We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelion Resort(Portaria)
US$80
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alchemist(Portaria)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Akraion Dios(Portaria)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$72
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Despotiko(Portaria)
US$113
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anna's Home(Portaria)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
126
51
43
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
51
43
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspelion mountainmain entrancespa hotelhotel locatedadults and childrennight lifefamily tripperfect viewtraditional breakfastgreat varietyvolos cityliving roomcentral squarefacilitiesvillagegreecejacuzzi
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The 4 stars hotel located up on the Pelion mountain at the Portaria Village.the air and the view are great .In the hotel is spa and swimming pool. the Village is next to the Village of Makrinitsa which have an Awesome view of the city of volos. the breakfast was fine.the bedroom was compact. we were 2 adults and 2 children. shortly , we like this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We booked this hotel for a family trip after reading reviews online, so I thought I would return the favour.

We stayed for a whole week with family- the hotel was modern, clean and the rooms were just as advertised. The staff were very friendly and accommodating even when we had certain issues they really would make efforts to resolve them. Our trip, unfortunately, coincided with school trips also staying at the hotel which was incredibly disruptive, but the staff worked really hard to make us feel welcome despite that and took great care of us.

The breakfast was very tasty and you had a great selection of cooked breakfast, cereals, fresh fruit, a variety of bread etc They also provided fresh juice and gluten free bread on request.

The SPA was also available to use, it wasn't in the best condition, but it was relatively clean and it definitely helped us relax a lot and had all the facilities we needed.

Wi-fi connection was the best I've experienced in a hotel, with two powerful routers on each floor.

The location was ideal, just at the edge of the village and only a 10-minute walk to the central square of Portaria where you could find beautiful cafes and restaurants. Also within minutes, you could drive to Makrinitsa, another beautiful location and within 30mins to the nearby city Volos. Everything was beautiful and convenient. People were friendly, accommodating and you could get beautiful food and mountain tea for reasonable prices.

My only advice would be NOT to book via third party (expedia) as they really, really gave us a hard time with our booking, had many hidden booking fees and in the end it worked out a lot more expensive than booking ourselves directly with the hotel. The expedia add also advertised the SPA but we were told AFTER the booking that it wasn't included in the price. So do yourself a favour and contact the hotel directly for a good price quote.


Also if you are flying into Athens and want to travel from there, beware that its a good 5-6 hour journey. But totally worth it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth getting the premium rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We visited Portaria for the New Years Eve. The truth is that the rooms and the lobby need renovation. I think that there is a new building with renovated rooms. Adequate breakfast and spa amenities free for the guests.We really enjoyed the dinner menu. 1990 restaurant close to the hotel is suggested.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lidaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

It's an old hotel but the interior is well renovated.Our room was nice with good bathroom and good linen.But the mattress was really bad,we had bid sleep and pain for 2 nights.
The other average thing was the breakfast.The great variety didn't seem of good quality so we really had tried only a few things. Coffee was average,and in general all the food not of a 4 star hotel.Not even one local specialty just the usual, plastic like city hotel breakfast,but this is a mountain resort.Even the aspartame offered was a Lidl product,so we didn't want to taste other food.
But there are a,so good things about the hotel which the stuff,in the reception and the restaurant.As one of us got ill one night,they gave us medicine,and a doctor's telephone number,which was very helpful and he resolved our problem.We also ordered some dinner on room service late in the evening,but they cooked and brought it to our room.
What made us happy was the spa area with the pool and steam room which was amazing.The lady who gave me a massage was excellent,and very polite.Overall the hotel needs to lay attention on some important things in order to be considered a 4* mountain resort.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
65
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

I have visited Portaria hotel at the end of January the weather it was so cold.. (-3)but the heat of the room it was brilliant.!! Excellent mattress The most tasteful traditional breakfast is strong advantages..!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews