slowly slowly. Don't be panic inside of the water. Be clam and enjoy beautiful water world.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Namastemumbai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Six of us went diving with the IISDA team. Five us are certified Open Water and one doing the Discovery Dive. The IISDA facility at Tarakali is very good with a huge swimming pool with varying depths. They also have good equipment and wet suits. The team is always open for divers to try out masks and wet suits the previous day itself. There are 4 dive masters and many experienced divers as a part of the team.

For the Discovery Dive they scheduled a two hour session the previous day and did some skills in their pool. They also did a pool session for one my friends who had not dived in over 6 months.

We dived at two locations Fansa Tarkali and Classroom which is a 1.5 hour boat ride. The visibility was low (4 meters) at Fansa Tarkali but the marine life is well preserved since no other dive school in Tarakali is allowed to dive at these locations. The maximum depth is about 12 meters. The visibility is Classroom was about 8 meters and the depth is about 7-8 meters. The marine life is very good. Saw lots of barracudas, puffer fish, parrotfish, damselfish, butterfly fish, angel fish etc.

A big thank you Govind, Nupur, Vivan, Shyam, Harshali and the rest of the team for being patient and helpful through out the diving experience. Their focus on safety and comfort is tremendous. The dive master to diver ratio is either 1:2 or 1:1.

Anyone who wants to go diving in Tarkali these are the guys who you should dive with these guys. You will love it.

Date of experience: March 2018
5  Thank Sudipto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Guys this is a place where you need to visit if you look at learning basic Scuba diving lesson and then move onto Advance Skills.

Tarkarli has really become the beach destination and also the Scuba destination of Maharashtra & India. You will find a lot scuba diving offers in Tarkarli but they just take you without teaching you any skills and it can be dangerous. In diving paralence it is call “Tea Bag” diving.

At IISDA they take you through the basic skill of diving in their own pool and then to the open waters. We took the Discover Scuba Diving lessons. The instructors are really good and passionate about teaching the skills. They allow you to take your time to learn as it is paramount to understand the signals and skills.

IISDA provides you all the gear and knowledge before you start the course. The gear is a bit worn out due to multiple usage.

Then comes the open seawater diving. Its a bit scary as they take you for a 1 hr boat ride into middle of the Arabian sea and then make you dive. The underwater world is really fascinating. You might have seen things on NatGeo or Discovery channels but to experience it first hand is a real deal.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank imsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews