We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in every way”
Review of Proteas Blu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Proteas Blu Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We came for a week's relaxation and the Proteus Blue suited us perfectly. It has a fantastic situation and dining on the terrace with a huge panorama over the Aegean and out to Turkey was a highlight. There is a close attention to detail. We felt welcomed and fussed over, everyone smiled and was happy to engage in conversation, little unexpected presents came to the room. The quality of food was very high and the buffet spreads for breakfast and dinner offered every conceivable choice.
We spent most time at the beach, down a steep path, but there is also a beautiful pool and both have smart bars and ultra-comfortable sun beds. When we arrived at the beginning of June the hotel was half-full but even when full later it never seemed too busy.
Proteus Blue is a privately-owned hotel and the presence of the owner dining each evening showed her confidence in her staff. She should be proud of them.

Room Tip: We had a room in the hotel with a balcony and a beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JuliandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017


Dear JuliandyP

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort for the valuable period of your holidays!

We are very delighted to know that you had such a pleasant stay here and thank you for your time to sharing it with us.

Your special reference to our hospitality is very important to us, since it is our main priority, as well as the quality of the food and beverages.

We will be happy to convey your kind words to the owner of our hotel on your behalf.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in our premises again!

Have a pleasant rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived early June and loving every minute. Probably a more expensive hotel than we usually book but we have not been disappointed. We love Greek islands and have never visited Samos before. We don't like hiring a car so yes we do limit ourselves to walking and taxis or buses. So far the hotel has everything that we need, wonderful breakfasts with a huge hot buffet selection and cold meats, fresh fruit, patisseries and breads. Also a chef to prepare your made to order omelette is there to entertain you. I enjoy swimming in the sea and there is a safe bay to swim or snorkel, it's so refreshing but if you prefer, the hotel pool is fabulous and the variety of lounging beds is something I have never witnessed before? Because of the steep slopes or many steps, access can appear difficult but you can call for a buggy to take you up or down the slope. We have eaten in the buffet style restaurant which was excellent but we prefer to walk down to the town to try the local restaurants. The town has more than enough restaurants to cater for a week's holiday and sitting in a bar on the waterside watching the wide range of boats that are moored up along the quay is delightful. I love a luxury base with a good breakfast, fantastic evening dining is available at the hotel if you prefer and wonderful sea and pool facilities, the staff are very helpful and plentiful. No complaints except we have to go home soon.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexandra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Alexandra25

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort to spend your precious holidays.

Your comments regarding to the luxury of our facilities, give us great joy as we realize that you enjoyed the tranquility and relaxation our hotel provides.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, as well as the quality and variety of the food at the restaurants.

It is very encouraging to know that we managed to meet your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again at our premises and maybe for a longer stay next time!

Wishing you an enjoyable rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Krtikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My husband and I travelled to Samos in June, this was our first visit to the Island

The hotel is lovely and is kept well. Its location is out of the town and the reception staff are happy to call you a taxi which is 7 Eoro there and 5 Euro's back. We walked a couple of times which took 45 minutes up and down steep gravel pathways.

The hotel is not suitable for people who have mobility issues as its on a steep hill.

The rooms are very basic and not what we would class as 5 star. The bathrooms need updating as they are very old. They are very clean though

The pool area is stunning and so is the beach. The girl who works at the pool bar (I think she is from Slovenia) is fantastic and goes that extra mile to ensure you have a nice time.

Good choice for breakfast. The chef at breakfast also deserves a mention as he is fantastic

We did not try any of the restaurants as gentleman must wear long trousers, collared shirts and closed toe shoes. We were not informed of this by Thomson's before we departed so we did not pack accordingly. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in the Middle East where the dresscode has not been as strict.

The hotel DO NOT change up currency which is odd as its so rural from the town.



The hotel;

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samanthacox2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear samanthacox2402

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu for your holiday destination.

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve every day.

We appreciate your comments about our staff. They are very rewarding as we do our best to offer our guests a memorable stay!

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service at the pool and the beach as well. On the other hand we are sorry that did not meet all your expectations.

Kindly note that the dress code at our restaurants is Smart Casual, according to our policy to ensure high standards.

We have taken into consideration all your comments and suggestions as we are always looking for ways to become better and offer a memorable stay to our quests.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Proteas Blu, and wish a great rest of the summer for you!


#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Went to Proteas with my girlfriend for a week in June 2017. Perfect weather at this time of year 24-25 degrees. And not to many people at the hotell. The service is splendid from start to end, and the facilities are also top notch. It looks like all the rooms have the ocean view as they say and it is quite a view. The poolbar/restaurant is very close when you want a break from the sun with good food and drinks. And if you just wanna hang in the beach all the time you can just push a little button that is placed on every sun bed and a person from the bar will serve you from the place you lay. Proteas lays in a steep hill butt the walk to the beach or pool is not far. (Tip: go 50 meters to the side of the main beach and there are small madrasses hanging from ropes 2-3 meters from the beach, you can ajust the roof on these to vary how much sun you want.

Food: Try the fresh lamp chops in the A La Carte restaurant, very very good! After we ate the lamb we said that they should have something with chocolate on the desert meny, they said they were sorry and that they would consider that. The the day after when when we were laying on the beach, suddenly two ladies from the restaurant came with vanilla ice cream and chocolate suffle. On the house!

The buffè dinner was ok+

Sum it up. Amazing beach area. Very good pool area. Friendly staff. Good service. Good food.

Can recommend.





Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sverreflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Sverreflem

We would like to thank you for selecting our premises for your holiday getaway and for sharing your positive review with us.

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay here, as It is our goal to offer our guests a memorable stay.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food at our Π2Theory gourmet restaurant and of all our facilities, as well as the friendliness and the service of our staff. Your kind words will be conveyed to them on your behalf.

It will be great to welcome you again in the future.

We are wishing you a wonderful remainder of summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

As a couple we decided to visit the Island of Samos in May 2017 for natural explorations.
Because we also wanted to get married while being in Greece we chose Proteas Blu Resort as our hotel for this trip - and we were very lucky to do so!

The resort is calm and beautiful. It lies in a picturesque bay near Pythagoreio and was the perfect starting point for our trips to explore the Island. On ocassion of our wedding we allowed ourselves to a luxurious suite, where we were able to relax in a private pool.
The hotel-staff is very professional but also friendly and cordial. Every day we were indulged with small gifts on our room.

The breakfast buffet leaves no wishes unfulfilled: greek coffee, fresh fruits, pancakes, english and continental aspects. The dinner buffet is a fantastic and diverse mixture of traditional greek food and haute cuisine. The food is presented very tastefully - a pleasure for both the eye as well as the tongue.

Our wedding for two was ambitiously organized by the hotel staff and very romantic. The scenery at the beach makes the perfect location for pictures. A candle light dinner with view of the ocean, a bed of roses and a floating breakfast in the pool made our wedding unforgettable.

All in all Proteas Blu is a wonderful and luxurious hotel were you can feel the greek hospitality!

PS.: The islands nature in May is also fascinating ;)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trachylepis_aurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Trachylepis_aurata,

Thank you so much for choosing Proteas Blu Resort not only for your precious holidays, but also for choosing it as your ideal place to join your lives together!

We are delighted we were able to offer you the unique experience you were dreaming about!

Your special reference to our service and staff is greatly appreciated. It is encouraging to know that our goal to respond to our guests’ needs has been achieved.

The fact that you appreciated the small gifts that we put in our guests’ rooms means a lot to us, as it is our own way to say thank you for your preference and show you that you are special.

We are also happy you were fully satisfied from the quality and variety of our food. It is important for us to know that we provide the culinary experience that our guests deserve.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at Proteas Blu Resort!

We wish you an enjoyable summer!

#SEAyousoon!

PBR Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
3.1 km away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
439 reviews
2.8 km away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
667 reviews
13.1 km away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
267 reviews
0.3 km away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#14 of 37 in Pythagorion
133 reviews
7.8 km away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proteas Blu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Blu Resort

Address: Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range: S$144 - S$405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Proteas Blu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique environment to enjoy in magnificent scenery Laid back and experience stress free holidays. Proteas Blu Resort in a tranquility atmosphere shows character and inspires a sense of familiarity. After the warm welcome sense the friendliness of the people. Feel comfortable within "Proteas family" while taking part in numerous activities or by chilling and resting your mind. Accommodation facilities are wonderful and the food is superb. In PB you will have quality time...Actually the time will be all yours. Proteas Blu Resort is the most finest and luxurious beach front resort on the Island of Samos. Guest's accommodations looking to the sea are spread out on Mediterranean landscaped terraces situated on a naturally secluded bay having two private beaches. The unique architectural personality, the elegant accommodation and the tranquil setting offers majestic views of the blue marine seas surrounding the Aegean Islands and the Anatolian coasts. Together with the highly personalized and eminently friendly service satisfies the needs of the most distinguished traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Proteas Blu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proteas Blu Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Proteas Bay
Proteas Blu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing