We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
233
75
20
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
75
20
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intrepid tour costa rica cloud forest central america zip lining huge room pleasant stay monte verde rooms are clean and comfortable town centre steep walk first floor stayed here for nights enjoyed our stay hot water laundry service breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed watching the birds feed ing the garden of the property and the suoer friendly one eyed dog .
Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful front office manger Thais and Luis the boss .
The cheerful much repeated phrase was Pura Vida
Reccomend it as a base in Monteverde .

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

It was a real honor share with you, Ronaldo.
We have grate memories of you.
Thais and I wish you to know that you are very special and that we love you very much.
We sent you a strong hug.

Pura vida, my friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a brief but pleasant stay at Historias Lodge. The value for the money was perfect- clean rooms with screens on the windows to prevent bugs from entering, large spacious bathrooms, strong wifi and hearty quickly-prepared breakfasts. Thais, the manager, was the real gem of this place as she went out of her way to organize our tours, answered all our questions including suggesting our best meal in costa rica (restaurante arrecifes- 5min walking distance) and even gave us pick of our rooms. We stayed in room 21 away from the main lodge which afforded us more privacy and we were able to park our rental car on the facility without worry. The only complaints were that the mattress is very firm and the wind overnight made the rooftop clamor intermittently. But would still highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in monteverde on a budget and we would certainly return to stay there in the future.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DrMrsBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017
Google Translation

Mil gracias por tus comentarios, Priya.
La fuerza del viento en esta montaña es impresionante, pero vamos a buscarle una solución.
Nos complace mucho saber que nos recomiendas y deseamos volver a recibirles en Historias Lodge.
Saludos a tu esposo.
¡Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Historias Lodge is a rare find. The front office manager Thace, and owner Luis, help make your stay even better and give great info on what to do in the area of Monteverde and Santa Elena, both easily accessible from this hotel with a 4 wheel drive. All you need for groceries or restaurants are around the corner by foot. The outside walls of Historias are covered with gorgeous vines of purple flowers and colorful painted walls of birds and butterflies. The upstairs rooms are larger (do not stay in small rooms on lower level facing parked cars) with large picture window. Outside room faces a cozy polished wooden balcony (Room 20 is a spacious corner room). Breakfast superb! Intrepid Tours stay here so there are tour vans and large groups most times but this added to the fun ambiance.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Monica41589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that we have made them feel at home.
We are here to serve you when you wish to return

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Clean cozy room with a balcony and view. Within walking distance to St Elena but beware road and sidewalks are very steep and often unpaved.Breakfast was individually prepared and delicious. There were several selections. Thais at the front desk was was very pleasant and helpful with sightseeing arrangements and recommendations.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelgram2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Many thanks for your comments and for choosing Historias Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Lovely big clean modern rooms. Patchy hot water – none at all during peak shower times, but this seems to be standard in Central America. Good wi-fi.

It’s in an area where there are many hotels hidden among the trees, it’s a fair walk to town – 20/30 minutes and quite steep. You can get a taxi one way for $1 per person (minimum 2 people)

There is a small but adequate supermarket and some restaurants just around the corner from the hotel. We had an excellent inexpensive meal at the Soda restaurant/diner next to the supermarket. There is a good French bakery five minutes walk away.

You can book all tours from the hotel – zip lines (younger people loved it), canopy walk, - (quite good, lovely walk, but don’t expect to see wildlife, maybe a few birds), night walk - (not really worth it)
We walked 10 minutes to a privately owned Ecological Sanctuary and saw more wildlife there than on the more expensive tours. Eg: birds and coatis.
The hotel put out fruit on a bird feeder in their garden which attracts some beautiful birds.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Avntheothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews