We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Booking.com
US$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Preferred Hotels
US$243
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Hotels.comUS$246
TravelocityUS$246
Trip.comUS$246
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
32
12
4
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
12
4
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool beautiful hotel top floor make reservations mini fridge in room water sports limited menu food options room was spacious hotel restaurant pura vida ride surf shop beautiful beach overlooking the ocean liberia airport top notch andrea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2022

The place is nice, the restaurants and food is really lovely, we ate at Sentido Norte one night it was amazing(make reservations), place goes dark after 10 with no noise. swimming pool at hotel closes at 6.
staff is beyond welcoming, nice, happy and knowledgeable, clearly they hav tried the food and recommend form there, attentive and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed.
At night they deliver fresh water and amenities to your room which we loved.

Room tip: ask for floor 4 looking to the ocean!
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 135angiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Dear Angie:

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we appreciate your time sharing.

Our staff always prepare to give more and best service.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon again!

Stay Light,

Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2022

The hotel is even more beautiful in person. Staff was very accommodating, friendly and patient with our daughter. All except Oscar from the front desk. He lacks customer service and people skills. Not the person you want to have deal with while on vacation. Such a bad face to represent the hotel. Seriously considering staying somewhere else next time because of our experience with him.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank M790HPpamelav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2022

Dear Mrs. Villegas:

Thank you very much for your feedback, upper management will follow internally on this report.

Best regards,

Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2022

Hotel Santarena was definitely a highlight in our trip. It’s located in the cutest town of las Catalina’s about an hour or so drive from Liberia Airport. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed spending time at the bar and at Danita beach-a short walk from hotel. I recommend the carnaval and ponche guanacasteco! Very refreshing. We had no concerns about construction in the area. We never heard any construction noise. There’s everything you need in the town of las Catalina’s, a convenience store, spa, beach, a variety of restaurants. Can’t wait to return and see the how the town has developed.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V5274AKalexv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2022

Dear Alex:

On behalf of the entire staff at Santarena Hotel, we appreciate your comments during your stay at our hotel. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.

Thank you for staying at Santarena Hotel -Las Catalinas and we hope you choose to create more memories with us wherever your travels bring you back to Playa Danta.

Stay Light,

Concierge Santarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022 via mobile

We stayed in Las Catalinas four years ago so it was great to check out the new hotel that has been built since. The design, decor and ambience is stunning and the staff service was excellent. A big thanks to Randall for assisting us so quickly and graciously with a small issue. We loved the rooftop pool! Ponciana did not disappoint and the cafe was great too. Two small suggestions…chairs on the balconies that face the water so you can have a drink or coffee overlooking the ocean and perhaps a small refrigerator or ice machine on the floors. Pura vida and hasta luego!

Room tip: Get a room facing the ocean
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JaniceM843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Dear Janice:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are currently working to add these amenities into the rooms hopefully very soon. Our staff appreciates your comments and we look forward to welcome you very soon again.

Stay Light,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2022 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Santarena and had a lovely time. Yes the hotel has no coffee machines or fridges in the rooms and would it be nice if those are added in, sure but it was not a deal breaker for us. The water in the taps is all clean which I assume is why there are no plastic single use bottles (environmentally friendly) so bring a water bottle to fill. We liked the food a lot but did get sick of it after a week. Having said that, there are some great local restaurants that you can take a cheap cab to. There is construction but honestly, we didn't notice the noise once. The people were all friendly and the beach is beautiful. The beach club is lovely but is an extra cost. If you're a pool person, this may not be the place for you because the pool on the roof is small but has a stunning view of the ocean. Overall, we would return. No hotel is perfect. We'll take this over the Riu any day!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Dear Jen:

Greetings from Santarena!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience , we appreciate your valuable feedback and it will be review internally as we are working to add the room amenities (mini bars-coffee maker, bottle of water ) very soon.

Our staff look forward to welcome you back hopefully soon .

Stay Light,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews