We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is fantastic, But the rest is Kitsch”
Review of Hotel Jagdhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jagdhof
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spa is fantastic, But the rest is Kitsch”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We are Tirolean spa goers and have tried a few different hotels with spa villages. The spa village at the Jagdhof is one of the largest we've encountered. We loved all the different rooms, from saunas to steam rooms to eucalyptus relaxation room the chilly bucket shower. Be prepared to be naked if you want to try all the rooms. But that is how the Tirolean spas work.

The hotel room was very clean and nice. Ours looked over the car garages, but also out at a bubbling creek, and mountain peaks.

The hotel's general decor is pure kitsch. Lots of heart-shaped decorations on everything. And the hotel itself feels very ramshackle. This is not what I have encountered at other Relais Chateaux properties.

The hotel is located in a very touristy Tirolean village. Lots of hotels and kitschy shops right on top of each other. If you are a skier, this is probably not an issue. But, if you are looking to experience a bucolic, countryside retreat, this is not the place. Instead try Hotel Interalpen about 40 minutes away (up a mountain away from the world).

The Gala dinner (on Sunday night) was very good. But the regular dinners are nothing spectacular. They expect you to order wine by the bottle. The by the glass selection is very limited. Our waitress had a conniption when I asked for a glass of Reisling. It was very uncomfortable for us.

The hired musician used a synthesizer to create a one-man-band playing horrendous 1980s goop by Lionel Ritchie and Phil Collins. With all the Tirolean kitsch, the stags heads on the wall, the costumed staff, you would think they'd at least have some authentic Tirolean music. But, no, instead we get Air Supply.

We will probably come back just to use the spa village. And just put up with the rest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngloAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    30
    15
    9
    0
See reviews for
112
117
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We've stayed at the Jagdhof on several occasions over the past 10 years (mainly in the summer), and I can truly say that it's always been a wonderful experience. The staff are very courteous and welcoming, and go out of their way to accommodate you (eg. providing a day room at no extra charge on our departure date, room upgrades). The spa area is superb, the rooms are spacious and spotless, and the food is great. Yes, it's pricey, but you get what you pay for, including a lot of free add-ons (eg. courtesy minibus to the slopes). It's certainly better value than similar hotels in France or Switzerland. I'm surprised at some of the negative comments about the food and the hotel being kitsch, eg.staff wearing traditional costume - this is what Austria is all about, if you don't like that, you've come to wrong country!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We have stayed here with our 4 year old son and 7 months old daughter. We have arrived from the alpenroyel hotel in Val Gardena in italy and the comparison between the hotels does not do good to the Jagdhof. The food maybe good good in Austrian standards but does not come close to the italian cuisine. The restaurant service, especially for english speakers is poor. Smoking is still allowed almost everywhere, including the hotel lobby!! The pool in average, pretty crowded and infested with bees.
The worst is that the owner/manager does not care about customer complaints. His answer was "maybe this is not the hotel for you". The spa is excellent. Front desk service is very friendly and helpfull. The "Kessel suite" where we stayed is huge and very comfortable. Bottom line, as a summer hotel we would not recommend this hotel to non-smoking non-german-speaking guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaimHerzliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We spend 8 nights begin March 2009 where we booked a room of type "Ring". It is still one open room but the salon is visually separated from the bedroom. Here are our remarks of our stay :

We liked:

* Big hotel in the style of « Austrian kitsch » as another member described. Anyway, everything is nicely decorated and there are a lot of references to hunting (that’s why this hotel is called Jagdhof)
* Wonderful spa & wellness section. The sauna area is just wonderful with more than 10 different saunas, steam baths, relaxation rooms, etc. A lot of them are open from noon, otherwise everything is open from 3pm. The best SPA I have ever seen.
* Wonderful heated pool inside and outside (linked together!). Swimming outside in the evening when it is snowing is something you must experience once in your life.
* Thé, drinks and fruit is for free in the wellness area.
* Breakfast: home made bread & patisserie. Large choice but it is the almost the same every day.
* Lunch: the kitchen is open at noon so you can eat in the hotel if you decide to stay inside.
* Dinner: you can enjoy every day a gastronomic 5-plate supper. You can choose the dishes you like from the menu. There is also a restaurant rated 15/20 by GaultMillau but you have to reserve a table. You get a reduction in this restaurant if you are on half-board. Otherwise, there are not many restaurants in the neighbourhood so you better stick with the hotel supper.
* Very good choice of local & foreign wine. Prices are correct.
* All personnel is very attentful and they try to make your stay as best as possible.
* Parking: some parking places outside and you can rent a closed box too.
* Clean & dry ski room where you can store your stuff (boots are heated!).
* Room: very spacious with a lot of closets, clean, a big dressing, free safe, big bathroom, balcony, lot of towels. Just pay attention not to have a room not to close to the bar as it is quite noisy.
* The family owners are present in the hotel (!) and they check with you if everything is right.

We didn’t like:

* Restaurant: We had to change 2 times to find finally a good place to eat without the cold air-conditioning blowing cold air on your head and giving you headaches after 1h (same for my wife and myself). But the hotel takes care of this and you can either choose your eating place or even better, ask a place in the small restaurant which is much quieter in the evening. The big dinner restaurant is quite noisy due to all the guests and waiters.
* Reservation: a mistake was done and we did not get our reserved room the first night. We had to change the day after. The hotel tried different solutions but in the end, they gave us a better room for one night and a bottle of champagne, but this unfortunately did not compensate for the room change you must do after one night. This messed up quite good the start of our holidays.
* Room: the “traditional farm oven” does not give much heat and we asked for an extra mobile heater in the room. Also, the Jacuzzi in some rooms is really a gadget as you have one of the biggest European SPA in the hotel. Do not bother about this bubble bath. No flat screen display but a DVD player. Peignoir & slippers are available but we got two ladies peignoir so I was looking a bit silly walking around with my too-small peignoir. I think I could have asked for another one I guess. Slippers are not changed during your stay as they get quite dirty if you use them in the pool and sauna area. Better take your personal slippers with you.
* Neustift: the ski slopes are quite a long way from this hotel and they can be reached only by car or shuttle. There are some slopes in Neustift but they are rather difficult and there are only a couple of them. The location of the hotel is on the outside of the town so it is very quiet.

Overall opinion: As we had very bad weather during our stay, we stayed most of the time in the hotel (pool & spa). We liked it so much that we stayed one extra night! This place is really good. It is not a 5-star Palace but still a very good ski-tourism hotel. The price is quite high, but you cannot go wrong with this Relais & Chateaux hotel in the Tirol mountains!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissSpaceBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My son had been here in 2007 along with his cousin. My nephew raved about it, calling it a "Viking Palace". While he may have missed the mark in terms of ethnicity, he was spot on in describing the Jagd as outstanding. We were here for two nights in December, complete with all the decorations and senses of the season. The personal touch of Armin and Tina make you truly feel like guests in their home. The food was delicious and plentiful, served by an efficient and engaging staff. We even were given a private tour of the wine cellar. Our room was warm and inviting. The little touches like a drink upon arrival and a plate of various cookies left in your room only add to the sense you are family. While we were there it snowed one whole day. Just to relax in the spa watching the snow fall, reading and napping, taking advantage of the spa amenities, and seeing the people playing in the outdoor pool was an experience I do not think I will ever forget. Here I am a month later wondering when I can return.

From arrival to departure I would recommend the Jagdhof to all as the perfect escape.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bemvindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neustift im Stubaital
1.0 km away
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
#4 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
166 reviews
1.2 km away
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
#6 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
173 reviews
2.4 km away
Forster's Naturresort
Forster's Naturresort
#1 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Interalpen-Hotel Tyrol
1.4 km away
Alpenhotel Kindl
Alpenhotel Kindl
#10 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
162 reviews
3.8 km away
Vitalhotel Edelweiss
Vitalhotel Edelweiss
#2 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagdhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagdhof

Property: Hotel Jagdhof
Address: Scheibe 44, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Neustift im Stubaital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#3 Luxury Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#4 Family Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
Price range (per night): $550 - $900
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Jagdhof 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jagdhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagdhof Hotel Neustift Im Stubaital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing