We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Arcadio
Nearby Hotels
US$262
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro - Charme & Boutique(Barbarano di Salo)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Eden(Salo)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
132
29
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
29
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areatasting menulake gardaset highsmall hotelbeautiful boutique hotelmr mrs smithspent eurosolive grovesnearest townother guestsshort drivewonderful settingstaff were attentiveeating dinnernight stayamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The Villa Arcadio is still a wonderful blend of Italian and Finnish style.
Our second visit in 8 years confirmed its winning formula of sophisticated modern, relaxed and calm luxury.
The grounds are a superb combination of an infinity pool overlooking a well established olive grove and a panoramic vista of Lake Garda, and wild woodlands. Several exercise stations punctuate the grounds and give a structured route through the olive groves and parts of the woodland behind the villa. Our dogs enjoyed a more random exploration of these gloriously dog friendly grounds.
The Villa Arcadio is at a small distance from the centre of Salo. This affords a serene retreat from the more populated but waterfront alternatives in Salo. During our Easter break this was a much appreciated alternative to the heavily subscribed town centre. The best of both worlds!
The staff were attentive and evidently very able to adapt to the varied requirements of the people we shared the hotel with over the 5 days we spent there.
The food was uniformly excellent. It reflected the area and season. The advice we received for local wines was truly excellent. If you are looking for a gourmet experience this is to be recommended.
The Villa Arcadio has evolved over the years. Essentially its appeal has not changed.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbzorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in mid March for two nights when the hotel had just opened up for the season. It is without doubt one of the most atmospheric and relaxing places i've ever stayed.

We were one of about three couples in the hotel and the staff were perfectly attentive without being intrusive.

Its about half an hour walk to Salo from the hotel, which I’m sure in summer is very lively but when we were there was very quiet.

Because of the time of year the pool was very very cold but we were allowed to use the sauna for free to recover.

The food is wonderful, the service attentive and welcoming, the setting beautiful.

If i have one criticism is that i would love to have had a bath, something thats probably not as important when's its warmer and the pool is open.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Villa Arcadia is a fascinating space and story, a derelict monastery transformed into a boutique hotel nestled in the hills overlooking Lake Garda.

It's been sympathetically restored, original parts of the building still visible, the old and the new sit side by side harmoniously.

The service is relaxed but attentive the food is modern, really well considered and presented beautifully.

I'd recommend driving if possible, you can get by in the area via public transport however the main station isn't particularly well served and taxis can be pretty expensive. If we're ever in and around Lake Garda again we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikedorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Villa Arcadio is a beautiful property and ideal for a visit to the Lake Garda area. The building and grounds are very high quality and maintained to a very high standard. I would certainly visit again. There are however a few items the owners need to address:

- The breakfast service is excellent but lunch and dinner are very overpriced and far too stuffy for a holiday property. The focus is on gourmet food yet many people on holiday just want simple cuisine. On our trip we had one of the evening meals in the restaurant but felt very uncomfortable. Prices of a salad at €12, prawns at €35 and ice cream at €18 were excessive. There are many good restaurants in the area that offer food at just as good a quality but at a fraction of those prices. Perhaps a menu with lighter, simpler options should be considered. There are areas around the property where this could be offered to hotel guests.

- There is a wonderful pool area ideal for relaxation. However during our visit, the European families seemed to let the children run riot without any control and the staff seemed to have no interest in informing them such behavior was unacceptable. Also, there are too few loungers that mean that as soon as the pool area opened people were literally rushing to ‘reserve’ them then leaving them unoccupied almost all day. A selfish practice. There is a simple solution. Staff should just remove items from loungers after a few hours of non-occupancy allowing others to use them and enjoy the facilities.

We will return for sure but perhaps at a time when there will be less spoiled, unruly children and arrogant, snobbish parents who believe their little darlings can do no wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and towards the lake are worth trying to book.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGalt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Similar to my restaurant review on this property, I am confused as to why customers love this property so much. Yes, the authentic building and grounds are lovely, but not super interesting and as mentioned by other reviewers the decor is rather boring. Further, the nice setting is not tranquil due to the traffic noise impinging on the setting. Also, my room was only a partial view of the lake whereas the website implied a full lake view.

The staff was nice, but impersonal and not too eager to assist, especially when I was super hungry and asked for an apple since dinner would not begin for another 3 hours. The response was: "The kitchen is closed." Really? There is no key to open a door and grab an apple for a guest?

When I finally did eat, the food was expensive (and bland) in relationship to the quality and the variety was not so great. I found the room service charge of 10 Euros in a very small hotel to be ridiculous. Frankly in such an intimate setting there should be no charge for room services. But this choice is indicative of the property which seemed to be at war with cost versus genuine service.

Finally, the lack of information on the website regarding location was inadequate as it appeared that the hotel was close to facilities, Salo, etc. when in fact it is out of the way for walking along with no public transportation options. If it had offered services close by I would've walked to a store to get an apple.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing room which should be a better view and tad quieter.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tarin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews