We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Historias Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historias Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2017

My room was very, very clean and had an awesome hot shower with great water pressure. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a good place to stay. It was a bit of a walk from the downtown area, but that is most of monteverde, so not abig deal.

Room Tip: Think rooms at back near courtyard would be quieter than the ones next to parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Gerente at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed watching the birds feed ing the garden of the property and the suoer friendly one eyed dog .
Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful front office manger Thais and Luis the boss .
The cheerful much repeated phrase was Pura Vida
Reccomend it as a base in Monteverde .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

It was a real honor share with you, Ronaldo.
We have grate memories of you.
Thais and I wish you to know that you are very special and that we love you very much.
We sent you a strong hug.

Pura vida, my friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a brief but pleasant stay at Historias Lodge. The value for the money was perfect- clean rooms with screens on the windows to prevent bugs from entering, large spacious bathrooms, strong wifi and hearty quickly-prepared breakfasts. Thais, the manager, was the real gem of this place as she went out of her way to organize our tours, answered all our questions including suggesting our best meal in costa rica (restaurante arrecifes- 5min walking distance) and even gave us pick of our rooms. We stayed in room 21 away from the main lodge which afforded us more privacy and we were able to park our rental car on the facility without worry. The only complaints were that the mattress is very firm and the wind overnight made the rooftop clamor intermittently. But would still highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in monteverde on a budget and we would certainly return to stay there in the future.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrMrsBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017
Google Translation

Mil gracias por tus comentarios, Priya.
La fuerza del viento en esta montaña es impresionante, pero vamos a buscarle una solución.
Nos complace mucho saber que nos recomiendas y deseamos volver a recibirles en Historias Lodge.
Saludos a tu esposo.
¡Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Historias Lodge is a rare find. The front office manager Thace, and owner Luis, help make your stay even better and give great info on what to do in the area of Monteverde and Santa Elena, both easily accessible from this hotel with a 4 wheel drive. All you need for groceries or restaurants are around the corner by foot. The outside walls of Historias are covered with gorgeous vines of purple flowers and colorful painted walls of birds and butterflies. The upstairs rooms are larger (do not stay in small rooms on lower level facing parked cars) with large picture window. Outside room faces a cozy polished wooden balcony (Room 20 is a spacious corner room). Breakfast superb! Intrepid Tours stay here so there are tour vans and large groups most times but this added to the fun ambiance.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monica41589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that we have made them feel at home.
We are here to serve you when you wish to return

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Clean cozy room with a balcony and view. Within walking distance to St Elena but beware road and sidewalks are very steep and often unpaved.Breakfast was individually prepared and delicious. There were several selections. Thais at the front desk was was very pleasant and helpful with sightseeing arrangements and recommendations.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelgram2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Many thanks for your comments and for choosing Historias Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#4 of 7 in Santa Elena
750 reviews
0.5 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
294 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 km away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.9 km away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#14 of 36 in Santa Elena
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historias Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historias Lodge

Address: 15 Minutes From Monte Verde Cloudforest Reserve | 15 Minutes From Monte Verde Cloudforest Reserve, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: S$73 - S$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historias Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Historias Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historias Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing