We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Eddy B&B(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$25
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Capulin(Santa Elena)
US$60
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paris Confort B & B(Santa Elena)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
230
75
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
75
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintrepid tourcosta ricacloud forestzip liningcentral americahuge roomnight walkmonte verdepleasant stayeggsrooms are clean and comfortabletown centrefirst floorpura vidastayed here for nightsenjoyed our staywithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights - room was well equipped with fridge, safe etc but was almost unbearably brown and gloomy. It looked onto the car park and was on the ground floor so it was very overlooked as well. There are much nicer rooms at the back. Steep walk down into town, helpful minibus service to and from hotel for a small charge.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thanks for your comments.
Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked and we could not make changes to the second floor or to the other section of the hotel, where there was a group of teenagers who are usually quite noisy.
Another important detail to mention is that the guide of his group requested rooms on the ground floor, since their clients were, mostly, older adults.
Our idea is always to guarantee the comfort and safety of our guests. Also avoid noise nuisance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is quite nice and has big rooms, however, in my opinion the rooms were a bit too dark and then there was this weird old smell in the rooms. The shower is good, wifi was a bit slow at times and they offer breakfast from 7-9.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne-Katrine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for your comments and for your time.
The forest has a different scent in rainy season that some may confuse.
We hope your visit to Costa Rica has been a nice experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of tour and really enjoyed our stay. Owner is really friendly and helpful & helps organise nearby activities with various companies. Rooms are very spacious with a great shower & a small fridge. Is a bit out of town up a hill but we walked into town & then Historias will come & collect for $1 per person. Breakfast was US$8 - not cheap but this is costa rica - included fruit, eggs & pancakes & was delicious. Laundry service was a little expensive.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MareeandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your comments and your valuable time.
It has been very nice to meet you and we hope you will come back.
We want your entire trip to our country to be full of pleasant memories.

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Just completed two separate trips where this hotel was used as a base. It's a great quiet location, in walking distance to the town and restaurants. Thais at reception is so helpful especially when booking tours and restaurants. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. Luis the minibus driver was always friendly and willing to drop us off in various places. Would recommend this to anyone who wants a warm friendly local atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank ShazzaG181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thanks for your motivational comments.
It is always a pleasure to receive people as special as you and your friend.
We hope your entire trip to Costa Rica is full of happy memories.
This is your home in Monteverde and here we are his friends.

¡PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely place. Central and easy to get around. Staff are great, good food. Worth a visit.
Comfortable beds and nice size rooms (we were upstairs on first floor).
Good for location to get to local ziplining, night safari walks etc.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisbrenes11, Propietario at Historias Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017
Google Translation

gracias por escribir su comentario siempre agradesidos gracias a su ayuda podemos conservar nuestra natulaleza un abrazo a la distancia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews