We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
67
128
63
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
128
63
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour group country lodge limited choice tour of south africa the ground floor nan zulu battlefields open space kitchen area bottled water wild animals rorke's drift lovely grounds battlefields area two nights beautiful place enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We arrived tor 2 nights at this hotel in order to visit the Battlefields and Rorke's Drift.
The hotel room was spacious but very basic. This hotel is 2 story chalet type rooms. The surrounding countryside is lovely with wild animals roaming around just a fence away.
On arrival we found that if we wanted drinks, we had to collect a glass and queue, which would have been fine if one of the two waiters could use the till! It took 1/2 an hour to get a drink and pay for the buffet meal which is the only choice available.
The dinner was rather limited but tasty, and the breakfast the next morning was quite good.
On our return the next day we just wanted a snack, but the buffet was the only choice we had so we didn't bother. There is a pizza take out just 5 minutes walk away which some of our group went to, but it closes at 5pm.
I would not have wanted to stay more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: All the same!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi

Thank you for your comments. We know there is a growing need for a small snack menue, we are in the process of putting this together.

Regards

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This Lodge is lovely and most central to see all the main attractions. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff delightful. The grounds are so well kept and you could spend time just wondering around or relaxing at the ammenities it has to offer. Pizza on Sunday was delish... We have been twice and most certainly will go back. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Stable and the Silo. We were more than happy in both.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jones_Glenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your Kind comments.

Regards

Dave O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I enjoyed my stay. It was for work purpose but I surely wish to stay there for holiday. Food was divine. Staff was very professional and friendly. Rooms...spacious and clean. It was my first time there and I'll definitely recommend this place to friends and family

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nontandom2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good Day

Thank you for your kind comments

Regards

Dave O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Great looking place with its out of the way feel. Liked the layout of the blocks and the various hotel facility buildings dotted about. Nice garden feel and water feature plus ornaments give it style. Wide open space with Ostriches and Springboks about add to the ambience. Clearly a place that works for events like weddings and conferences too.

Room good size with king size bed and space featured fridge and microwave. Bathroom clean and just big enough for what you need. Useful key safe. Walls somewhat thin so you can hear a lot of noise from other rooms plus people walking along balcony and shutting the noisy metal door to the rooms. But I got my sleep as most people retired early enough. Wifi was a bit poor as the voucher code was limited to data used. Mine ran out pretty quickly and I didn't do any streaming. You could ask for more codes but most hotels give you unlimited access for your stay so this seemed a bit backward here.

Main restaurant has a cafe feel and is clean and tidy but quite average in overall look. No proper bar unfortunately just a counter to order your drinks and food from. Dinner was filling and tasty - buffet style. Breakfast had cooked selections plus usual cereals etc. There is a separate bar building but was closed. Maybe open only when it is busy or height of season.

Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank goodguyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi

Thank you for your comments.

I do understand regarding the bar. This will or is being looked at present.

Regards

Dave O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as part of a Riviera tour. The room was comfortable. The food was buffet style for main meal and breakfast. Staff were friendly enough. There were animals grazing nearby. It was in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi

Thank you for you Kind comments.

In summer we are serenaded by the Frogs. Make you feel away from the Bustle.

Regards

Dave O'Halloran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews