We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$41
View deal
Expedia.comUS$48
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$90
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
259
359
185
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
359
185
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet trolley coach parties bit dated dining room christmas decorations waiting staff evening meal dog friendly hotel coach tour no lift meal times family room porridge folk museum bed and breakfast food was lovely co op
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Stayed here for four nights as part of a package. The first room we were given had a filthy shower we asked for it to be cleaned but were given a better room with no problem. Although the room was on the road side there was very little traffic to bother us.
The staff here were lovely and courteous and couldn’t do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable. Well done all of you!!
Food was very good. There was a choice of starters, main course and desert followed by tea or coffee each evening. Breakfast was adequate and well cooked
This is not the best hotel we have stayed in but far from the worst and like many hotels now could do with some serious money spending on the decor.
All in all a pleasant stay

Room tip: Complain if you’re not happy they listen
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank truview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2021

On arrival we were given a room overlooking the road(despite requesting a room in the quieter annexe at the back to the booking dept). We were quickly given another room when we asked to move. The room was clean, warm and had obviously been refurbished recently. However the walls were paper thin and we did not appreciate hearing the next door people in the bathroom!! Everything is pared down to the minimum-very little on the complimentary tray and little toiletries. Hated the paper cups and wooden stirrers- would rethink those!!

The breakfasts were good but had to wait 35 mins for dinner, despite there being few people in the dining room at the time and before the bus tour people arrived. Felt this was unacceptable.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

Would I stay here again? Probably not.

Room tip: At the back, away from the road
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 14janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a weekend break. We were travelling with friends and got a really good deal here. Was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews but need not have been.

Staff were friendly from check in right through to check out. Our rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Was it basic? Yes, but we expected nothing more for the price we paid. The breakfast was good. We also had dinner in the hotel and again it was good.

It was a Saturday night and there was evening entertainment, a chap playing accordion with a few jokes thrown in and although this would not normally be our thing, it was really enjoyable.

We would stay here again. Was a great weekend break

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank mtk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2021

It blows my mind reading some of the negative reviews Stayed for a couple nights and more than happy with the stay. Anyone that thinks this hotel is bad really need to live in the real world and check their expectations, and believe me I’m not the type to just put my head down anywhere.

Wouldn’t be surprised to find the negative reviews are competitor hotels or cheapskates trying to get money back. If you’re reading this and unsure whether to book, don’t listen to the naysayers because unless you go round the room with your finger looking for a problem, you’ll have an enjoyable stay. We used Groupon and it was more than value for money.

While here we visited the Glenfinnan Viaduct, which was an easy walk to the viewpoint, even carrying our 3 month old. We also visited Culloden battlefield and Clava Cairns which were both worth a visit. We didn’t visit on this occasion but Inverness is a worthy visit too.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Campbell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

We had a stop over here on our way further north, and it was lovely. Our room was clean and I'd say the carpet and bathroom had been recently replaced. The staff were really helpful and professional. The food was excellent. I had the game stew which was lovely but even better the veg was cooked perfectly.

Only downside were the other guests. This hotel is dog-friendly. You can take your dog to a separate part of the restaurant. Please do that instead of leaving it shut in the bathroom, whimpering loudly for over an hour. I contacted reception as the poor thing sounded really sad. They did the best they could by asking the guests with dogs in rooms near ours to return and sort things out. Some people don't deserve dogs.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingscrivens717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews