We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Ilios Studios(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Anna(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latania(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dias Hotel & Apartments(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anastasia Hotel(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bella Vista Apartments Stalis(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nikos Apartments(Stalis)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
367
74
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
74
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior studiocrazy greek bingobbq nightstandard apartmentgreek nightpool barthe main roadbusy roadevery other daynext yearair conshop next doormarias golden beachgreat apartmentsplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaygreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the Rainbow apartments in September 2012 in a one bedroom superior apartment. The apartment itself was perfectly acceptable. It was clean, spacious and well equipped.

The pool area was very nice and we never had any trouble getting sunbeds.

The apartments are situated on a busy main road, with lots of passing cars, coaches, vans, mopeds and quad bikes. We were unfortunate to be in an apartment on the front of the complex and could hear the noise from the road with all the doors closed. Sitting on the balcony wasn't a pleasant experience, due to the noise from the road, though you had the benefit of a sea view.

To add to the noise, in the evening they open a bar at the front of the complex. This is right in front of some of the apartments and closes at midnight, though anyone drinking stays around for sometime after that. Some nights it was quiet, but other nights it was very noisy as the revellers enjoyed their drinks after the bar closed.

It might be very different if you are staying in one of the apartments at the back of the complex, where I would expect it to be quieter. I would recommend contacting the owners to request an apartment at the rear of the complex, or take earplugs to ensure a decent nights sleep if you end up at the front.

To get to the bars, restaurants and beach you will need to cross the road, which is busy. There is an underpass which you can use.

There are some excellent tavernas and bars in the resort. We enjoyed meals at numerous restaurants including Romantic Corner (our favourite for food and location), Pelegos (best value), Maria's Golden Beach and Roma.

Drink prices varied, but you could get a large beer for €1.60, €2.00 or €2.50 depending on the bars you visited. Many of the bars back onto the sea, and offer fabulous views, including those that charge €1.60.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank acp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in Stalis Crete, based at The Rainbow Apartments. I would highly recommend Rainbow as an excellent base to explore the island. I was travelling with a friend booked into one of the standard rooms. This was more than adequate - large twin bedded room, small kitchen (more than adequate), dining table and couch (additional bed) and balconies off the dining area and bedrooom - both with sea view. The rooms were spotlessly clean with maid service and clean bedding/towels etc. on alternate days, the pool was clean and the gardens well tended. The pool bar was great and the food wonderful. The staff (Eddie, Netti and Deliah at the bar and Maria the owner) were friendly, eager to make sure you enjoy your holiday. On Saturday evening they do a Barbeque for 10 Euros which was great value and gave the opportunity to meet some of the other guests - from England, Italy, Venezuala and Brazil! The apartments are on the main beach road but in August (peak season) we had no trouble crossing and was not noisy when sitting round the pool. The supermarket is on this road just at the side of the apartments and is well-stocked (no lugging bottled water for miles). The beach is a 5 minute walk across the road and is beautiful - sandy and gently shelving - ideal for everyone including families. Stalis itself has plenty of fantastic restaurants and bars - and if you really want more excitement Hersonnisos and Malia are well within bus or taxi distance (we didn't bother - not our scene). I would highly recommend Stalis and more importantly Rainbow. Visits to Knossos and Spinalonger are a must. I would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want added space.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinaR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Good apartments in an excellent location, just few minutes to the beach and bars. Pool,sunbeds and bar were excellent. Maria the owner was very helpful as our suitcase didn't arrive on the transfer coach and she helped us make numerous phone calls (eventually got it back on return to the airport). Eddie and all the staff were very friendly and the BBQ night was a good laugh well worth the money.
The standard one bed apartment was basic but adequate, lovely sea and pool views and a big balconey.
Only bad point was the air con which was one small unit in the bedroom and was useless and for anyone sleeping in the lounge had no effect. Would recommend taking fans as it was so hot at night. Would def. recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank judySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned from the Rainbow Apartments,I was very dissapointed as I had read the reviews before booking, the place lacked any atmosphere at all !!!!!. These apartments are next to a very busy road you have to cross to get the resort, either by underpass or take your life in your hands, the noise from this road is horrendous,there is no quiet time at all, the buzz of traffic is constant,I found the owner to be surley, she did not speak unless spoken to and then did not always answer . the bar staff Eddi and Netti are in a relationship, were like school children, petting and sitting about on each other, they run the bar and entertainment, if that is what you can call it !!!, signs around the pool , dictate rather than request, i.e dont rather than a polite PLEASE dont eat or drink food not bought at the bar, which is expensive to say the least, i.e chip butty 3 euro , 0.4 litre of local beer 2.50 euro, and a glass of cheap coke from a bottle 2 euro, the aparments look clean but are only given a lick and a promise every other day, 2 cleaners , 5 mins tops, floors very dusty, the toilet bin which stunk was also on emptied every other day ,sheets were only changed once during a weeks stay, and the cleaners went rooting in the wardrobe , looking for towels whilst I was in the apartment, Kitchen consists of 2 rings and an electric kettle and fridge.There are 2 bars one around the pool which was open during the day, and the other, which was located near reception on an evening, this bar is 6 feet away from the very noisy road, dimly lit ,wicker chairs that are falling to pieces,and a concrete bench with cushions on it, with the so called entertainment of wii games and the likes of,music could not be heard because of traffic noise, air con for the week is 49 euro,Stalis is a lovely resort which I would return to ,but definately not the Rainbow Apartments

Room Tip: not facing on to the road
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindyloo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Having just returned from two weeks (july) at these apartments, I would highly recommend them. Maria is very efficient in the running of the hotel, Eddi, Netti and Delia what can I say.... you are all amazing. I stayed here as a single parent with two 16 yr old boys who thouroughly enjoyed themselves, crazy greek bingo, barbecue night, pasta night and wii bowling they did not want to leave the apartments. There is food available for all tastes, one vegetarian and one allergic to dairy, both easily fed. Having friends in other aprtments, Panorama and Sergianni I must say Rainbow was easily the best. Rainbow is situated just off the main road and a very short walk takes you to the beach, buses run every 15 mins (a 5 min walk away) to Ag Nic and Heraklion. They are extremely clean and well maintained and could not fault them. Netti, Eddi and Delia are great at keeping you entertained and made to feel at home. There are not enough words to say how brilliant this place is. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews