We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$675
View deal
PricelineUS$675
Official HotelUS$675
Hotels.comUS$675
Booking.comUS$675
TravelocityUS$675
Orbitz.comUS$675
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
465
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
465
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa chameleon infinity pool my husband and i pura vida costa rica our honeymoon golf cart breathtaking views top notch sunset villa ceviche watch the sunset mal pais the entire staff every meal special shout blown away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2020

This is going to be an "outlier" review as Casa Chameleon generally is rated very highly. We found aspects of CC to be "five star" while other aspects I rated much lower. The average was a three.

First - the negatives: (1) Flies! Loads of them. Clouds of them! On your face, in your food. Everywhere. The presence of the flies themselves are nearly a deal-killer. One lunch I spent holding my food with one hand while continually waving the other over my food attempting to shoo the pests away. Using industrial strength inspect repellant helped somewhat. (2) Construction noise. The carefully planned village of Las Catalinas is still very much under contraction and it is located right next to the resort. Each morning, they began hammering and banging by 7:15 and continued throughout the day. (3) This general area offers little to do. A few hikes are near the property and the beaches are not too far...But too far to carry a chair or much else. (4) The desert scenery. Yes - the ocean is lovely and sunsets are grand. But the rest of the scenery reminded me more of Phoenix than what I'd expected in Costa Rica. (5) The private villas are private but there is no sitting area within the structure. If you wished to sit and read - outdoors was the only option and the flies made that impractical.

There are some positives: (1) The location high on a hill looking west to the ocean is spectacular. (2) Each room has a private plunge pool also looking west. (3) The restaurant and bar area are lovely with tremendous views. Meals were generally good.

In all - I'd not recommend Casa Chameleon. Instead - select one of the amazing rainforest resorts in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NordicCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

This place is great! Food is fabulous and the staff becomes friends! Everyone there was so great and loved to visit with us! We did the barbecue which was delicious and highly recommended! The rooms are amazing, plunge pool is cold! Go early to get a spot to watch the sunset, they are amazing from the bar! Enjoyed the barre class they offered, instructor was very friendly! No access to the beach, but they take you in golf carts to them. Las Catalinas is a cute little town, with a store and good restaurant. We drove our rental to Playa Flamingo, about 10 minutes away and ate at Coco Loco, so good! The dinners at Casa Chameleon are to die for!!! So good and the staff great recommendations! Spicy chicken was my favorite! They were so helpful getting us to the Liberia airport, with direction an early morning wakeup call and breakfast in our rental car! This is a special place!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roving503062
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

The sea view is unique.
The villas are beautiful, the service is amazing, especially the chef Warner, Franklin, Erick and Ruben who were always there for us and the food is the most delicious!!!
100% recommended

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 96rebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Casa Chameleon is absolutely stunning. It resides on a cliff between 2 beaches where you can view both the sunrise and sunset. Surrounding the resort is also miles of mountain biking and hiking trails, which are well marked and easily accessible. We had a sunset view room and enjoyed sitting in our private pool relaxing and watching the sunset. Both the private pools for the rooms and the main pool are fantastic!
The staff was also fantastic. They were all very friendly and knew your name. They took care of every possible need. A special thanks to William and Paola, who were wonderful and helped my husband out with his motion sickness issues. Also thanks to Mario for the private mountain biking tour. It was one of our trip highlights.
Don't hesitate to book this place for a lovely, romantic and relaxing vacation.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank travelingaroundgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Casa Chameleon is set in a location by Las Catalinas that is beyond stunning. The views go on forever and the sunset is incredible! We loved the infinity pool and the water temp was perfect in the hot weather. The restaurant was extremly delicious and the breakfast was the best we had in CR. Try the peanut butter chocolate smoothie! The villas were perfect size, decorated in beachy decor and the plunge pool was perfect. The location was beautiful but what really stood out the most about this gem, was the staff. EVERYONE was extremely kind, helpful and they are the ones that made our time there memorable! Thank you Alexander, Diana and Juvenal for going out of your way to make us feel welcome. We want to thank the entire staff for being the amazing humans they are. I am beyond thankful for getting to experience one of the world's most incredible resorts. Pura Vida and we can't wait to come back!!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveltonsandtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews