We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castillo Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Cristina Playa Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H&B Lodge and Restaurant(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Coral(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
646
165
63
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
165
63
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki suitethe ownerour honeymoonbeach fronttropical suitescosta ricagolf courseswim up barsound of the waveslovely beachprivate beachoverlooking the oceantennis courtspalm treessan joserainy seasonbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We have been to Costa Rica scores of times. Tango Mar is a really nice resort style hotel right on the beach. The rooms are all very clean and modern. Normally we stay at smaller hotels with less than 10 rooms for the ambience. Tango Mar had great service and facilities. Staff is very friendly.
I particularly enjoyed Birding with Jessy Lopez Herra, one of the staff. I have had many Birding guides in Costa Rica and he is the best. He has good equipment and is incredible at finding birds.We sited 6 of the Tropical Hummingbird species one morning on the hotel property! As well as a Pacific Screech Owl from 4' away! We also had a morning at Park Curu which was fantastic.
We have concentrated on the Northern section of Guanacaste and this the first time we have been this far south. Only possible draw back to the area is lack of restaurants outside the hotel. The hotel dinner is very good, breakfast excellent. Wine list is good value.

Stayed December 2016

Room Tip: We're coming again in 2 months so we looked at other rooms, none seem to have issues. All have ocean front.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

No less than excellent!
Nice room with ocean view, clean.....
Very very helpful staff English, Spanish, Dutch and French are spoken so no cares about that!;-)

Nice pools with a pool bar!
Breakfast is outstanding..... and the dinner menu is gourmet!
Worth going here.....really!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BertjeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We were riding our BMW motorcycle and looking for a hotel... The leads on trip advisor were OK but nothing that was resonating high quality... We saw tango Mar hotel sign on the highway and took a chance... Wow it was absolutely worth it!!! Best place yet that we have discovered in Costa Rica!!! Hilda is amazing... the staff is very attentive and the place is just superior... I believe this gives the four Seasons Resort a run for its money!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

After travelling from San Jose we were hot and tired. We were met on arrival by the lovely Hilda - hotel owner - with a fruit punch and cold face towel.
This hotel and its perfect location is just awesome.
Our room faced the beautiful ocean which was only a few steps away. We had two very large beds (there were 3 of us so that was fine), tv, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer and coffee maker. Take a kettle if you want an early morning cupper.
Towels for the pool were on the side made into a beautiful shape!
The air con is most welcome and works a treat.
All the staff are fabulous - we chose a different breakfast each day and certainly enjoyed all of them. Watch out for the beautifully cut pineapples !
The evening menu was equally tasty and enjoyable.
We took the guided walk around the property and it was quite a long but very interesting walk. A good tip would be not to take this walk after it has been raining because parts are very muddy! But it is well worth doing the walk as the guide is fab.
We absolutely loved our stay here - could easily rival the Caribbean hotels.

Room Tip: Choose room 908 for a beach front balcony
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

If you are seeking quiet beach and resort, this is the place to go. The owner, Hilde, and her staff went all out to make us welcome. We arrived after dark and we're greeted by friendly faces and a fruit juice and cool towel. We were immediately upgraded to a ocean view that was breath taking. The beach has very few access areas and people so it was pretty much private.
The food was great, everything was fresh and tasty. Breakfast was my favorite, good choices. The Tango Mar pancakes, yumm.!
I would like to thank Hilde and her great staff for a pleasant stay. I hope to return with my grand children one day. But maybe a trip to Lendelde first. Hugs Hilde!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews