We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Proteas Blu Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Damo(Pythagorion)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Naftilos(Pythagorion)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$168
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samaina Hotel(Pythagorion)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Evelin Hotel(Pythagorion)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anthis Studios(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kouros Bay Hotel(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollon(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
320
144
35
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
144
35
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach barpanorama restaurantturkeymain buildinggolf buggiesmemorable staywater shoesrecharge your batteriesgala dinneroverlooking the seasteep hillgreek nightevery morningupgraded to a suitebuffet restaurantcomfortable sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Having researched this hotel and many more using trip advisor, most comments are true and accurate and you couldn't beat the place for a quiet, relaxing getaway, but my points to note are the hotel is more a 45 minute walk downhill snaking round the road and there is no pavement and I wouldn't risk coming back in the dark definitely need a taxi. The Panorama restaurant was lovely, but the main doors onto the terrace were permanently open and there didn't appear to be any air conditioning on inside and with little or no breeze on the terrace it felt like a furnace every night, which did put me off eating due to the heat. I also asked for a glass of house white wine and was told that they only serve their local Muscat wine by the glass, but I could buy a bottle of wine if I wanted and save the rest for later in the week, but as my other half isn't really a wine drinker I declined their offer. The sun loungers on the beach were great and the waiter service for drinks sets you up for a real lazy way to spend the day, but the loungers are packed in quite tightly, which is a shame as it is a private bay after all. I paid for a superior seafront bungalow, which I didn't get initially but having asked them I did get moved a day later as the hotel was full on the day we checked in. I felt the bathrooms let the hotel down and a previous reviewer commented that they needed updating, I would concur as there were cracked tiles and really the bathroom suites need replacing. I know the above is possibly down to personal opinion and people's expectations are different, but having been to most of the greek islands I was left slightly disappointed by a 5* hotel, which didn't quite meet the criteria.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank funlovingfreeloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear funlovingfreeloader,

Thank you for selecting Proteas Blu to spend your holidays in the island of Samos.

We appreciate that you took the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations.

Thank you for mentioning the luxury of our facilities, the good service but also the serenity and peacefulness that our premises can offer.

We have taken it into consideration all your comments as our aim is to improve.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Proteas Blu Resort and offer you an even better holiday experience!

We wish you an enjoyable rest of the summer!


#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Just had a lovely relaxing week here,service is excellent,all the staff really helpful especially the receptionists, nothing too much trouble, the hotel is more out on a limb than I expected but this wasn't a problem,you just get a taxi into Pythagorio in the evenings, 7euros down, 5 euros back, as much as we like walking it really was too far to walk in the heat.Plenty of restaurants to choose from there, we did eat twice at the hotel and the food was good, they also do a good breakfast.
Plenty of beds around the pool and the beach, pleasant change to not have the "putting the towels out" scenario you get at some resorts.
All in all a lovely quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear susanhants,

We would like to thank you for choosing our premises for your holidays in the island.
It is very kind of you to write such a nice comment in your review regarding to all the staff of Proteas Blu Resort.

We do our very best to provide our guests a wonderful holiday by offering them optimum service in a high and competitive environment. Thank you for confirming us the efforts we are constantly making and we assure you that we will pass on our staff your kind words on your behalf.

It’s a great joy to know that you enjoyed the luxury of the facilities and the quality of the food our resort offers.
We hope we have the chance, to have you visiting us again sometime in the future.

Wishing you a great rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Krtikou
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We came for a week's relaxation and the Proteus Blue suited us perfectly. It has a fantastic situation and dining on the terrace with a huge panorama over the Aegean and out to Turkey was a highlight. There is a close attention to detail. We felt welcomed and fussed over, everyone smiled and was happy to engage in conversation, little unexpected presents came to the room. The quality of food was very high and the buffet spreads for breakfast and dinner offered every conceivable choice.
We spent most time at the beach, down a steep path, but there is also a beautiful pool and both have smart bars and ultra-comfortable sun beds. When we arrived at the beginning of June the hotel was half-full but even when full later it never seemed too busy.
Proteus Blue is a privately-owned hotel and the presence of the owner dining each evening showed her confidence in her staff. She should be proud of them.

Room Tip: We had a room in the hotel with a balcony and a beautiful sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JuliandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017


Dear JuliandyP

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort for the valuable period of your holidays!

We are very delighted to know that you had such a pleasant stay here and thank you for your time to sharing it with us.

Your special reference to our hospitality is very important to us, since it is our main priority, as well as the quality of the food and beverages.

We will be happy to convey your kind words to the owner of our hotel on your behalf.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in our premises again!

Have a pleasant rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived early June and loving every minute. Probably a more expensive hotel than we usually book but we have not been disappointed. We love Greek islands and have never visited Samos before. We don't like hiring a car so yes we do limit ourselves to walking and taxis or buses. So far the hotel has everything that we need, wonderful breakfasts with a huge hot buffet selection and cold meats, fresh fruit, patisseries and breads. Also a chef to prepare your made to order omelette is there to entertain you. I enjoy swimming in the sea and there is a safe bay to swim or snorkel, it's so refreshing but if you prefer, the hotel pool is fabulous and the variety of lounging beds is something I have never witnessed before? Because of the steep slopes or many steps, access can appear difficult but you can call for a buggy to take you up or down the slope. We have eaten in the buffet style restaurant which was excellent but we prefer to walk down to the town to try the local restaurants. The town has more than enough restaurants to cater for a week's holiday and sitting in a bar on the waterside watching the wide range of boats that are moored up along the quay is delightful. I love a luxury base with a good breakfast, fantastic evening dining is available at the hotel if you prefer and wonderful sea and pool facilities, the staff are very helpful and plentiful. No complaints except we have to go home soon.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexandra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Alexandra25

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort to spend your precious holidays.

Your comments regarding to the luxury of our facilities, give us great joy as we realize that you enjoyed the tranquility and relaxation our hotel provides.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, as well as the quality and variety of the food at the restaurants.

It is very encouraging to know that we managed to meet your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again at our premises and maybe for a longer stay next time!

Wishing you an enjoyable rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Krtikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My husband and I travelled to Samos in June, this was our first visit to the Island

The hotel is lovely and is kept well. Its location is out of the town and the reception staff are happy to call you a taxi which is 7 Eoro there and 5 Euro's back. We walked a couple of times which took 45 minutes up and down steep gravel pathways.

The hotel is not suitable for people who have mobility issues as its on a steep hill.

The rooms are very basic and not what we would class as 5 star. The bathrooms need updating as they are very old. They are very clean though

The pool area is stunning and so is the beach. The girl who works at the pool bar (I think she is from Slovenia) is fantastic and goes that extra mile to ensure you have a nice time.

Good choice for breakfast. The chef at breakfast also deserves a mention as he is fantastic

We did not try any of the restaurants as gentleman must wear long trousers, collared shirts and closed toe shoes. We were not informed of this by Thomson's before we departed so we did not pack accordingly. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in the Middle East where the dresscode has not been as strict.

The hotel DO NOT change up currency which is odd as its so rural from the town.



The hotel;

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samanthacox2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear samanthacox2402

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu for your holiday destination.

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve every day.

We appreciate your comments about our staff. They are very rewarding as we do our best to offer our guests a memorable stay!

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service at the pool and the beach as well. On the other hand we are sorry that did not meet all your expectations.

Kindly note that the dress code at our restaurants is Smart Casual, according to our policy to ensure high standards.

We have taken into consideration all your comments and suggestions as we are always looking for ways to become better and offer a memorable stay to our quests.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Proteas Blu, and wish a great rest of the summer for you!


#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews