We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$54
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Establo(Monteverde)
US$125
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
171
207
97
23
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
207
97
23
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanbasic hotelcosta ricaeco friendly hotelshort walkhot watercloud foresthotel is locatedrental carwalls are thinwatermelonplantainsstaff was very friendly and helpfulzip liningsabor ticobreakfast was deliciouswould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is on top of a green mountain in the cloud forest. It is beautiful and the town has lots of restaurants, a large pharmacy, and nicely paved roads.
My experience at the bar inspired me to write this review. The bar is available upon request with reception. I was not disappointed. Though they do not traditionally do mixed drinks, using fresh ingredients from the garden on the property they concocted two delicious drinks for me. If you come here I am sure you will enjoy your stay as I did.
¡PURA VIDA!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gabrielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Gabrielle,
Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure having you at the hotel and making the drinks for you we are really glad you liked it. We always work to make your staying the best experience. Hopefully we get to see you on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Best Regards,

Maricruz Camacho
Hotel Cipreses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Well located to get to the national park of Santa Elena within a short drive. Great breakfast buffet. Staff was very friendly and helpful (lots of information about what to do). Comfortable bed. Basic furnishing.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Eliane,
Thanks for your review, we are really happy you enjoyed your staying, the staff always work to make our guests feel comfortable, we are glad the information was good for you and hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Best Regards,

Maricruz Camacho
Hotel Cipreses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

For a popular destination like Monteverde this hotel offered great value for budget travel. Hotel Cipreses was easy to find, in a good location and is family-run business. The staff were so friendly and hospitable. But when it’s raining and cold it feels a little gloomy. This hotel is trying to be eco-friendly, but at the same time could do with some modernisation. For example it would be great to have a fridge in the room.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MerindaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Merinda,
Thank you for your review, we are really happy you liked the hotel, taking care of the environment is one of our main goals, thanks for your recommendations we will take them in to consideration. Hopefully you can come back on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Best Regards,
Maricruz Camacho
Hotel Cipreses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Hotel Cipreses had a warm welcoming staff, beautiful grounds, central location (walking distance to downtown) and free breakfast/wifi. The hotel was a great price point for what we were looking for which was simply a bed to sleep in. If you are a picky person or looking for a more resort or fancy spot, this may not be the best spot for you. It’s an average hotel with an average room. The bed was hard but wouldn’t be surprised if that’s how most hotels were. Our room did offer scenic views and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mvande4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Greetings,
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you liked the staff and the common areas, we appreciate your recommendations and will work on our facilities to make the staying a the hotel the best experience for our guests.

Best Regards,
Masricruz Camacho
Hotel Cipreses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Well located hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast was fresh and had many selections. Our room was comfortable, good shower and great wifi reception. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Annette,

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you at the hotel, we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel in general. For sure will be expecting you on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Best Regards,

Maricruz Camacho,
Hotel Cipreses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews