We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ti Kouka House(Barrytown)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
52
18
9
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
18
9
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pithot tubminute driveroasting marshmallowsdoor leadingrelaxing weekendlovely locationspa poolsatellite tvpancake rollswet roompots and pansnice bathroomexcellent accommodationgreat spotthe kitchencooking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This really is a great place for a getaway. On a coastal plain between Greymouth and Punakaiki, miles from anywhere except farms and a few other houses, the apartments are in a bunch of trees just off the road. You can walk down the road then a muddy track to the beach, which has black sand and cold water but looks spectacular and is a great place for sunset. The apartments have decks that look west over fields to the ocean - hot in the afternoon but also great for sunset. Apartment 2 has a large living room and kitchen/dining, nice bedroom and nice bathroom. Lots of warning signs. TV has no USB slots but gets satellite TV. Expensive wifi is available but I could pick up phone service no problems. Traffic noise was generally drowned out by the birds and the ocean. This was great just for a night near the beach but it would be an even better place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Beach Hideaway is aptly named. If you want seclusion this is the place. Delightful Swiss chalet-type accommodation with short walk to beach. Lawned area, boules pitch and fire pit available. Would have preferred external hot tub rather than enclosed in wooden out-house. Didn't care for the wet-room layout which had one door leading from the lounge and the other from one of the bedrooms. Comfortable bedrooms and living/kitchen areas. Immaculatly kept grounds, but bring a torch - you are in the middle of nowhere! Fantastic place for a totally relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalapalooza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived very late but the hotel managed to let us check in without any problems. The hotel was small and a little hard to find. Anyway, the water heater and the heater worked fine. There was the TV set and the DVD players available for the guests. There were lots of stuff for us to use in the kitchen. I really felt like home when I was there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank theboyd_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We did a one night stopover here. It was a self check in arrangement where we accessed the code by phoning the outdoor phone located on the property. Super cosy place with fire and plenty of room. Comfy beds and reasonable priced. Could hear the ocean from the unit. Lovely.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Nothing wrong, It is a really nice spot. But when I purchased a treatme deal for Luxury Beach hideaway I had higher expectations.

In reality its quite basic, and I have booked properties through book a bach with a higher level of luxury than this. The audio Visual gear could do with an upgrade, and more than 2 towels would be appreciated for a 2 night stay. Tea/coffee supply is a bit lacking (and dont get me started on UHT milk!)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews