We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt so unwelcomed”
Review of GRAINS DE SIECLE

GRAINS DE SIECLE
Ranked #16 of 142 Restaurants in Aubagne
Price range: US$24 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restauration de plats et salades composées très généreuse dans un cadre agréable possède une des plus belles terrasses de la vieille ville et le choix entre 2 salles très chaleureuses , le chef et propriétaire du grains de siècle vous régalera avec grand plaisir restaurant ouvert 7/7 midi et soir
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were terribly disappointed today. We have eaten here before and have been very pleased. It has a lovely shaded terrace, away from traffic, with a very good menu. Today was our first outing since the beginning of the pandemic, and we were really looking forward to lunch here. Parking proved to be easy today causing us to arrive a little early, so we walked around the block a few times. When the bells rang at noon, we arrived to ask for a table. Yes, we were the first ones there, so I understand if we aren't seated immediately. But the hostess must have passed us three times. No "bonjour." No "j'arrive." No "deux minutes." No smile. No eye contact. She was clearly mad at us for just being there. Not ones to stay where we are not wanted, we left, and walked down the hill to Le Florentin where we were treated very well, so the day was ultimately saved. We will probably try Grains de Siecle again, because maybe it was just a bad day. We all have them. It can be forgiven. But if this is their new normal, nope.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Aubagne for 10 days and one night we decided to go for a meal locally. I have traveled around the world and I have never experienced such an appalling service in my life. The waitress was working alone on Friday evening with full restaurant. Our food was good but that was it. After finishing our mains we wanted to order dessert. Waitress didn’t even made eye contact for 45 minutes and was running around very busy restaurant on her own which was very sad to see. She rolled her eyes when I finally went to her myself to ask about dessert menu. After looking at all this for another 20 minutes we changed our mind about the dessert which was a shame because I had my mother with me and it was her last evening with us and we just wanted to have nice relaxed family meal which was ruined. Note to the management of this place: you are exploiting your staff forcing them working in this conditions and also you are destroying customers plans and expectations and also embarrassing yourself and your own country. Shame on you.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Vic2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

This was by far the tops in town during a week stay. Location is in the old medieval quarter. We ate here threes times. They have a very attractive dining room and a large terrace that has some canopy cover for rain.
They don't speak English, so have your French menu translations ready. But the service was very pleasant and attentive, Beef filets were the top. The classic coquille St Jacques is also a winner. Save room for the fabulous dessert. They have out of this world tiramisu.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Real frenchj dishes made with professionality and with good taste. Obviously we talk about the French kitchen and moreover we are not on the sea, then...the kitchen is made with vegetables, meat, galletes and sweets.. Very nice place, at least a little bit slow form the order to the service, but the wait is valid. Not so expensive, in the average, about 20-30 € per person without wine and coffee and sweets.
Suggested!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tia19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

The waitress spoke no English and we spoke no French. We managed with some online translation. We sat indoors and got an idea of what was to come from the lovely aroma emanating from the kitchen. The salad was indeed larged sized and the smoked salmon delicious. The best was the beef, fillet mignon, with black pepper gravy.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MrTBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GRAINS DE SIECLE also viewed

Aubagne, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aubagne, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aubagne, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aubagne, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to GRAINS DE SIECLE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.