We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Geiranger Fjord
from US$351.19
More Info
from US$856.38
More Info
Reviews (3,062)
Filter reviews
3,062 results
Traveller rating
2,617
341
72
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,617
341
72
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise ship car ferry spectacular views fjord town norway mountains bend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 3,062 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

We loved this place. We took a kayaking tour and it was magic: the views are great, the waiter colours very vibrant.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Liaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Have passed by the Geiranger fjord many times and this time was no exception: it is beautifull! We came via the Ørnevegen down which offers a spectacular view from the top. Since we travelled in october and quite late in the evening most things were closed unfortunately (supermarket closes at 18.00 outside of season). The way out of Geiranger is also really nice. When we came to the main road to Stryn they closed the road after us however, because of snow. If you are driving to Geiranger in October you should seriously consider winter tires; it can get slippery! (It was slippery and snowing and summer tires just have no grip. It is otherwise a nice and exciting place to visit!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank JohnMelhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

Despite finicky weather, I loved our day here. Highly recommend the waterfall walk in town but most of the awe-inspiring scenery is a drive away.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank avwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2019 via mobile

Took the MF Veøy ferry for the UNESCO listed Geirenger Fjord.

It was raining and we had to stay inside. But due to the rain, there were many waterfalls down the steep cliffs and the 7 sisters waterfall seemed like there were more than 10 sisters.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank myt2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

A visit to Norway is incomplete without going to Geiranger Fjord. Visitors are not able to access Geiranger Fjord during winter through the mountain route, which to me would be a pity as it provides a beautiful journey through snow-capped mountains until we reach the fjord. As it was snowing we almost could not make it but we were lucky as the road was opened for us eventually when the salt trucks came in to melt the snow, good enough for vehicles to go through. As we rode with the height of the journey we could see the views unfolding level by level until we were ‘on top of the world’ before seeing Geiranger Fjord in all its glory at an awe-inspiring vantage point before descending into the valley town itself.
The scenic little town is endowed with souvenir shops, hotels, local bakery, restaurants and tourist information centre. There is also a little jetty for kayaks and for mooring cruise ferries.

It is a beautiful place which we were sad to leave behind. If there is an opportunity we will be back again - this time to stay for a night or two and not just day trip.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank YvonneLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews