We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Obzor Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$61
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Jemelly(Obzor)(Great Value!)
US$20
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Coral(Obzor)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dom Barbov(Obzor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
127
93
48
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
93
48
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom apartmentlanguages includingsmall childrencoffee machinelate augustreception staffearly afternoonbeach barevery morningpeace and quietjet skigreat holidaycleaned every daypoolsmicrowavebarsbulgaria
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This is a very small resort. But extremely clean and quiet. The beach is wonderful and although we were all inclusive there is a charge of 7 lev per sunbed or umbrella. The food in the restaurants is fairly good and reasonably cheap my only gripe is none of the restaurants do children's menus or portions so you pay full price. And the waiting staff are extremely hit and miss.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Even though it was more expensive than our last holiday in Bulgaria we booked the Obzor Beach Resort because we were impressed with the youtube video’s made by the Scandinavian owners and it was 4 star. What we got was a mix of 4 stars to 0 stars.
On arriving the Reception was not particularly friendly though polite if you accept things like ‘I need your passports’ without a please or a thank you as polite and it was the quickest check-in we have ever experienced. We got our keycard, were told in which building our apartment was and in which building we would eat and the times for meals and that was it. Nothing about the Amenities, Animation, WLAN, Housekeeping etc. and so we assumed there would be a folder in the Apartment but there was nothing. You had to find out by asking or looking at the notices on the walls to find out anything.
There were a number of swimming pools and a large number of sun loungers and the resort is right on the beach so a really good location for a beach holiday.

Now let’s get the zero stars item out of the way. The lights in the corridors and stairwell come on automatically with Sensors, however the lights in the stairwell didn’t work for the whole two weeks we were there. So if you left or came back after dark it was best to use the lift. If there had been a fire then with 5 floors and 7 apartments per floor there would have been an awful lot of people many with small children trying to get down the stairwell in the pitch dark.

The Apartment itself was in our opinion 4 star, quite large, very clean and very well equipped. The kitchen had a microwave plus a hob and an oven and all the utensils you could need. Separate air conditioning units in the living room and the bedroom. The TV had a wide selection of channels in many languages including some pay channels. The WLAN had a few short periods when it wasn’t available but the signal was good in the apartment and I had download speeds of over 30Mb/sec, so very good indeed. Only the Balcony was a little small at about 2M x 1M of usable space but okay for two people.
The only information we got about the house keeping was that the apartments were cleaned several times a week. Housekeeping came in every day but often just emptied the waste bins. The towels were changed regularly and the bedding after the first week. Our bed was made on 4 days during our stay the rest of the time we had to make it ourselves.

The main problem was the food, I’m sorry but it was terrible.
The best part was breakfast where the hot choice was very good with 2 or 3 types of sausage, bacon, boiled egg, scrambled egg and fried egg plus baked beans and mixed vegetables (peas, carrots and sweetcorn) but it was always cold or Luke warm. Other thing were less varied for example there were 2 containers for breakfast cereal but the staff filled them both with corn-flakes or both with coco-pops so you didn’t get a choice. When things ran out often nothing was done until a guest asked or complained. If you wanted margarine rather than butter then you were out of luck. On 4 days the rolls ran out (by 9AM) so we didn’t get any and on 1 day there were no more rolls or bread and when my wife asked one of the staff about it she laughed pointed at the guests and said they’ve eaten it all. If you wanted jam then sometimes there was none, all the other times only one flavor. In theory there were 3 choices of tea (black, Earl grey and Fruit) but the staff mostly filled the whole thing with one flavor so if it wasn’t the one you wanted, bad luck. We ended up buying our own jam and black tea bags and taking them with us to breakfast.

Far worse than breakfast was the evening meal, it was always cold or Luke warm and nearly always meat stew, vegetable stew and meat in cream sauce. There were sometimes other things but the only things labeled were usually the standard dishes and so you often didn’t know what the other things were. One night they had meatballs but 45minutes after service started we went in and there was only 1 left. I put it on my plate and pointed out to a staff member that there were no more meatballs and she disappeared into the kitchen. It was over 10 minutes before she came out with a tray and it turned out to be exactly the same thing as was in the adjacent tray, so no meatballs. When I pointed at it she just shrugged. You had pasta and rice but there were never any vegetables except Rustic Potatoes (thinly sliced potatoes lightly cooked). So no peas carrots or anything else (unless they were in the stew). As a sweet I like ice cream but no there was a machine but it wasn’t plugged in and didn’t look as if it had been used for a long time. That the kitchen could supply hot meals was proved on the Thursday when a Russian group arrived for some sort of meeting. When the head of the group spoke to the staff they jumped about really quickly and gave him what he wanted and that evening there was more choice than ever before that can’t be a coincidence and the kitchen staff brought out the trays holding them with towels (normally they held them in their bare hands) and the water to keep them hot was steaming. It was the only hot meal we had during our whole stay. One of the options, a small roasted pig which you could carve yourself appeared not only on this day but as it wasn’t all eaten on the following 3 days as well.
After a few days my wife gave up and just ate salads where there was also little choice it was tomatoes, cucumber or a mix of tomatoes, cucumber and feta cheese and that was it.

We didn’t have children with us but mostly they like things such as Pizza or Chicken nuggets and of course French fries but there were none of these things on offer not even French fries though lots of ‘Rustic potatoes’.

Would we ever return to the Obzor Beach Resort - most definitely not.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

A very long beach with all you need for a great holiday, miles of sandy beach, cafes and bars dotted along the front, pay for facilities such as sunbeds, parasailing, jet ski hire and lot's more, free beach areas for your own sunbeds/umbrellas.

A short walk down from the main street of Obzor with it's wide variety of shops, bars and everything the tourist needs.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JednSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

great holiday, the apartment was clean although the beds were too hard, we had clean towels and the bins emptied every day, the location was amazing, the staff we polite, the bus into obzor is great as the atmosphere there in the evening around the square is lovely - only fault they just have not got the timings right around meals, we were a party of four and quite often would eat separately as one would finish their meal the other would just be getting theirs. Very glad we did not go all inclusive as evenings into Obzor were great and the prices to eat out are very cheap - we would recommend coming here

Room Tip: book 2 rooms for 4 adults - the sofa bed is not comfortable for adults to sleep on
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thevisitors007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in late August for a week getaway with my boyfriend. We chose this hotel mainly for the prime location on the beach.
We arrived and we're checked in swiftly, only downside was having to pay 50 lev for the safe for a week which we were under the impression was free of charge. Other than that the other amenities available were good, the wifi was free, reliable and fast (it even reached from the beach). Sometimes the reception staff could be a little lazy, and we often had to wait whilst the only person on the desk was busy answering mobile phones or dealing with another customer despite a queue and other reception staff being there.
Our room was situated on the ground floor facing with a 'mountain view', although it was more of the road and trees. As we were self catering, we were impressed with the kitchenette, supplied with a toaster, microwave, coffee machine and pans for the hob too. Only downside to the room that we found was there were lots of flies in there already and our shower appeared to leak all over the floor every time it was turned on.
Housekeeping we're okay, they came almost every day and changed the towels and toilet roll, although for 3 days towards the end of our stay they didn't come at all and we had to ask at reception for more toilet roll, which was supplied to us no problem.
The pool area was always clean, except the pools themselves were very cold and it was usually overcast from the early afternoon. They were also quite shallow for adults, although I guess this is good for children.
Weather was a little windy and the sea could be rough at times but this can't be helped.

Overall was a good holiday, lots of nice places to eat in town and nice little market shops to look at.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank beth2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews