We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
21
4
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

we stayed here recently for a week first impressions were amazing, great views beautiful pool lovely setting. Self catering is not an option unless the owners provide more equipment. There is only a 2 burner hotplate and thats it not even a toaster which we asked twice for but didnt get. There is not enough utensils or preparing equipment to make even the most basic meal. The teapot was broken when arrived so couldnt even use that. There was no broom to sweep the floor and no teatowels to dry up dishes. There was hardly any water pressure so having a shower was useless inside had to have one outside every time thats the only place you could even get any hot water. We couldnt use one of the bathrooms for the entire week due to the smell from the toilet. Someone did come to fix but didnt help. The villa complex could be the ultimate of luxury, but far from that as yet.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Smcneill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polina4578, Управляющий at Rumassala Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015
Google Translation

Спасибо большое за Ваш отзыв! Мы учтем все Ваши пожелания! Так же как только мы достроим ресторан, все мелкие проблемы уже не будут такими значимыми. Так как наш комплекс только начал работать, конечно есть погрешности, но мы стараемся их исправить как можно скорее.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The villa is nice with stunning sea views. The pool is nice. The location is a bit out of the way but doable. It is a short pleasant walk to jungle beach. The aircon electrical circuit kept tripping, and the villa wasn't serviced, we had to request a towel change. There is also nowhere to buy food or water nearby and we weren't supplied with drinking water on arrival.

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the aggressive insistence that we pay in cash USD$ contrary to the booking confirmation that requested payment in the local currency (rupees). We presented the confirmation to the manager who refused to accept payment in rupees. We are not American and no bank in the area would sell us American dollars. This took up valuable holiday time (a day) missioning around Galle trying to locate USD until a tuck tuck driver took us to a dodgy back street currency trader to get the cash. Had we known payment was to be in cash USD we would have planned for this before arriving in Sri Lanka.

It was also difficult to communicate with the manager who only spoke Russian and virtually no English.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank H3245MEannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews