We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$675
View deal
Official HotelUS$675
Booking.comUS$675
Hotels.comUS$675
PricelineUS$675
TravelocityUS$675
TripadvisorUS$675
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
465
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
465
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa chameleon infinity pool my husband and i pura vida costa rica our honeymoon golf cart breathtaking views top notch sunset villa ceviche watch the sunset mal pais the entire staff every meal special shout blown away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

We will be back! This hotel has it all… we loved our rooms, the view and the staff. The location was nice to las Catalina, you could walk or a golf cart. The staff went above and beyond to make our trip memorable. I definitely will come back to stay with casa de chameleon!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 907caseyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We chose to spend our first trip to Costa Rica at Casa Chameleon at Las Catalinas and we could not have been happier with our decision. Upon arrival we were greeted with coconut water, cool towel, and fresh fruit while we waited briefly for our room to become ready. Everyone we came in contact with treated us with first class service. The hotel staff are truly incredible people! Mariela, Herlan, and William were always kind, helpful, and extremely accommodating to all of our requests. We enjoyed talking to and getting to know William and Anthony who provided us much insight into things to do in the local area.
We stayed in Villa #12 which is a sunset villa and the view was absolutely stunning! All villas have their own plunge pool (awesome) and we were just blown away by the spectacular view.
All the staff were so kind to us! The housekeeper, Ericka, gave me suggestions on where to shop for gifts for our families back home. She was always so friendly and I enjoyed chatting with her!
Now, let's talk about food...Sentido Norte is probably the most romantic restaurant my husband and I have ever eaten in. The views from the restaurant are simply breathtaking! The presentation of the food, quality, taste, and ambience of the restaurant make Sentido Norte a place worthy to visit again and again. We loved every dish we ate and the drinks, are simply yummy! And of course, the staff in the restaurant are professionals at what they do. They go above and beyond to make your dining experience memorable. Carlos, especially, went out of his way to make a tea for me one morning when I was feeling ill. Scarleth was a doll! On our last night we did not have a reservation at Sentido Norte, and were going to eat dinner at the bar. Scarleth, who knew it was our last night, worked her magic to get us a table in the restaurant. We had a great view and a great time! Brahim was our server and gave us first-class service that evening. All of the staff at Sentido Norte are truly incredible!
The hotel itself is stunning. You can tell there was a lot of thought and care that was put into this wonderful place. What sets this place apart from all others is the staff. They are truly special people. This place was a dream to visit and we cannot recommend Casa Chameleon enough! We hope to visit again real soon!

Room tip: sunset villas have the best view
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwinn806
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Having never written a Trip Advisor review before, our stay at Casa Chameleon has warranted my first one. It's difficult to fully describe the incredible experience and beauty of this hotel and their staff, as it's like no other. From the moment we arrived, we were on a first name basis with almost everyone we came into contact with, and were treated with first class service. Anthony and William were amazing with quickly getting our car when needed and providing golf cart rides to and from Las Catalinas down the road! 

We were truly blown away by the hotel staff, who were extremely accommodating and pleasant to get to know. A special shout out to Bryan who waited on us poolside, making sure we always had what we needed (sometimes before we even knew we needed it!) and was someone we looked forward to greeting us each morning.  He went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a magical one. 

They did not cut a single corner on any part of the experience or aesthetics of the hotel, from ensuring you always had a drink in hand to providing sunscreen and cucumber infused water by the pool. The rooms are impeccable, with stunning private views of the ocean, our own plunge pool, and the most gorgeous glass shower opening up to the outdoor patio. The hotel's infinity pool overlooks the ocean providing a spectacular view of the sunset in the evenings, at which time the staff lights up the pool with flames to create the most breathtaking experience.  

What we did not expect was how blown away we would be by the amazing food provided by the hotel restaurant, Sentido Norte. By far this is one of the best hotel restaurants we've ever eaten in - from the food itself, to the presentation, to the ambiance. And of course, the staff in the restaurant were also incredible. Carlos always made sure we had everything we needed and that we were having a best in class dining experience. 

I cannot recommend Casa Chameleon enough and am already planning our next visit! 

Room tip: choose a plunge pool room!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherinespenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Our week at Casa Chameleon was a dream. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the staff, the property and the views (oh the views!) I've stayed in many luxury hotels, but this one lands at the top of the list. Villa #20, facing West towards the sunset, with our own plunge pool was the perfect place to start and end our days and we so enjoyed our time in the hotel's gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the cove. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel staff, from Anthony who greeted us when we first arrived, to Bryan at the pool (the BEST!!), to Elmyer and Brayan at the bar, everyone was so incredibly friendly, helpful, and more than willing to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is taking great measures to protect guests and staff as the Covid pandemic continues. We were very mindful of wanting to make sure that other guests as well as the staff was comfortable but wearing our masks never felt like it was taking away from our experience. I cannot recommend Casa Chameleon enough and hope to visit again one day soon. Thank you for making our first trip to Costa Rica so memorable and magical!

Date of stay: June 2021
1  Thank LaurenK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the ocean and beach. As with any hotel on the pacific in this area it is a nice view. Getting tot he hotel is a bit of a drive on questionable roads. Depending on the time of day you may be tempted to do a lot of passing but there are not many good or safe places to pass. This can make it frustrating when your stuck behind a truck spewing clouds of smoke going 5mph uphill. This is not an exaggeration. And the worse part is if you pass them you will almost immediately get stuck behind someone else (depending on the time, afternoons seemed worse). I do not recommend this hotel for day long excursions inland, stay in arenal or rincon de la Vieja or closer to wherever you want to go. Come here for nearby beach or ocean activities.

The hotel staff was overall very good and accommodating. Some minor issues but the management needs to reconsider how they value their guests. We were charged for something that I don’t think we should have been charged for. Kind of an unfortunate example of when your honest and then you get screwed for being honest…

This is why we have reviews though, and their mistake will cost them more than it was worth.

After this, on principle, I am not sure if I can recommend staying her to anyone or if I would stay here again. There are many other options.

Room tip: Avoid going on long excursions from this location. Better to stay closer to where you want to go.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wawotena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Federico G, General Manager at Casa Chameleon Hotel At Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear Wawotena,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review, we take all of our reviews very seriously. I'm happy to learn that our staff was very good and accommodating as they are very passionate about what they do and really put in the extra mile to make all of our guests feel like at home. I'm sorry about the experience you had with local traffic generally it's not an issue, however it's something you'll find in almost any part of the world specially in developing economies. I would love to learn more of what you feel was unfairly charged as it's not the way we want to make you feel we value our guests very highly and would never have the intention of making a guest feel unfairly treat. Please send us an email to federico@casachameleonhotels.com and we will be happy to work out a solution together. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews