We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Proteas Blu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Proteas Blu Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Its always daunting when booking a hotel and the anxious drive up the front door wondering if it will meet your expectations but we really didn't have to worry. This hotel is first class and the pros far outweigh the cons so lets start with them.
The welcome on arrival was friendly and we were given a drink while we filled out the registration forms. The bungalows are all set on a very steep hill and a golf cart delivered us to the room which was clean, spacious and had a lovely view of the sea. We were at the top of the hill in room 326.
The restaurants, bars are all clean, with friendly staff and a fairly good choice of food most of the time. The one slight let down was the lack of lunchtime snacks. They did actually start doing some in our second week but they weren't really the type of snacks most people wanted. A few sandwiches /rolls etc would have been better. We were booked in for B & B and the breakfast had plenty of variety and was freshly put out during the entire time the buffet was open.
Pool was large with plenty of loungers etc but we didn't really use it opting for the beach where it was cooler with a breeze off the sea. Again plenty of loungers, bed chairs etc and each umbrella had a call button to order drinks. One warning the beach is typical Greek pebble/stone and you do need beach shoes to go in the water which was clear and wonderful to swim in. Towels are provided and changed as often as you wish.
As said earlier the bungalows are on a very steep hill so be prepared although you can ring reception to collect you in the golf cart.
The walk to the town is a steep downhill trek which takes 35-40 minutes and in my opinion is dangerous as there is no paths for most of the walk and the cars belt up and down the road. A taxi there and back is 7 euros going 5 back and safer.
Choice of restaurants is good in Pythagorion and we ate down there most nights. Having said that the food in the hotel buffet in the evening was excellent too.
A couple of cons. The air conditioning in the bungalows just isn't good enough. Although temperature did hit 40 while we were there it must be expected and the norm to have temperatures like that. The poor air con made sleeping difficult. My only other slight gripe is that you are a captive audience being 35-40 minutes from town and drinks are not cheap, 6 euros for a beer, cocktails 10-12 euros. Having said that these were the only two small gripes and as I said earlier the plusses far outweighed the cons.
I wold definitely go back.and recommend anyone try it. No children in the hotel even though I love kids I have to say was a plus.

Room Tip: Best views at the top of the hill nearest to the beach at the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mikey1952uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Mikey1952uk,

We would like to thank you for selecting our premises for your holidays and for sharing your positive review with us!

Your special reference to the friendliness and professionalism of our staff as well as, to the quality of the food, the outstanding view and the luxury of our facilities, are much appreciated.

It is rewarding to see such comments as it is our goal to convey the tranquil atmosphere of our Resort to our guests. Thank you for mentioning our Couples and Adults Only policy.

All your remarks have been noted, as we always try to improve and provide our quests with quality service.

Having the chance, to welcome you again sometime in the future will give us a great joy!

Wishing you a great rest of the summer

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Ok hotel with a nice pool area. The staff provides very slow service. Takes about 30 min to get a cup of coffee. Glasses at the restaurants are very dirty. High prices on all the food at the pool bar for example 12€ For a bad Mojito and 13€ For a traditional greek souvlaki.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karohet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Resort is spread down a steep hillside, be prepared for lots of walking through the gardens, watch your step!
Stayed in 702 overlooking the sea, nice room with stunning view over sea to Turkey.
Stayed on B&B basis, temperature was 90 to 115 for the whole 2 weeks which made the 2km walk into Pythagorio each evening too much to bear. Taxis are 12 euros return.
We hired a quad bike for a week which was excellent, Samos is a lovely island.
We explored everywhere, mountain views in the West were superb.
Nice restaurant on road at Spatherei.
Waterfall walk at Patami exciting too for an adventure, take water shoes.
Resort beach got crowded at times but is very scenic with lovely clear waters.
Good selection for breakfast and made use of fridge in room to stock up on water, beer etc as drinks prices expensive eg. 10 or 12 euros for a cocktail, 7 for a beer and 3 for a small coke.
Greek dancing at beach bar was good but lacked a bit of atmosphere as poorly attended,
By midnight the bars are often deserted in the hotel, maybe due to the high drinks prices.
Played tennis, nice court.
Pythagorio is nice, we enjoyed the restaurants further back the best, away from the harbour.
Owing to remote location would expect more entertainment and lower drinks prices to encourage guests to stay on the resort.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philtrueman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear philtrueman2017,

Thank you for choosing our premises for your vacations!

We are pleased to know that overall you had a nice holiday experience in our hotel, and thank you for mentioning the magnificent view and the luxury of our beach facilities.

Your feedback means a lot to us, since our main priority is to always improve ourselves, and we do our best to offer delightful and relaxing holidays to our guests.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you in our hotel again!

Have a pleasant rest of the summer!

#Seayousoon!

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This is a hotel that we chose for our small and intimate wedding and boy did we chose the right hotel. This is one holiday that we will cherish forever. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and friendly. After a short wait in the bar sipping on our welcome cocktail whilst taking in the most beautiful view across the ocean we were then shown to our sea view bungalow. Beautifully clean and fresh feeling room with plenty of space and a handy mini fridge (beware its a minibar so anything you take will have to paid for) don't make the mistake as I did thinking they were complimentary. The whole resort is spotless and the staff work tirelessly to keep it that way, from the young lad that sweeps the leaves to the waiting staff and the girls on reception they are all a credit to their profession, nothing is too much trouble an they clearly want to make your holiday the best that it can be. I have to mention Daphne who from the time we met her to the day we left was exceptional. Daphne was our wedding organiser and she pulled out all the stops for us, We had a small ceremony on the beach which led to a wonderful sunset dinner on the beach especially set up just for the wedding. I've been home for just over a week and I still cant get over how beautiful it all was. The wedding dinner was outstanding, the quality of the food exceptional and again the staff could not do enough for us. Cant recommend this hotel enough, but just one criticism the beach bar needs to offer light snacks rather than the full meals offered at the pool bar. Met some lovely people and made some life long friends. Would return to the hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017


Dear Janine P,

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu Resort for your wedding and your valuable holidays at Samos Island!

First of all let me congratulate you one more time and wish you a lifetime of happiness together!

Letting us know that you will cherish this holiday forever give us the greatest joy!
Thank you for sharing this with us and for your kind words regarding our staff, the food and the magnificent view that our hotel offers!

We all do our best to meet our guest’s expectations and beyond this to offer them a memorable stay. Your special reference to Mrs Daphne and the reception team will be certainly conveyed on your behalf.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at our premises and maybe for celebrating your anniversary next year!

We wish you an enjoyable rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Kritikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days on the beautiful Island of Samos and the wonderful Proteus Blu hotel. We had a superb room overlooking the sea. Due to the location, I would Definitely insure you book a sea view or upgraded room.

The staff can not do enough for you. The reception team were so helpful in giving us advice on where to go and what to see on the Island. Pantelis made the best cocktails at the beach bar and the Italian waitress was also superb. I think her name was soterina? . Maria at breakfast was also very good and got me the best Frappes! Special mention goes to the beach girl Vasiliki who works tirelessly all day bringing drinks everytime we pressed our buzzers from the sunbeds.

We spent the first few days chilling at the hotel and the hired a car. We did The water falls, Psilli Ammos (south west), platoons, Samos town and Asterias Beach experience in Dorissa, which we went back to every day as there was the best sunbeds and a beach DJ every day. The only negative we can say about the hotel was the food quality in the evening, the Greek night and the gala dinner were the only nights we stayed in as we could not use the half board in the speciality restaurant, even though we booked Half Board and only ate in the hotel twice as there was so much choice of food in town of Pythagoria. Breakfast finished too early at 10am and many places we have been too finish at 11 as the last thing I want to do is get up too early on holiday.

We ate in Aphrodite, Daphnes, Four seasons, 83011, La Strada, The only restaurant that was not great was just past Gregory's bar which I can't remember the name -it was Greek. Blue boat is definitely the bests bar and Marios and his team were so friendly and will really welcome you.

We also went on a 3 hour sailing along the cost for €20 per person with Samos Sail which was excellent .

Samos and the proteaus are a Gem in Greece, it's such an unspoilt Island and not as commercialised as the other islands.

We will be back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sunshineinmypocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Sunshineinmypocket,

Thank you choosing Proteas Blu Resort to spend your holidays in our beautiful island!

We appreciate your kind review and the fact of taking the opportunity to share your experience.

Your comments about our staff are very rewarding as we do our best to offer our guests a memorable stay! Thank you for that and for mentioning specially our reception team, and my other colleagues. Your kind words will be conveyed to them on your behalf.

All your remarks about Panorama restaurant have been noted.

If you choose to visit again our resort, we hope you will also try our two exceptional a la carte Restaurants for dinner, Π2 Theory and Θαλαsea for an ultimate culinary experience along with stunning view to the Aegean Sea.

We really hope to have the chance to welcome you in our premises again!

Have a pleasant rest of the summer!

#SEAyousoon

Erasmia Krtikou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
3.1 km away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
439 reviews
2.8 km away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
667 reviews
13.1 km away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
267 reviews
7.8 km away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
186 reviews
0.3 km away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#14 of 37 in Pythagorion
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proteas Blu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Blu Resort

Address: Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range: S$146 - S$400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Proteas Blu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique environment to enjoy in magnificent scenery Laid back and experience stress free holidays. Proteas Blu Resort in a tranquility atmosphere shows character and inspires a sense of familiarity. After the warm welcome sense the friendliness of the people. Feel comfortable within "Proteas family" while taking part in numerous activities or by chilling and resting your mind. Accommodation facilities are wonderful and the food is superb. In PB you will have quality time...Actually the time will be all yours. Proteas Blu Resort is the most finest and luxurious beach front resort on the Island of Samos. Guest's accommodations looking to the sea are spread out on Mediterranean landscaped terraces situated on a naturally secluded bay having two private beaches. The unique architectural personality, the elegant accommodation and the tranquil setting offers majestic views of the blue marine seas surrounding the Aegean Islands and the Anatolian coasts. Together with the highly personalized and eminently friendly service satisfies the needs of the most distinguished traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Proteas Blu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proteas Blu Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Proteas Bay
Proteas Blu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing