We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$119
eDreamsUS$119
TravelocityUS$119
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
242
136
29
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
136
29
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool venison family run hotel pie nice atmosphere lovely hotel warm welcome family room good sized portions both nights the ground floor evening meal co op great weekend walk in shower short stay highland wildlife park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2021

We stayed last week as part of a Grand UK holiday. This hotel was great, all that we wanted plus a little more. The room at first glance seemed a little spartan, it was however very comfortable and had an excellent bathroom with excellent shower pressure.

Food was excellent although the breakfast including porrige could have been hotter. Evening meals were lovely, good choice well cooked and well presented. We even had some entertainment at night which was fine. Very nice people always happy to help. The icing on the cake for us was that my wife is coeliac (gluten free) yet this was very well catered for at all times with the menu well annotated and good selection available.

Newtonmore is a nice small town near a couple of amenities but it also has some nice country walks.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021 via mobile

Warm and welcoming from initial phone call to make booking, welcome into hotel, bar and meal service….all excellent. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, the staff attentive but not intrusive. Our first evening meal was just what was needed after a 200 mile drive, good wholesome ‘real’ food, my wife a slow cooked venison bourginon and me a slow cooked steak pie, which I enjoyed so much I had it a second night.

As Newtonmore is by passed by the A9 our comfortable and clean, room despite overlooking the Main Street, was quiet. Breakfast freshly cooked and hearty.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Culture29281662106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

Myself and my husband decided to start our staycation honeymoon at Newtownmore purely to visit the Macpherson clan Museum. I’m glad we stopped off as the Balavil was a brilliant hotel. The staff were helpful, quick and efficient. The room was to a very clean standard with modern decor. The reason it’s not 5/5 was because the bed for me was just too hard so I didn’t have the best sleep.
The evening meal we had was delicious and the breakfast even better.
Parking was also just opposite the hotel so very handy. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great value for money.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrs_mac_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2021

While touring Scotland for two weeks we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our tour of Scotland. The hotel is well located on the main road through Newtonmore with the hotel car park located directly opposite the hotel. We were checked in by very friendly helpful staff. Although there’s a lift towards the front area of the hotel, not all the upstairs rooms get the full benefit of the lift as the first-floor rooms at the rear of the hotel needs to be accessed either via the main staircase by the reception or the lift which involves going down a short flight of stairs from the first floor then up another short flight of stairs. After checking in one of the staff on reception offered to carry our cases up the first flight of stairs to the first floor which we accepted. Things seemed to be working well with the precautions and arrangements relating to Covid. Breakfast was served in the restaurant which was a hot and cold buffet on 2 of our days and hot food table service with a cold buffet on the other with a good selection. Our room was comfortable and fairly quiet with a good en-suite. The hotel Wi-Fi worked well. We visited the Highland Wildlife Park which was a 15-to-20-minute drive and also visited the Highland Folk Museum which is roughly a 10-minute walk from the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Large rooms with everything that you need for a time away. Food was fantastic - breakfast and evening. staff very friendly and attentive. The swimming pool was nice and warm. We were in a large group so they let us make use of the other bar.
Will certainly return.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 398elizabethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews